We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Valley Ho

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Valley Ho to your Saves list
Hotel Valley Ho
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6850 East Main Street, Scottsdale, AZ 85251   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Sweet Suite Deal 30% Off
Ranked #6 of 78 Hotels in Scottsdale
GreenLeadersBronze level
Kearney, Nebraska
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fun!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

Great mid century modern hotel!!! The furnishings are beautiful and modern. The pool is super fun and has excellent servers to cater to you!! Location is great, just a short way from Old Town and the mall. Great food too!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristin_Heggli, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Valley Ho, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Thank you for your review! Have a wonderful summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

949 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    586
    261
    58
    22
    22
See reviews for
87
307
62
278
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

If you have kids and are wanting to getting away with or from them OR for some "stay-cationing" in the Scottsdale area with your wife or bro-pack then this is your hip spot. I brought my wife in for a weekend getaway.

Great breakfast: bit of a budget buster ($50+ for two...yikes, but you are paying for awesome locatioin and ambiance soooo fair trade). Frame of reference, I paid the same amount for dinner at the Old Town Tortilla Factory for two with agave margaritas. (which is right across the street, great patio. Look for my review on that later.)

Be warned though....if you leave for the evening and aren't paying the $15.00/night for valet and you have to park in the Sands parking lot...YOUR KEY CARD WILL NOT OPEN THE PEDESTRIAN GATE TO GET YOU ONTO THE GROUNDS INTO YOUR CUSHY DIGS. You WILL in fact have to take a long but nice 5 min stroll around the entire establishment on the Scottsdale sidewalk at night...to walk through the main entrance and speak to a less than interested fellow by the name of Ron who works the night shift. To explain to him that my card did not work on the parking pedestrian gate. And his only response is "Its for security." And "Yes" you have to walk around to the front. Charming.

Aside weird night time antics, the room is very shagadelic and clean. The soaps and shampoos are luxurious and very thick so use less than you normally would because the lather is thick. Ice cold AC. No odd smells. Bed is uber comfy, duvet down top with NO under blanket in case you get too toasty under the light down duvet. Odd.

Poolside live music is awesome great covers via rock even rap...great! Staff does a great job keeping you hydrated with ice cold water. FYI, if you are going to walk around barefoot, ( and you are not near the pool) splash your feet with the water in your cup otherwise you will literally be "hot-footing" it into the pool or shaded spot while trying to look civilized or cool. Happened to me and many others (hilarious).

Overall a great stay but the part that sticks is: Really? I have to walk alllllll the way around the entire property to enter the front?

PS, a Circle K is across the street for any Party Items you may need. Booze, beer wine and anything else that fits your fancy.

Room Tip: Beware when you book the KING CABANA that you request directly across from the pool gate ( probably...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristin_Heggli, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Valley Ho, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
I'm glad you enjoyed your stay! Our breakfast entrees are mostly $11-$12 or less, which is comparable to other area restaurants. I'm very sorry to hear about your experience with the gate, that is definitely frustrating! There seems to have been a miscommunication with our security team. We will ensure that the gates are accessible by hotel key at any time; this problem is immediately being rectified. I apologize that this was not the case for you. We definitely don't want you to have to walk all the way to the main entrance if it's more convenient for you to use one of the gates. Our duvets have removable covers, but no top sheet. We are happy to provide one upon request though, so please keep that in mind if you visit again. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bermuda Dunes, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Outstanding hotel and amenities...excellent staff, well trained, kudos to upper management for not letting all the little things slip through the cracks...have traveled the world and find this a "10" in all regards.....
Robert W.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristin_Heggli, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Valley Ho, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Wow, your "10" rating means a lot! Thanks, Bob, and hopefully we'll see you again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawarden, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

Excellent room, very clean, modern and well equipped. Good pool and facilities, a little busier over the weekends. Great location in a quieter part of downtown. Faultless service with an excellent bar and restaurant on your doorstep. Everything is more or less accessible on foot.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristin_Heggli, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Valley Ho, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Thank you for your review! Have a delightful summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

My wife, son & I stayed at this wonderful hotel for 3 nights and loved every second of it. I particularly enjoyed the contemporary 50s/60s design which added greatly to the ambience of this place.

We had two rooms on the 6th block which were spacious, comfortable & spotlessly clean. I loved the blue comfort light in the large bathroom area that also had a large bath tub & separate shower cubicle . Our room backed onto a small private pool area which was excellent for relaxing at mid/late afternoon.

We didn't get to eat dinner in the restaurant. As ours was only a short stay we ate out every night to gain the full experience & atmosphere of being in downtown Scottsdale, which is only a stones throw away! The food & service at breakfast was first class & this was reciprocated at the pool area.

From the moment that we arrived at this wonderful hotel we couldn't have been made anymore welcome from all of the Hotel's staff & the only regret was that our stay wasn't longer.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristin_Heggli, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Valley Ho, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Wow, thank you for your feedback! It sounds like you had a lovely time in Scottsdale. We hope to see you again, should your travels bring you back to the Valley.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guaymas,Sonora
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014 via mobile

I love it, reminds me of my parents' house. It is very well located. They have good service. The breakfast at the restaurant of the hotel very good. It has a style of decoration that brings me good memories. I would surely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristin_Heggli, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Valley Ho, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
We appreciate your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

We felt like we were part of the Rat Pack. This hotel is designed so well, embracing it's 1956 heritage and doing that era the service it deserves. Expertly decorated in mid-century modern decor but with contemporary touches make Hotel Valley Ho a really cool place to stay.

We ate twice while there, and the food was surprisingly good for a hotel. The beds comfortable, the rooms well appointed, and the staff were all super nice.

Only warning is that the pool becomes somewhat a scene on Friday and Saturday. But if that's what you're looking for, go for it!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristin_Heggli, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Valley Ho, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Thank you for your review! We do have live music at the OH Pool on Fridays (through July 4) and a DJ on Saturdays (through September). We also have our new OHasis Pool, which offers a quieter alternative. We hope to see you again one day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Valley Ho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Valley Ho

Address: 6850 East Main Street, Scottsdale, AZ 85251
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Scottsdale
#5 Romantic Hotel in Scottsdale
#8 Green Hotel in Scottsdale
#9 Business Hotel in Scottsdale
#13 Family Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Valley Ho 4*
Number of rooms: 193
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, BookIt.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Valley Ho reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valley Ho Hotel
Valley Ho Scottsdale

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Valley Ho, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.