We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Funky place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Valley Ho

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Valley Ho to your Saves list
Hotel Valley Ho
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6850 East Main Street, Scottsdale, AZ 85251   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
4th Night Free
Ranked #8 of 78 Hotels in Scottsdale
GreenLeadersBronze level
hh
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Funky place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Was here for a conference. Not sure when they remodeled but they did a great job. Seems to be a "cool hip" place. Bar could use a bit of the same work they put into the rooms. Looking forward to coming back when I can enjoy the pool

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristin_Heggli, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Valley Ho, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
The hotel was remodeled in 2005. We did re-do the carpet and furniture in the bar and restaurant in the spring/summer of 2011, so those areas have been updated since that time (along with guest room carpet, the lobby, and other areas). We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

866 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    529
    243
    52
    22
    20
See reviews for
78
281
58
251
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We had a Saturday night stay at the Valley Ho. I saw regular king suite rooms anf the tower king suite rooms an while both are fitted with fashionable, quality furnishings I noticed the tower suite rooms offered concrete floors and much higher levels of sound isolation from our neighbors

Room service meals were very good and the staff was very well trained and always impeccably courteous.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristin_Heggli, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Valley Ho, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
We appreciate your review! I also love the Tower Suites. We hope you will visit again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Stayed here for a week and find the hotel very nice. Older hotel but the amenities and services available are great. Front Desk, Housekeeping and Conceirge - excellent service. Not too fond of the bar. One night - I was trying to order a drink and two bartenders were too busy chatting. One of them looked at me twice but ignored me and continued chatting. There was a few more incidents during the week. Not sure if I will ever return because of the restaurant service.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JesseThompson, Director of Sales at Hotel Valley Ho, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Toronto7_Traveller70,
We are very happy that you chose to stay at Hotel Valley Ho when visiting Scottsdale. We are quite proud of our service departments and wanted to thank you for the kind comments regarding the service you received. However, we want to immediately rectify the challenge you noted in the bar area relative to innattentive customer service. If you recall, can you please let us know which evening you experienced a lack of service so we can address the issue with our team members and management to ensure this does not happen again? I want you to know that we value our guests and assure you this is not something that will go unresolved. We look forward to hearing from you and hope that you can return again in the future. If you would like to reply to me directly, please feel free to do so.
Jesse Thompson - Director, Sales + Marketing
jthompson@hotelvalleyho.com
480-248-2008

-Hotel Valley Ho
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SC
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at Hotel Valley Ho for a conference and everything was first class! The staff was attentive to all our needs, the rooms were clean, food was excellent, and the landscaping around the hotel was immaculate. Orange trees were all around and they were full of oranges as this seems to be the peak of the season for citrus. I'd definitely stay here again and wish I had time to enjoy more of the hotel amenities. Their pool area looked so inviting even though it barely reached 50 degrees during the day...unusually cold from what everyone said about Scottsdale in January.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristin_Heggli, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Valley Ho, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
I'm glad you had such a wonderful stay; thank you for your comments! A daytime temperature of 50 degrees is indeed cold for January; we've been having highs in the 70s the last few days now, which is more typical. If you ever make it back to the Phoenix area, we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Just want to start out by saying that I VERY rarely would give any business all the stars because that would mean there is no room for improvement. There is always room for improvement.
This hotel is Space-Age hip. We expected to see the Jetsons maid jump out and do our room up. Great restoration of an established mid-century landmark. Room decor in tasteful modern vibe.The bed super comfortable. Very nice bar items for use in room. (Martini and wine glasses,etc). The bath products delicious. I REALLY appreciated the blue mood light available in the bathroom. How often do we stumble into the hotel lavatory in the middle of the night and have to turn on the most glaring bright light lest we stub our toe in the dark? Not the case here.
We had breakfast in the Zuzu that was sublime. Loved the Bloody Mary bar, oh yes on New Year's Day!
The only negatives for us were the building that we were in was quite a distance from the lobby area. We figured out after a day that it was better to self park where we could be closer to our room. In addition, the party goers in the next room sounded like they were in our bathroom. It was New Years Eve so that is to be expected.
Overall it was a very cool experience, not the ordinary vanilla hotel. We will be back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristin_Heggli, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Valley Ho, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you for your review! While we are much smaller than many resort properties in the Valley (the hotel is on seven acres), the rooms in The Tower are perfect if you prefer to be right near the lobby and ZuZu. I'm sorry about the noise in the room next to yours. We do have a strict no-party policy for our rooms and our security team enforces that to ensure everyone can get a good night's sleep. New Year's Eve definitely tends to be livelier than other nights in the year. We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

This is my favorite hotel in midtown Scottsdale. Super cool place to stay. They've truly captured the midcentury theme and added a hipster twist. Great F&B and the staff is superb. They provide 4.5 diamond service at a four diamond hotel. It's a fun place to go and relax as well as it's not so over the top that you can't conduct business there.

The pool area is the best although don't expect the lux cabana experience that you get at some of the Scottsdale haunts. This is more about having fun and feeling cool while doing it. Note - on the weekends they have packed out pool parties. We enjoyed but make sure it's your thing before you stay then. It's a party. Midweek you will pretty much have the place to yourself.

Spa is a favorite. The steam room was the best for combatting the dryness of the Valley. They have custom-scented products that are used in the spa and throughout the hotel that I would like to have a mainline of. The most refreshing scent. Everytime I use the lotion it takes me back!

Nice rooms - electic yet well-appointed. Super comfy beds and quiet hallways make for a wonderful night's rest!

Room Tip: You can either opt for the pool view or the sunset view over the mountains depending on your prefere...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristin_Heggli, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Valley Ho, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thank you for your review! I also love the spa and the "Icelandic Moonflower" scent that Red Flower created for us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We knew little about this hotel on arrival for one night but quickly fell in love with its campy mid-century modernist decor and ambiance and wound up staying two more nights. Our room (4107) was double-sized, with a small patio and a blooming orange tree (in December) and hot tubs nearby. Very comfortable, great service and terrifically relaxing. We had both a frig and microwave in our room as well as robes. Mood blue bath tub lighting was funny. We had a pleasant light supper at ZuZu, their restaurant. Although rates overall are fair, one big irritant was the extra charges for things most hotels today provide for free: WIFI, coffee and parking. That's a part of their mid-century look-back they should abandon. Still, we will surely go back. It's in Old Town Scottsdale near the art scene and close to restaurants, shops and the town's "waterfront."

Room Tip: Our room was in the outer wing not the tower where some more expensive rooms are two-story suites; w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristin_Heggli, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Valley Ho, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
We appreciate your comments! While there is a charge for coffee, Internet, and parking, we do have some complimentary self parking available. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Valley Ho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Valley Ho

Address: 6850 East Main Street, Scottsdale, AZ 85251
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Scottsdale
#4 Luxury Hotel in Scottsdale
#6 Romantic Hotel in Scottsdale
#7 Business Hotel in Scottsdale
#8 Green Hotel in Scottsdale
#20 Family Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Valley Ho 4*
Number of rooms: 194
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tablet Hotels, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Valley Ho reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valley Ho Hotel
Valley Ho Scottsdale

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Valley Ho, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.