We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Scottsdale Thunderbird Suites

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Scottsdale Thunderbird Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Scottsdale Thunderbird Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7515 E Butherus Drive, Scottsdale, AZ 86260   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #55 of 78 hotels in Scottsdale
Langley City, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Perfect location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Went to this hotel from Feb 20 to the 25. It was clean, not so upper end but the area for what we were doing was great. Breakfast was good. Our excursions from here were the Arabian horse show, Winter Range Event, Cave creek area, old Scottsdale, and Mesa Rodeo. And many stops between. Ton's of Cowboy and western fun. Great weekend to go to these events. Would do it again the same. Felt that this hotel was a great location based on the areas we ventured into.
Staff was great, the airport beside us and we sided to the airport was not a problem at all.

Room Tip: We had the upper floor, so we didn't hear anyone above us. Receptionist call on that one, and ap...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    110
    99
    52
    29
    26
See reviews for
78
78
32
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Idaho Falls, Idaho
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

I never complain about hotels, and I have never written a review, but this place was terrible. It's in a good location, and looks good from the outside, but I have stayed in $49 motels that were cleaner and nicer. We got to our room at 11:30 pm and the sheets were dirty, the carpet was coming up off the floor and had dark stains all over it. The toilet literally had pee all over it when we lifted the seat up. The hair dryer was broken and hanging off of the wall. We were promised a crib for our baby, but when we arrived they didn't have one and recommended we put her on the couch bed. When we pulled it out, the bed was covered with black stuff and hairs. We would have left immediately, but it was midnight, and we had a sick baby that had just fallen asleep. She ended up sleeping on a couch cushion on the floor covered with our blankets. We checked out as soon as we woke up the next morning. When I originally approached the staff at 6:00 the next morning, he acted like I was an idiot and was making everything up, so I showed him all of the pictures I had taken of the room when we walked in, and they ended up refunding our money. I honestly don't know how this hotel stays in business or how it has any decent reviews.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThunderbirdSuites, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Scottsdale Thunderbird Suites, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
I’d like to thank this guest for sharing their experience at our hotel. It sounds as if it was not a positive experience at all and that is not what we try to deliver to our guests. I’m sorry they had to experience it. The suite described does not meet our cleanliness standards. All our suites are inspected by trained supervisors before being rented to any guest. In this case we must have an error and put a guest in a suite that was not ready to rent. The guest doesn’t mention anything but if they had let the staff know at the time we would have offered to move them to another suite instead of expecting them to stay in one that was not clean enough. The hotel was not full that night and we certainly had other suites to move to. We do have a very limited number of playpens for children available. All our Front Desk staff advises guests we will request them but we cannot guarantee the availability of these items. Fortunately we have been able to accommodate most of our requests for them but we did not have one for this guest.

I’m also sorry that the guest felt the staff didn’t believe them when they made their comments and we are working with all our employees to help them be more empathetic and compassionate when dealing with guest issues. I am glad the employee they dealt with took care of all the charges and did not charge the guest for their stay. Our Front Desk employees are not empowered to deal with guest issues rather they are responsible for dealing with them. They all have been trained to work with the guest and find acceptable solutions to issues which may arise.

Once again I am sorry the guest had this experience and I thank them for posting their comments. Without feedback we cannot improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

The best feature of this place is the staff. Everyone was extremely pleasant and helpful.

The hotel itself is good, basic lodging. The suites are generous and include fridge and microwave. There was NO utensils or plates, only a few coffee cups. You could ask for dishes at the front desk, but I was there only for two nights and not cooking in the room. I could have used a basic knife and fork, but it was a pain to ask and have to wait for them to bring something, so I didn't.

The biggest negative was the condition of the rooms. They were a bit worn and tired. The carpet in the suite was very dirty, so much so that I refused to take my socks off the whole time I stayed. The rest of the room wasn't that bad, but it wasn't fresh, either.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThunderbirdSuites, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Scottsdale Thunderbird Suites, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
I’d like to thank this guest for sharing their experience at our hotel. I am sorry they found the property not completely up to their standards. We work very hard to make sure the suites meet or exceed our guest’s expectations. In this case we did not accomplish our goal. We do have a program to clean all the guest suite carpets regularly and we are getting ready to replace the carpet as some of them are starting to show wear. We also used to stock dishes and utensils in the cabinets in the suites but discontinued the practice so we could make certain that all the dishes were sanitized before use. Dish sets are available 24 hours a day through the Front Desk. We will continue to make improvements to the hotel and our suites and I thank everyone for taking the time to make and read reviews posted here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

This was our second stay. The hotel is in a great location -- easy to get around north or south. We try to stay on the west wing -- away from the airport. This trip we were on the east, next to the airport, but we seldom heard the planes (and it was busy with the Phoenix Golf Open). Also, 4th floor (top) is best as the plumbing can be loud. Even with those problems, we'd still stay again (and probably will!).

Front desk was very accomodating on allowing a late checkout.

Room Tip: Stay on the top floor in the wing opposite the airport
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Nice size room plus living area/ kitchennette... Small bathrooms. Good location if u are going to waste management, free shuttle. Didn't notice the sounds from airport next door. Nice comfy bed. Free breakfast, not anything special but it was free. Nice pool and hot tub.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington, CT
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We were looking for an affordable hotel to stay in for 4 days during the classic car auctions. We were looking for nothing fancy, just a decent place to sleep. We were very surprised when we arrived. The place is clean and pleasant. Well decorated lobby and the suites were clean and comfortable. The bed was a little hard for me but that was about it.

The morning buffet breakfast included we another surprise. Every day there was some variation of offerings. The food was good but not gourmet and a lot better than other places I have stayed that offered make-your-own waffle or just cereal. The staff was excellent and gave us very good recommendations for restaurants and other events in the area.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We stayed for two nights at the hotel after purchasing a deal chicken deal. We were disappointed in that the hotel did not actually have a functioning restaurant, just a bar. Occupancy was so low that they used the bar for lunch and dinner. Breakfast was only a buffet. Calling it a buffet is being generous. It had generic cardboard tasting food. Part of the deal we got was to get a three course meal. Just being able to get a hamburger in the bar was disappointing. The hotel is old and the pool complex, while in good repair, has the look of being from at least a couple of decades back. The rooms are okay-two room suite, nothing special special but not bad. The air conditioner in the room was outdated and noisy. This hotel is located at Scottsdale airport. We didn't get too much airplane noise. The decorating motif of aircraft inspired furniture was very interesting. The hotel is within walking distance of the Scottsdale Quarter which is an eclectic mix of a large number of shops and restaurants. Overall, it's just pretty mediocre, nothing special.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Scottsdale Thunderbird Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Scottsdale Thunderbird Suites

Address: 7515 E Butherus Drive, Scottsdale, AZ 86260
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Scottsdale
#42 Family Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Scottsdale Thunderbird Suites 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of North Scottsdale, two blocks from Kierland Commons, the BEST WESTERN PLUS Scottsdale Thunderbird Suites is a newly renovated all suites hotel. A warm and friendly atmosphere and a smiling face from our guest services staff are just the first hints of what is in store for you during your stay with us at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Scottsdale Thunderbird Suites. For business or leisure, our hotel offers the services and features to help you make the most of your stay. We are pet friendly! Our resort hotel and Silver Wings Restaurant and Lounge, located in the center of north Scottsdale and two blocks from upscale “main street” Kierland Commons shopping and dining, offers many of the services and amenities that are found at larger Scottsdale resort hotels at a fraction of the cost, yet with an improved service only a smaller hotel can offer. Plus, our hotel is literally only steps next to the new Scottsdale Quarter shopping, dining, and offices. Should nostalgia strike you, our hotel is only minutes from Old Town Scottsdale with its myriad of boutique shops and galleries. At the BEST WESTERN PLSU Scottsdale Thunderbird Suites you are “close to home". We treat you to our own special brand of hometown hospitality. Our location is a perfect setting for your leisure travel in the Valley of the Sun or those ever important business meetings and seminars. No matter what your purpose for coming to Scottsdale, Phoenix or other points in the Valley, our resort hotel makes it happen for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, getaroom.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Scottsdale Thunderbird Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scottsdale Thunderbird Hotel Scottsdale

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Scottsdale Thunderbird Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.