We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hip and Cool yet Delightfully Relaxed” 5 of 5 stars
Review of W Scottsdale

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added W Scottsdale to your Saves list
W Scottsdale
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7277 East Camelback Road, Scottsdale, AZ 85251 (Downtown Scottsdale)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #53 of 78 Hotels in Scottsdale
Dallas TX
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Hip and Cool yet Delightfully Relaxed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2010

The W known as the hip and cool destination for all things Wow! It certainly is that. However, come for a professional meeting and you just might be amazed. One thing W is not is a Disney getaway for families. However for Wed to Friday meeting destination this place fit the bill. The meetings were top notch in every way. The food was amazing. Every day and night there was a sprinkling of very small groups obviously there on leisure. However the W Scene was no where to be found. It is my understanding the place turns into an all out party on the weekends. Which if I were there sans kids it would might be a fun weekend getaway for me and the Husband. However, during our stay, there was little or none of that. Just a medium sized happy hour crowd and a few folks chilling by the pool/ lounge bar area. Lots of casual spots to unwind after all day meetings. We left here one time during our stay and that was ok with me. Location was walking distance to Fashion Square, a high end mall and fabulous restaurants or have the W Car drive you. The W rooms are tre-fab! Very cool design with BLiss products. Mine were restocked everyday. Bonus: As I loved the face wash and shower gel. Service: Stellar. Robes super comfy- I seriously would have bought one if I could have fit it in by bag. Beds super comfy too.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

670 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    353
    157
    73
    41
    46
See reviews for
34
163
54
210
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2010

I have travelled all over the world, but have never stayed at a "W". It was the best Hotel ever. It is definitely adult oriented and party central. The pool was awesome with plenty to see. The service was the best of any Hotel I have ever stayed. I am from Miami, but Scottsdale knows how to party!!!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alyskie, Guest Relations Manager at W Scottsdale, responded to this review, September 16, 2010
Welcome to W! We're excited to have a new fan! Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay! We love to hear that it exceeded your Scottsdale expectations! We'll look forward to having you back! Thank you, Alyssa Kiefer, W Scottsdale !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2010

I've stayed at W Scottsdale on a half dozen or so occasions this year.
Each experience has been marvelous. I particularly appreciate the
attentiveness and friendliness of the staff, cleanliness of the facility
and sweet smell in the lobby. I travel every week for work and the W
shines as the best hotel experience I've had this year. I will even stay
here for pleasure later this year.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alyskie, Guest Relations Manager at W Scottsdale, responded to this review, September 16, 2010
Thank you so much for your review! We're thrilled to hear that W Scottsdale has become your home away from home on your frequent visits to Scottsdale! We will be sure to pass your great feedback on to our talent! Looking forward to welcoming you again soon - especially for your upcoming leisure trip! Thank you, Alyssa Kiefer, W Scottsdale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2010

First time stay at the W Scottsdale over Labor Day weekend. The hotel has a very "zen" vibe and the lobby smells amazing.

Service was EXCELLENT!! Our room overlooked the zen garden. We were warned that it can be loud until 2am on Fri/Sat nights, but we were out late so we didn't notice it. Front desk accommodated our request for a mini-fridge, which was delivered to our room within 10 minutes of arrival. The room was clean and decent sized, though the bathroom set-up does not offer much privacy. Friday afternoon the pool was not crowded; we had our choice of lounge-chairs. The staff was repeatedly asking if we needed anything.

The "whatever/whenever" service was great -- we needed some "5-hour energy" so they went out and picked it up for us and delivered it to the room within 30 minutes. They charged it to the room and there was a nominal delivery fee and we tipped the guy. It was worth it not to mess around! And they have the complimentary ACURA car service, which will drive you to anywhere around the hotel -- you just call and make reservations -- we took it to dinner.

Saturday the pool was PACKED!! We got there early (by 10) and were able to get chairs; by noon the chairs were all taken. And you needed wristbands to get in. By 3pm the pool was FULL, but it was excellent people watching!! Of course the drinks are pricey, but don't you expect that?? At night, the pool area turns into a club, which was really hopping at 10pm. Lots of security all over the hotel. And FYI you need a room key to access the elevators.

BOTTOM LINE: Its a young, hip, trendy place in Scottsdale -- its NOT a family hotel. I didn't see any kids here, but that's what we wanted. Its super close to the Fashion Square Mall and Old Town -- a cab ride was $5. I would recommend if you don't mind a "party" atmosphere. If you do, stay someplace else!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2010

Room was not cozy/comfy, view was of a big air contioner on the roof. Parking was horrible! Ending up having to valet park which was $26 for the night and the room was over priced! The bachelerette party I attended there was DULL! Boring atmosphere, music was not good, and the bottle service drinks were horrid! Save your money and get your drinks at the bar! This is a high scale wanna be hotel that is made out to be something it was NOT! I would not recommend this hotel unless you like a boring, snobish, mingling atmosphere with bad music.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alyskie, Guest Relations Manager at W Scottsdale, responded to this review, September 8, 2010
Thank you for your review! We appreciate your feedback! We apologize that the bachelorette party you attended did not meet your expectations. We understand that our lounge is not for everyone, but we are located right in the heart of Old Town Scottsdale, so luckily there are plenty of options for all our guests nearby! We hope to have the chance to welcome you again and are more than happy to point you in the way of nearby free public parking and also offer many different room types and views that might better suit your needs. Thank you, Alyssa Kiefer, W Scottsdale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2010

Bring flip flops as the area around the pool is HOT. Enjoy drinks by the pool in the evening. Dreamy.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2010

Music at night can get loud on the weekends at the pool area....but I stayed here before and I knew what to expect. 1st time guest might get upset if they aren't told up front.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alyskie, Guest Relations Manager at W Scottsdale, responded to this review, September 8, 2010
Thank you very much for your review! Wonderful to hear you have enjoyed multiple W Scottsdale experiences! The music from the lounge can carry on weekends, but quiet rooms are always an option for our guests and we are happy to arrange whatever best suits your style! We will look forward to welcoming you again soon! Thank you, Alyssa Kiefer, W Scottsdale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to W Scottsdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Scottsdale

Address: 7277 East Camelback Road, Scottsdale, AZ 85251
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale > Downtown Scottsdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Scottsdale
#15 Spa Hotel in Scottsdale
#40 Business Hotel in Scottsdale
#43 Romantic Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — W Scottsdale 4*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our luxury hotel is located in the heart of town offering a chic getaway in Arizona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Starwood, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your W Scottsdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Scottsdale Hotel Scottsdale
w Hotels Scottsdale
w Hotel Scottsdale

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage W Scottsdale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.