We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent customer service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Scottsdale Thunderbird Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Scottsdale Thunderbird Suites to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Scottsdale Thunderbird Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7515 E Butherus Drive, Scottsdale, AZ 86260   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #50 of 78 Hotels in Scottsdale
Los Angeles, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent customer service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

The Thunderbrid suites is a great hotel. Rooms are nice. Service is excellent. I accidentally left my $3000 laptop in the room, and they called about 30 minutes after I left saying they were holding it for me. This is exactly why I will be repeating.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    110
    56
    30
    27
See reviews for
88
83
33
97
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rancho Cucamonga, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

We needed a last minute stay in AZ to visit with our son on Christmas day. We had stayed at the Thunderbird Suites a couple of years back, so checked them out on Christmas eve. They had a room available, and for a $25 fee, we could bring our dog with us. Our dog is like our terrible two that never grows up, just meaning her stubborness, and we love her dearly. So finding a hotel that is pet friendly is required on our travels, unless we are in Laughlin/Bullhead area then its always Risen Star kennel. The Thunderbird suites is located next to a small municipal airport on the north east edge of Scottsdale, perfect for our interests. We only ever heard minimal aircraft noise, and its interesting for flight enthusiasts. The hotel has recently been renovated, and we are impressed. The front lobby is more upscale style with aluminum, aircraft themed accents, very well done. Would like to have the coffee table in my own home. The suite has cool, soothing, earthtone colors along with new designer furniture. My husband liked the desk and ergonomic chair, I liked the couch to sit a talk with my son and watch the news on the large t.v. Very comfortable beds and linens, crisp and clean with extra pillow and blanket in the closet. I did use the ironing ammenaties, which were sturdier than I expected. There was a second large t.v. in the bedroom, which was again unexpected, but watched before falling asleep. The only minor discomfort was the size of the bathroom, which is on the small side, but with all the extras in the comfort of our suite, you just had to smile. I mean really, all the other plus factors, the fridge, microwave and bar area along with storage space...well, you just forgave the small bathroom area. Mind you, the bathroom was expertly cleaned and stocked with white fluffy towels and toiletries...so we were very pleased with our stay and will definetley stay there again when we are in the Scottsdale, AZ area. Last thing to mention, if you have the time, take in a movie at the Studio Movie & Grill theater within a couple of miles of the Thunderbird Suites, you'll have a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Havasu, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

My wife and I had a great experience, along with our small dog at this hotel. Staff let us check in a little early; room was clean, secure and updated decor; breakfast buffet was delicious. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

We loved our stay at Thunderbird Inn and Suites in Phoenix. Great staff for a super price and the location for us was perfect for our visit. Easy access to shopping and great restaurants. Breakfast is outstanding everyday.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

We were in Phoenix AZ in October for one week. We stayed at this place and had a great time.
The staff was very helpful especially Dale and Taylor. All the staff was great, but these two went out the way to accommodate. The rooms are spacious and clean for the most part it was very quiet. You only hear the planes on the early morning. The breakfast was ok, not a lot of variety. But the chef was very friendly and had lots of stories to tell. There is a shuttle available to take you around the area. Great time.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

First a thank you to "Josh" who took our frantic call at 6:30 am on a Friday morning when we needed to get out of the horrible hotel we had spent the night in. We were so grateful that Thunderbird had three rooms for us.

What a difference from where we had been. We were greeted by Melinda upon check in. She was so nice as was Todd the maintenance man.

The rooms were clean and spacious.
Plenty of towels (so many places skimp on the towels)
Coffee maker in the room even though they always have coffee on.

It turned out the air conditioning did not work in my room. Melinda was willing to move me on the spot, but I was oh so tired and opted for them trying to fix it the next day. They were not able to fix it so I did wind up taking a new room.

The grounds are well kept. Everything is nice. Lovely breakfast available in the morning.

First rate staff.

I will definitely come back.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

The Thunderbird hotel is right in the heart of Scottsdale is a very quiet corner next to the regional airport. Very little airport noise. Rooms are very quiet and spacious with a pretty middle courtyard and a very nice pool. Nice hot and cold breakfast served from 6 to 10 am to meet the needs of both Business and Leisure travelers. Great location to reach all the wonderful sites:)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Scottsdale Thunderbird Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Scottsdale Thunderbird Suites

Address: 7515 E Butherus Drive, Scottsdale, AZ 86260
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Family Hotel in Scottsdale
#42 Business Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Scottsdale Thunderbird Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of North Scottsdale, two blocks from Kierland Commons, the BEST WESTERN PLUS Scottsdale Thunderbird Suites is a newly renovated all suites hotel. A warm and friendly atmosphere and a smiling face from our guest services staff are just the first hints of what is in store for you during your stay with us at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Scottsdale Thunderbird Suites. For business or leisure, our hotel offers the services and features to help you make the most of your stay. We are pet friendly! Our resort hotel and Silver Wings Restaurant and Lounge, located in the center of north Scottsdale and two blocks from upscale “main street” Kierland Commons shopping and dining, offers many of the services and amenities that are found at larger Scottsdale resort hotels at a fraction of the cost, yet with an improved service only a smaller hotel can offer. Plus, our hotel is literally only steps next to the new Scottsdale Quarter shopping, dining, and offices. Should nostalgia strike you, our hotel is only minutes from Old Town Scottsdale with its myriad of boutique shops and galleries. At the BEST WESTERN PLSU Scottsdale Thunderbird Suites you are “close to home". We treat you to our own special brand of hometown hospitality. Our location is a perfect setting for your leisure travel in the Valley of the Sun or those ever important business meetings and seminars. No matter what your purpose for coming to Scottsdale, Phoenix or other points in the Valley, our resort hotel makes it happen for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Scottsdale Thunderbird Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scottsdale Thunderbird Hotel Scottsdale

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Scottsdale Thunderbird Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.