We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a fun hotel!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of W Scottsdale

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added W Scottsdale to your Saves list
W Scottsdale
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7277 East Camelback Road, Scottsdale, AZ 85251 (Downtown Scottsdale)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #50 of 78 Hotels in Scottsdale
vancouver
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Such a fun hotel!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

Stayed here with my husband back in April. We had a fun time. We had a nice room on the ground floor with its own private patio complete with furniture and a heater! Staff was also super friendly and apologetic when they couldn't help us with what we wanted. Ie One night they were out of San Pellegrino so they sent us a nice note with a voucher for a drink at the bar. Such a fun and hip hotel. We would stay here again for sure!

Room Tip: get one with a deck or patio
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexa W, Manager at W Scottsdale, responded to this review, September 5, 2014
Hello!

Thanks for taking the time to share your experience with us! Our patio rooms are the best with a perfect view of the Zen Garden and just a quick walk to WET. We are always happy to provide you with anything you need to have a great stay, and when we can't we will always try to make up for it. Come back and see us soon!

Best,
Alexa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

631 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    342
    146
    63
    40
    40
See reviews for
33
155
53
195
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

I spent a long weekend in Scottsdale in order to take in the local nightlife. Hearing about the proximity to good bars and the W pool parties were large factors in making our decision.

Staff:
Nearly everyone we encountered all weekend was great and friendly. The two ladies at the front desk were enthusiastic about what the hotel had going on that evening. The poolside waitress also took some time to discuss dinner options with us.

Room:
The rooms are small. Would be fine on a king room, but the two beds were too cramped. The lack of a coffee machine (in room) was also a disappointment. The biggest concern (and the reason for the 4 star review instead of 5) was the thermostat they have that warms your room up when you're not around. It made it tough to keep the room cool. Beyond that, everything was in great shape and the bed was very comfortable.

Pool:
The pool is as promised - a great place to have a drink. During peak times, the poolside drink service came in handy. Except for Saturday afternoon, we were a bit disappointed in the level of the party. There were only a few people outside and the music was not as good as during peak time.

Security:
As a party hotel, it was refreshing to allow them to take the non-guest presence very seriously. Once the bar closes, they were attentive to politely ask non-guest to leave. They even had a separate attendant to make sure anyone going upstairs was a guest (or with one). As a result, there weren't people roaming the halls at all hours. Even if they were, the hotel room door seemed pretty soundproof.

Neighborhood:
There were plenty of great bars within a few hundred yards. Being able to have a VERY short walk at the end of the night was the biggest perk.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Fernando, Trinidad
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

Travelled for business. Great, friendly and helpful staff who provides 24hr service at your fingertips but don't expect to get rest on a Friday night. There are people screaming until 2am in the hallway.

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher floor is definitely better all the time
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexa W, Manager at W Scottsdale, responded to this review, September 5, 2014
Hi Melissa,

We are a very lively hotel, especially on the weekends. That being said, we always make sure our guests have a comfortable stay. If there is any noise outside your room, please let us know and we will send security up to quickly take care of the issue. I'm glad to hear you found our talent to be so helpful throughout your stay. On your next visit allow us to book you an appointment at Bliss. Their facials and massages will put you in a state of total relaxation.

Until next time,
Alexa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014 via mobile

I've stayed at this hotel twice before. However, my third stay was an unfortunate experience. The hotel has become run down and does not appear as it used to be. Perhaps new management has acquired the hotel, since the furniture and service is odious. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the Scottsdale area.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexa W, Manager at W Scottsdale, responded to this review, September 5, 2014
Hello,

Although I don't the specifics of your stay I can assure you the condition of our hotel is a top priority only second to creating exceptional experiences for our guests. If you find any part of our hotel in disrepair please bring it our attention and it will be quickly taken care of. We would love to welcome you back for a different experience. Please reach out to us on Twitter @WSCOTTSDALE prior to your next stay so we can ensure you have a great stay!

Best,
Alexa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

The W Hotel bills itself as a party hotel, however the only ones apparently invited to the party are the staff. From the opening checkin, they make you feel as if you don't belong. Further, when asking for assistance, they either don't know, or refer you to someone else who also doesn't know. I can't imagine staying at any W property again after this type of experience

Room Tip: I reserved the large terrace suite overlooking the famed pool area...don't bother. No amenities...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexa W, Manager at W Scottsdale, responded to this review, September 5, 2014
Hi Jim,

We are a very lively property surrounded by the best nightlife in the city. We also have regular Happenings at our hotel ranging from live music to fashion shows to a speaker series. All of our guests are always welcome at all of our events, free of charge. If you are experiencing any issues throughout your stay, please connect with one of out managers and they will do everything they can to turn your stay around.

I hope we can welcome you back soon.

Best,
Alexa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan Beach, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

I recently visited the W in Scottsdale for a bachelorette party and it was the perfect place to be. The pool was filled with young fun people. There were multiple bachelorette and bachelor parties staying there. The dj was good and kept a good vibe at the pool. Upon checking in the staff was friendly and very helpful. We arrived early at about noon and we were upgraded to a suite as a starwood preferred member. We were also able to check into our hotel early. There are a lot of bars and clubs in the immediate surrounding area for nightlife as well. I would definitely come here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexa W, Manager at W Scottsdale, responded to this review, September 5, 2014
Hello!

Thanks for coming to celebrate with with us! We usually do have a few bachelor/ette parties with us throughout the summer months. I'm glad to hear we could upgrade your stay and you enjoyed an early check in. If you need any recommendations throughout your stay, reach out to our Insider Rachael. She'd be happy to show you a few of her favorite spots or help you with table service.

Best,
Alexa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Really didn't know what to expect from the W, but I was amazed and completely taken by the atmosphere, and outstanding staff!! Got to meet the night supervisor and she conducted herself professionally with a smile and great attitude. I haven't been able to keep my experience to myself! It was an overall great experience.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexa W, Manager at W Scottsdale, responded to this review, September 5, 2014
Hi Douglas,

Thanks for spreading the word! Our talent is always dedicated to ensuring each of our guests has a memorable stay. No matter what you need, we are happy to deliver. Just ask! On your next visit, allow us to connect you with our Insider Rachael for a one of a kind experience in Scottsdale.

Best,
Alexa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to W Scottsdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Scottsdale

Address: 7277 East Camelback Road, Scottsdale, AZ 85251
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale > Downtown Scottsdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Scottsdale
#13 Luxury Hotel in Scottsdale
#37 Romantic Hotel in Scottsdale
#38 Business Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — W Scottsdale 4*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our luxury hotel is located in the heart of town offering a chic getaway in Arizona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Amex, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your W Scottsdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Scottsdale Hotel Scottsdale
w Hotels Scottsdale
w Hotel Scottsdale

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage W Scottsdale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.