We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sweet slice of heaven near Old Town Scottsdale” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Valley Ho

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Valley Ho to your Saves list
Hotel Valley Ho
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6850 East Main Street, Scottsdale, AZ 85251   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
4th Night Free
Ranked #8 of 78 Hotels in Scottsdale
GreenLeadersBronze level
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Sweet slice of heaven near Old Town Scottsdale”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

This is my favorite hotel in midtown Scottsdale. Super cool place to stay. They've truly captured the midcentury theme and added a hipster twist. Great F&B and the staff is superb. They provide 4.5 diamond service at a four diamond hotel. It's a fun place to go and relax as well as it's not so over the top that you can't conduct business there.

The pool area is the best although don't expect the lux cabana experience that you get at some of the Scottsdale haunts. This is more about having fun and feeling cool while doing it. Note - on the weekends they have packed out pool parties. We enjoyed but make sure it's your thing before you stay then. It's a party. Midweek you will pretty much have the place to yourself.

Spa is a favorite. The steam room was the best for combatting the dryness of the Valley. They have custom-scented products that are used in the spa and throughout the hotel that I would like to have a mainline of. The most refreshing scent. Everytime I use the lotion it takes me back!

Nice rooms - electic yet well-appointed. Super comfy beds and quiet hallways make for a wonderful night's rest!

Room Tip: You can either opt for the pool view or the sunset view over the mountains depending on your prefere...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristin_Heggli, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Valley Ho, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thank you for your review! I also love the spa and the "Icelandic Moonflower" scent that Red Flower created for us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

866 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    529
    243
    52
    22
    20
See reviews for
78
281
58
251
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We knew little about this hotel on arrival for one night but quickly fell in love with its campy mid-century modernist decor and ambiance and wound up staying two more nights. Our room (4107) was double-sized, with a small patio and a blooming orange tree (in December) and hot tubs nearby. Very comfortable, great service and terrifically relaxing. We had both a frig and microwave in our room as well as robes. Mood blue bath tub lighting was funny. We had a pleasant light supper at ZuZu, their restaurant. Although rates overall are fair, one big irritant was the extra charges for things most hotels today provide for free: WIFI, coffee and parking. That's a part of their mid-century look-back they should abandon. Still, we will surely go back. It's in Old Town Scottsdale near the art scene and close to restaurants, shops and the town's "waterfront."

Room Tip: Our room was in the outer wing not the tower where some more expensive rooms are two-story suites; w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristin_Heggli, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Valley Ho, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
We appreciate your comments! While there is a charge for coffee, Internet, and parking, we do have some complimentary self parking available. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We stayed here with two small kids, and this place was great. Good food, great accommodations, kid friendly, great great great service. Early check in and late check out was no problem.
Also, the best part is their bath products. Their signature scent is amazing, and feel great on your skin.
We had a double bed room in the wings, next time we will spring for the suite.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristin_Heggli, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Valley Ho, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thank you for your review! I also love the smell of Red Flower products. Come and see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

Most agree that "the locals" know the best places to go. Well as a local, I'm glad to say the Valley Ho is my favorite new place to stay in Scottsdale. Our agency chose the hotel to host our holiday getaway.

Thanks to top-notch service, ever-fab amenities and above all, wonderful hospitality, many of us extended our stay to four additional days beyond the original booking.

Now that's swell.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristin_Heggli, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Valley Ho, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Thank you for your review! We're glad we could host your holiday festivities. Stop by anytime - we have some great events in ZuZu like our weekly wine tasting and monthly Chef's Table!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

I love this hotel....very Rat Pack Palm Springs feel. Built in 1956 and host to many Hollywood celebs, the hotel has been fantastically renovated with a swanky 1950s vibe. Beautiful grounds with orange trees and fountains, friendly and attentive service, cool bar and pool and an awesome spa and fitness center. In the heart old town Scottsdale, many dining and entertainment options are walkable. I stay here when on business in Phoenix, but would recommend it to anyone looking for something other than cookie cutter mass market box hotels for business or pleasure

Room Tip: Not all rooms have a great view so if you don't care to look at the parking lot, ask in advance...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristin_Heggli, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Valley Ho, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
We appreciate your review and your business, thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

I went there with my Husband for his work holiday party (ClubMed). This charming renovated hotel is tucked away in old town Scottsdale off main street. As I was getting out of the car, the valet took my hand to help me and bowed. They ased our names, reason for visit, and escourted us through the beautifully clean modern retro decorated plaa and a very busy elegant bar area evevated and in a semi-circle. The architecture was clean, simple, open, each room integrated and complemented the other, a beauty. So we were escourted on the elevator to the roof where the party was held. Wow...... Everwhere you looked all you could see views of the entire city. The staff immediately started walking around with decant orderves, civichi, broche, various cheeses, breads, pot pie on small spoons, tea sandwishes, etc. Everything delectable. Staff overly attentive and pleasent. It was a romantic and magical evening I will never forget.

Room Tip: We went for a work holiday party, we did not stay in a room so I do not know.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristin_Heggli, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Valley Ho, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
I'm glad you had such a wonderful time at the hotel! You may want to visit us for New Year's Eve - we're hosting a four-course dinner in ZuZu, dancing, and a Champagne toast on the rooftop at midnight. Thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helena, Montana
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Our first room had a little bit of a musty smell, when we let them know they moved us to a new room without question. It was a wonderful room with a pool view. The staff was very friendly, the fitness room was very clean with nice equipment. The entire hotel was clean. The pool area was very nice and the bar staff very accommodating. Our flight left at 5:30 PM so we asked for a late check out and they let us stay until 2:00. Great place, great location, with friendly staff. We were there for business and pleasure and we would definitely return.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views. Building 5 was a little close to the road so I could hear road noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristin_Heggli, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Valley Ho, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
I apologize for the musty room smell - our housekeeping team is very diligent and works to ensure all guest rooms are spotless and smelling fresh. Thank you for your review, and come see us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Valley Ho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Valley Ho

Address: 6850 East Main Street, Scottsdale, AZ 85251
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Scottsdale
#4 Spa Hotel in Scottsdale
#6 Romantic Hotel in Scottsdale
#7 Business Hotel in Scottsdale
#8 Green Hotel in Scottsdale
#20 Family Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Valley Ho 4*
Number of rooms: 194
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Tablet Hotels, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Valley Ho reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valley Ho Hotel
Valley Ho Scottsdale

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Valley Ho, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.