We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and Comfortable!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Scottsdale Thunderbird Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Scottsdale Thunderbird Suites to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Scottsdale Thunderbird Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7515 E Butherus Drive, Scottsdale, AZ 86260   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2 & Earn a Reward
Ranked #39 of 78 Hotels in Scottsdale
Laurel, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Clean and Comfortable!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

I was browsing through hotels available in Scottsdale, Arizona for an overnight stay and came across with this deal. My family was pleased with the accommodation. We were given a 2 queen bed non-smoking suite on the second floor. The room was huge with 2 flat screen TVs, one in the living room area, and one smaller one in the bedroom. There's a queen size sofabed in the living room so the suite definitely can accommodate 6 people. The bathroom was small but was working properly, no issues with the drainage or the shower at all. The hotel is just next to the small airport but there were no noises the whole time we were there. Breakfast buffet was also good with a variety of scrambled eggs, fruits, sausage, pancakes, and bacon to choose from. We will definitely come back to this hotel soon!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThunderbirdSuites, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Scottsdale Thunderbird Suites, responded to this review, August 31, 2014
We are glad you enjoyed your stay and felt our rooms were clean and comfortable. We strive to make sure every guest is satisfied, every time! Thank you for taking the time to review us here on Trip Advisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    22
    15
    4
    2
See reviews for
29
11
5
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Indiana
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

We were totally pleased with our stay. The service was excellent. The people working the breakfasts were extremely pleasant and very helpful, accommodating any reasonable desire. The room was well kept, and needed items were always replaced. The spacious accommodations made the stay extra comfortable.

The only area of concern might be the air conditioning was a bit difficult to adjust, and the bathroom is quite small. The good far outweighs these minor inconveniences. We would highly recommend this motel to anyone.

Room Tip: Just ask for what you need. The front desk was extremely helpful with putting us in a place that fi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThunderbirdSuites, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Scottsdale Thunderbird Suites, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review us here on Trip Advisor.com. I am glad you enjoyed your stay here with us and are content on recommending us to your friends and family. We strive to make sure every guest feels like they are at home away from home. We are very happy to be receiving 60 new air conditioning units the 25th of July. This will make any A/C issues you may have had during you stay non-existent when you return. Some guests do fine our bathrooms small, but tend to feel the spacious living quarters make up for that. We hope to see again in the near future, and if there is anything we can do to make your next stay more enjoyable please let us know.

Regards,
Greg Conn
Front Office Manager
fom@thunderbirdsuiteshotel.com
480-951-4000
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dodge City, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

I love staying at this hotel. I always feel safe and I am treated very good. Salvador prepares the excellent breakfast that I enjoy each day. He is a great guy and he always has a well-prepared and delicious breakfast. Anthony Lyons

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThunderbirdSuites, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Scottsdale Thunderbird Suites, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our property here on Trip Advisor.com. It always makes me happy to hear guests speak well of our employees. We all work hard as a team to make sure each guest is treated like family. Every guest every time. I will make sure to pass this review on to Salvador so he knows how much you appreciate his services. We hope to see back in the near future!

Greg Conn
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Very nice hotel next to small regional airport with lovely lobby offering coffee or refreshing ice water. We stayed over a weekend but have the feeling they probably cater to weekday business travelers. We had a bedroom and living area, 2 TVs, and a tiny kitchenette area. It was clean and nicely appointed. The bathroom was very small. The breakfast area was large and there was a good variety of breakfast items and fresh fruit available.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThunderbirdSuites, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Scottsdale Thunderbird Suites, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Thank you for the kind words about our hotel. Your feedback is very beneficial to our property and all future guests. We like to view our guests as family visiting our home. Every guest every time. Thank you for your continued support and loyalty to our Brand. We hope to see you back soon!

Greg Conn
Front Office Manager
40-951-4000
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

#1 & #2 reasons I like this hotel - comfortable beds and quiet location. I thought being near the private airport would be noisy, but it wasn't. The bed was wonderful and my room was clean. Liked the small coffee pot, microwave, and refrigerator in the separate living room area. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: TripAdvisor rating doesn't have N/A as an option so I ranked room service and Spa as average. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThunderbirdSuites, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Scottsdale Thunderbird Suites, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Thank you for the kind words regarding our property. We appreciate you taking the time to fill out a review for out hotel. We exist because of guests like yourself, so on behalf of everyone here at the Best Western Plus Scottsdale Thunderbird Suites, Thank You! Please come back and see us on your next visit to the area!

Greg Conn
Front Office Manager
Best Western Plus Scottsdale Thunderbird Suites
480-951-4000
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ely, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

I read the reviews on Foursquare, they were obviously wrong in my opinion. Clean room, great amenities, nice pool, good breakfast... overall a great deal for the money. Would highly recommend this hotel if you are staying in Scottsdale.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThunderbirdSuites, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Scottsdale Thunderbird Suites, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Thank you for the kind words about our property! We appreciate your support and kind feedback. It is our goal to make sure each guest of ours is satisfied with their stay, and feel as if they were at home. We hope to see you again soon!

Greg Conn
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waddell, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Since this hotel is right on Scottsdale airport, our company puts up flight crews and from time to time I will stay here if I have business in town. Hopefully now that this hotel is a Best Western again, they will do better on the up keep. The lobby has been renovated and looks very nice. The rooms haven't changed much in the past 8 years I have stayed here. On my current stay, the balcony door needed repair, cooling system took hours to get the temp down, hot water was not available at 4pm, hot tub didn't work, and the "free" breakfast was horrible. Still not bad for the price, if you can overlook a few issues.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThunderbirdSuites, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Scottsdale Thunderbird Suites, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to rate us here on Trip Advisor. Thank you for your continued support and loyalty to our hotel. We are happy to announce a lot of changes will be implemented here at our property in the coming months. We hope to see you again soon.

-Greg Conn
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Scottsdale Thunderbird Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Scottsdale Thunderbird Suites

Address: 7515 E Butherus Drive, Scottsdale, AZ 86260
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Business Hotel in Scottsdale
#36 Family Hotel in Scottsdale
#43 Romantic Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Scottsdale Thunderbird Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of North Scottsdale, two blocks from Kierland Commons, the BEST WESTERN PLUS Scottsdale Thunderbird Suites is a newly renovated all suites hotel. A warm and friendly atmosphere and a smiling face from our guest services staff are just the first hints of what is in store for you during your stay with us at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Scottsdale Thunderbird Suites. For business or leisure, our hotel offers the services and features to help you make the most of your stay. We are pet friendly! Our resort hotel and Silver Wings Restaurant and Lounge, located in the center of north Scottsdale and two blocks from upscale “main street” Kierland Commons shopping and dining, offers many of the services and amenities that are found at larger Scottsdale resort hotels at a fraction of the cost, yet with an improved service only a smaller hotel can offer. Plus, our hotel is literally only steps next to the new Scottsdale Quarter shopping, dining, and offices. Should nostalgia strike you, our hotel is only minutes from Old Town Scottsdale with its myriad of boutique shops and galleries. At the BEST WESTERN PLSU Scottsdale Thunderbird Suites you are “close to home". We treat you to our own special brand of hometown hospitality. Our location is a perfect setting for your leisure travel in the Valley of the Sun or those ever important business meetings and seminars. No matter what your purpose for coming to Scottsdale, Phoenix or other points in the Valley, our resort hotel makes it happen for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Best Western, Priceline, Despegar.com, BookIt.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Scottsdale Thunderbird Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scottsdale Thunderbird Hotel Scottsdale

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Scottsdale Thunderbird Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.