We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love going here every summmer” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chaparral Suites Scottsdale

Save Saved
You added Chaparral Suites Scottsdale to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Chaparral Suites Scottsdale
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   5001 N. Scottsdale Road, Scottsdale, AZ 85250   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 79 hotels in Scottsdale
Scottsdale, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Love going here every summmer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We have been staying here for years but unfortunately this was our last. I got two credit card numbers cloned from staying here. I called the hotel to let them know...they we not much help. An apology would have been nice. The food at the grill is great! We are sad to be able to go back.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

518 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    216
    203
    60
    29
    10
See reviews for
127
163
14
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Eagle Pass, Texas, United States
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Let me start by saying, we booked this hotel due to it being on sale on Groupon for $125 a night. I was veeery scared that it wouldn't be worth my time and money, but I was wrong and I was so happy to be wrong. PLEASE, do yourself a favor and do NOT HESITATE. You will have an amazing experience. I am going to write my review in sections, to make it easier for readers to find what they are looking for.

(Chaparral is in Scottsdale which is a pretty nice area to be in)

ROOMS:
We had a standard suite on floor 3 near the lobby. Excellent location. The room was very clean and was huge. There were to rooms plus a restroom.
-First room had two sofas, small dining table with chairs, a bar, microwave, mini fridge (not mini at all), sink, coffee, and tv.
-Bedroom was huge. Had a vanity with sink and a big mirror. Another full length mirror. A huge desk and A LOT of storage space!!! The bed was king size and comfortable. Sheets were not as soft as other places, but were nothing to complain about. We slept like babies. Pillows were very comfy as well. We had a view of Camelback Mt.
Even though there was construction going on... we did not hear a peep.
-Bathroom had a vanity with sink as well. Bathtub and shower. They actually gave out good shampoo and conditioner (not the typical hotel stuff..., Thank goodness!)

RESTAURANT:
Was the best part of this trip, hands down. Food was amazing. Portions were large and service was good. The manager was very friendly and made us feel welcome and made sure we enjoyed everything. The dinner rolls are heavenly. Everything you try there will be great, so I won't recommend anything specific.

BAR:
Happy hour from 3:30-6:30 to all guests. Meaning OPEN BAR to all guests at that time. You can't beat that. There are multiple TV's at bar. If you want to watch a game... you will more than likely have it on one of those already going for ya!

POOL/HOT TUB:
Main pool was way bigger than most hotel pools and heated so it was very pleasant. Not too cold not too hot, just right. It was an area where you really did feel like you could sunbathe, unlike other hotels. It just felt like a resort. The hot tub was always warm. They were both very clean. The other pool and hot tub, I just saw from a far. Smaller, but still nice.

SHUTTLE:
Great staff running the shuttle. The shuttle is complimentary to guests and will take you from airport to hotel and viceversa. It will also pick you up or drop you off from other locations if it is available. We got a mini tour from our driver which was pretty nice.

BREAKFAST:
Free breakfast every morning. Cooked to order. There are all types of eggs, pancakes, muffins, toast, cereal, milk, oranges and bananas, etc. etc. They try to accommodate your requests as much as possible. You can eat outside by the pool, which is pretty nice. The staff picks up after you are done. Just make sure to not leave food unattended, as the birds will rapidly start picking at it!

STAFF/SERVICE:
Everyone was extremely helpful and nice! I can't say a bad thing about the service we received. Everything went smoothly and our needs were met. Thank you Chaparral Suites, for making our trip such an enjoyable one!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overijse, Belgium
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

My husband and I spent 5 nights (Sept 23-Sept 28) in this fabulous hotel and we were as enchanted with the big suites and all the amenities as we were the 1st time (2 yrs ago) we visited the CS. The suites are spacious and clean, the beds very comfortable, 2 flat-screen TV's, good coffee in the room, etc. Breakfast is delicious and, again, we made friends during the happy hour. The desk staff and the concierge are very friendly, helpful and knowledgeable, and the technical and cleaning personnel are quick to help too. A perfect place to relax. We will certainly come back!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

I was very happy with my experience at Chapparal and I would consider staying on my next trip to AZ. Parking was simple and close to my room. The room was large, clean and had a number of drawers for storage. Bathroom was small, but adequate. Furnishing are older and some updating would brighten the room, but I was not bothered. Breakfast is provided and was basic, but good. Having breakfast at the Resort saved time and money. Room had two large TV's that I did not use. Bed was comfortable with a number of pillow of varying softness. Air conditioning unit was noisy, but I would describe it as "white noise" that faded into the background. My room included a small refrigerator that did keep drinks cold and a microwave. Hair dryer, iron, ironing board are included. The roomn had three sinks as well. One in the "living room"' one in the bedroom and one in the bath.

Checking in and checking out was simple. I had little contact with the staff; I left early and returned late. My few contacts were pleasant and I have no reason to think the staff would not be attentive to any problems

Room Tip: The rooms in the front may be subject to road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Chaparral Suites was a great surprise. We booked for a weekend in October for a very reasonable rate of $144.00 per night. The Chaparral Suites offers a complimentary shuttle to and from the airport. You may have to wait up to 25 minutes for the shuttle, but it is convenient and free. It takes about 15 to 20 minutes to get to the hotel.

The staff at the hotel are super friendly and accommodating, they made sure we had a room next door to our friend. We stayed in the East Tower, the rooms are a bit dated, but very spacious. There is a large living area in the front room with a bar, a sink, and a refrigerator. There is a separate bathroom, and a door to a large bedroom.

We had a fantastic, and very tasty lunch, two days in a row at the 4th Floor Sports bar. The staff could not be nicer. The bartender, Brian packaged up our food and drinks, so we could take it out and eat by the pool.

The grounds are very clean, there are two pools, we enjoyed the quiet pool in the very back of the hotel, near East Tower. I would suggest that the hotel invest in bigger towels for the pool.

The Fire Sky hotel is located right across the street and is a great place to go and enjoy cocktails at Taggia lounge. There are comfy sofas out by the pool, and a very kind, helpful bartender named Benny.

The hotel is about a 20 minute walk into Old Town Scottsdale, however if the hotel shuttle is available, and not busy with airport runs, they are happy to drive you into Old Town.

There is a very extensive free breakfast made up of eggs cooked to order, pancakes, french toast, bacon, sausage, and hash browns, including four different choices of cereal. There is oatmeal, coffee, juices, and peanut butter in a cup. You can eat inside or out by the pool.

We were so pleased with our stay. I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: You may want to request a newer/upgraded suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Wonderful stay for 3 nights! The suites are huge, clean and very comfortable. The breakfast is great, eggs, bacon, hashbrowns, etc. I only attended the happy hour one evening and it was very nice to sit, sip and enjoy the beautiful AZ sunset.
Staff were very helpful and I will return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Pedro - CA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Very clean hotel. Large pool with very accommodating staff. On Check in just make sure your reservation and paper work is done because at check out the young male kidz have no clue what is going on and will waste your time going through a stack of paper work. Evening staff though very professional and helpful.
Free Breakfast that is worth more than the money. Rooms are very clean and spacey. Top notch room service.
A walking distance from Scottsdale mall and the art/antique stores. Lots of parking.

Room Tip: Lots of parking but pool view is beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Chaparral Suites Scottsdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chaparral Suites Scottsdale

Also Known As:
Chaparral Suites Scottsdale Hotel Scottsdale
Chaparral Suites Scottsdale Hotel
Chaparral Hotel Scottsdale
Chaparral Resort Scottsdale
Chaparral Suites
Address: 5001 N. Scottsdale Road, Scottsdale, AZ 85250
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Scottsdale
#41 Family Hotel in Scottsdale
#44 Business Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chaparral Suites Scottsdale 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chaparral Suites Scottsdale is an all-suite property offering value pricing with full-service amenities. Located in the heart of Scottsdale, we are situated among 15 acres of beautiful landscaping and within walking distance to great shopping and restaurants. Entertainment, golf and cultural activities are also in close proximity. In each of our 312 suites you will find a spacious living room and bedroom, two TVs, wet bar with mini fridge, microwave, coffee/tea maker and sink, iron/ironing board, hair dryer, in-room safe, voice messaging and in-room movies. Our signature complimentary amenities include a full American breakfast and evening reception daily, individual airport transportation 6am to 9pm, in-room wired and wireless Internet and USA Today newspaper. You can play tennis, swim in one of our two oversized pools, enjoy a whirlpool or workout in our fitness center. Relax for lunch or dinner in our 4th Floor Grille restaurant or watch your favorite sport on 10 state-of-the-art HD satellite TVs in our Sports Bar. We have 50,000 sq. ft. of flexible meeting space (25,000 indoor/25,000 outdoor). Our 11,200 sq. ft. Chaparral Ballroom and Conference Center provides advanced technological audio-visual features, which include AV catwalk, hang points, voice and modem phone connections, T1 Internet connections and wired and wireless Internet connectivity. Also on site are two additional ballrooms and three Executive boardrooms. Our hotel also offers concierge services, car rental desk, gift shop, business center and laundry services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, HotelsClick, Otel, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Chaparral Suites Scottsdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chaparral Suites Scottsdale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.