We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meh it's ok” 3 of 5 stars
Review of W Scottsdale

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added W Scottsdale to your Saves list
W Scottsdale
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7277 East Camelback Road, Scottsdale, AZ 85251 (Downtown Scottsdale)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #54 of 78 Hotels in Scottsdale
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Meh it's ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Good service, it's ok. The rooms are small and the bed is in the middle of the room which is so weird. Was there on business. It's clean is the only positive. Otherwise, it tries too hard to be ultra trendy yet lacking quality. It felt like being in Ikea. Stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgan K, Guest Relations Manager at W Scottsdale, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you for taking some time to write a review. I am surprised to read that you did not enjoy our design, it is by far the largest compliment we receive here.
We just launched six new VIP Suites that might be more your style. They offer up to 2,000 square feet of space and even include a washer and dryer! I do hope you are able to check them out during your next visit to Scottsdale!

Sincerely.
Morgan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

635 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    343
    148
    63
    40
    41
See reviews for
33
155
53
196
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

This place is FANTASTIC! All staff was so accommodating and friendly, one even sat with us at the pool for a few minutes to discuss the best local shopping (Thank you by the way - replaced my whole wardrobe!). They really kept their cool when the pool was packed with only a couple servers, they still took time to chat with everyone which was really refreshing. Even though the hotel was sold out for spring training the atmosphere was so relaxed and very trendy. Totally my style! The rooms were really modern and exceptionally clean, love the Bliss Spa products in the room too. Beds were so comfy, a better sleep than I have at home!

We ate at hotel restaurant, Shusi Roku, one night and had great service there as well, the manager was working and suggested a few things for us to try which were all amazing. Coming from an island on the west coast, home of many sushi spots, I was very impressed!

The hotel is in the ideal location, walking distance to great local shops and restauarants as well as Scotdsdale Fashion Quarter - best shopping I've done in a while! Only a 20-ish minute drive to lots of other great shopping too.

This W made me want to come back to Scotsdale and see more, so I will definitely be back soon - save me a room!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgan K, Guest Relations Manager at W Scottsdale, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you for writing about your trip to Scottsdale!
It sounds like you had a blast during your stay here. Shopping, spring training, eating, and sun, what else could you ask for?!
Be sure to let us know if we can make your next visit even more enjoyable.
Your room awaits you!

Sincerely,
Morgan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

This review is for the lounge at the W in Scottsdale:

I'm a longtime Starwood member and travel frequently making platinum most years. I've been to "W" hotels in at least a dozen cities.

While the people watching and deck were fabulous the rest of this place was a fail.

Staff was apathetic and a bit rude. Service took forever and refused to clean our table from the last party. We actually had to bus our own table to remove the dishes from the previous customer. The drinks were disappointing and expensive. I won't even discuss the food.

If you're staying here, go up and take a look then go eat, drink, and enjoy Scottsdale's other offerings.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgan K, Guest Relations Manager at W Scottsdale, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for taking some time to write your review about your stay in Scottsdale. I am very disappointed to read that you did not enjoy your stay. It does not sound like a usual visit to W Scottsdale. We strive on our amazing service and we value each guest that steps foot here.

I know our General Manager, Ren, would love the chance to discuss these issues more in depth at your convenience. Please contact him directly at GMRen.Hirose@whotels.com.

Sincerely,
Morgan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laval, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Stayed at the hotel in Feb for a business trip. I loved it. Room decorated with clean lines, great food and in room amenities. You would have expected the staff to be a little stuck up, but no way. They were great.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

As part of my business trips i visit many hotels, and i frequently stay at the W. This said W Scottsdale is one of my favorites due to their outstanding attention to details. I stayed at the W again Feb 21-22, 2013 and due to a small delay at check in they immediately comped me a movie. The concierge came to both my colleagues and my room, presented us with a small " chocolate and popcorn snack pack, neatly wrapped in a W silk bow", and wished us a pleasant stay and movie. The pool is inviting, the restaurant an excellent breakfast choice , the rooms are W excellent standard and all in all just a great experience every time. W scottsdale takes the price when it comes to good service. Always accomodating and with a smile ! Needless to say , a place i'll return to.
Rgards Mette B. K

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgan K, Guest Relations Manager at W Scottsdale, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank you for taking some time out to review your stay!
It is great to hear that even with a slight delay at check in, our loyal guests will understand and continue to enjoy their stay.
I will be sure to share your compliments with our Talent.
We hope to see you in Scottsdale again soon!

Sincerely,
Morgan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

We travel a lot and having been to numerous W's we truly feel that this is one of the best W's we've been to.

From the initial greeting by the valet to the very attentive front desk staff (Sarah) to the Whatever/Whenever staff...everything just works and works very, very well.

We enjoyed the pool for a few days and even with the change in staff, everyone was great and very engaging...looked after all of our needs, even replenishing our pitchers of water. The food choices for a poolside menu were great...especially the artisan cheese plate!!!

As a Platinum member of Starwood's SPG program, one has certain expectations of this caliber of hotel...and I have no trouble saying that Ren and his team meet everyone of those expectations! Bravo! Can't wait to return to our new favourite W...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgan K, Guest Relations Manager at W Scottsdale, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for writing a review of your stay in Scottsdale! It sounds like you had an amazing time. I will be sure to pass along your kudos to the Talent. We love hearing about all the wonderful experiences our guests have had here.
From reading this I am going to have to try the cheese plate soon, it sounds yummy!

We cannot wait for your return to W Scottsdale!

Sincerely,
Morgan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

I arrived in Phoenix after a 35 hour journey and all I wanted was a quick checkin, a solid dinner and comfortable room. Score. My room didn't have a great view but didn't look into a wall or someone's house either so can't complain. The room was spacious, well equipped and having wifi everywhere is great. Dinner, similarly wasn't blow you away great but it was tasty, satisfying and ultimately just what I needed. As a tourist though, I'm not sure how good/bad the location is - I stayed the night and drove off in the morning.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgan K, Guest Relations Manager at W Scottsdale, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thank you for writing your review about your stay in Scottsdale. After that long of a trip, that is all I would want too!
I do hope that you return to check out all of the amenities we offer as well as all the local attractions!

Sincerely,
Morgan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to W Scottsdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Scottsdale

Address: 7277 East Camelback Road, Scottsdale, AZ 85251
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale > Downtown Scottsdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Scottsdale
#14 Luxury Hotel in Scottsdale
#37 Romantic Hotel in Scottsdale
#37 Business Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — W Scottsdale 4*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our luxury hotel is located in the heart of town offering a chic getaway in Arizona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your W Scottsdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Scottsdale Hotel Scottsdale
w Hotels Scottsdale
w Hotel Scottsdale

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage W Scottsdale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.