We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice resort with a few issues” 4 of 5 stars
Review of We-Ko-Pa Resort & Conference Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added We-Ko-Pa Resort & Conference Center to your Saves list
We-Ko-Pa Resort & Conference Center
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10438 North Fort McDowell Rd, Scottsdale, AZ 85264   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 78 Hotels in Scottsdale
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice resort with a few issues”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

First of all, the Radisson is a beautiful resort, which seems like it smack in the middle of nowhere in the Arizona desert. It has some great views as well as some unique features. The room was pretty standard, with nice, firm beds that definitely condone sleep. However, I think my room may have had a mold issue. There was mildew in the corner of the shower, and I felt like I was getting more and more sick when I spent time in the room. Aside from that, the rest of my stay was just fine.
On my last day, a piece of paper slid under my door. It was a bill from the resort: $10 for "resort fees." I'm not too sure what that was about, especially since I didn't even take advantage of maid service, keeping my "do not disturb" sign hanging on my door at all times. Multiply that by the several hundred rooms they must have, and they are scoring an extra couple thousand dollars a week, estimated. I'm not sure if that is standard practice or what, but watch out for that if you stay here.

Room Tip: Don't pick a room next to a suite... my company rented a suite as a gathering room for all of ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    147
    56
    22
    21
See reviews for
69
147
21
94
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Very pretty landscape! Rooms were nice and quiet. Had a first floor room with a patio and nice view of the desert. Had breakfast at the Ahnala restaurant and it was yummy. Wasn't a big fan of the buffet in the casino though...the waitress wasn't very nice and the food was just so-so. I would definitely stay here again though!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Volo, Illinois
Level Contributor
88 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

If you want to be more in the AZ terrain, stay at the Radisson Fort McDowell. Out on a reserve, this nicely decorated hotel will give you a luxury feel and a value. The views are spectacular with wildlife surrounding the hotel. Not unusual to see horses, cattle, and coyote. The rock and wood decor make this hotel feel high end. Connected to a meeting hall and casino, most people staying here will business or gamblers. Caution: the casino is extremely smoking as its the first in AZ. But if you want to get away from the hussle of Phoenix and Scottsdale and be able to swim and walk under the stars, this is the place. The stars are amazing. They also have a golf course on site. If you ever think about a Radisson, stay here. Its not your traditional Radisson.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, OH
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

No complaints with this hotel. I expected it to be much more expensive and not as nice since its right next to a casino. Instead, I found a great rate, the room was nice and it was fun to be walking distance from the casino (especially at night). The staff was nice and I was able to get an early check in without a problem. The rooms were nice and the beds were super comfy. As a side note, I highly recommend the buffet inside the casino - delicious! There are also some cheaper deli-like places and a sushi bar inside the casino that serve great food as well. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The views from this hotel are awesome! Hotel is located several miles outside of town - which can be a plus or minus depending on your needs. My husband and I spent 5 nights here in January. We had a suite with a patio - nice place to enjoy a drink & the view! Rooms are clean, bed was comfortable and decor is tastefully done. Hotel is next door to a casino with a few dining choices. Food was okay but service was slow! We ate in town most of the time. Hotel staff is friendly and were especially accommodating when we had a problem with our bill.
Cons - distance from town; housekeeping was inconsistent on cleaning time (The first morning they wanted to clean our room at 8:30 am! We were on different time zone & tired from traveling. Other mornings it might be 11:00 before they cleaned)
That being said, it isn't much to complain about! Its a wonderful place to stay and we would definitely stay there again!!!

Room Tip: Rooms facing pool have a fabulous view! Other side faces parking lot :( with desert beyond
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The only complaint is the shuttle from hotel to Casino. Shuttle works at the whim of hotel employee. Also 10 pm at night no shuttle service a available. No problem to walk back and forth unless you are disabled.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

If you don't mind waking up at 9 am by vacuuming and noisy housekeepers outside your room, its not a bad place. I was out late, came back and asked the front desk for a late checkout as well. The employee was doing paper work and basically told me to call in the morning....I explained that would mean I would have to wake up, which defeats the purpose....she told me that they were sold out and I would have to call in the morning and she couldn't help me. I just wanted one more hour. Frustrating. She couldn't care less.
The room itself was well designed and comfortable....but their employees need training to understand needs of their guests. I would never stay there again,

Room Tip: Get a room at end of hallway if you can....might have a better chance of no housekeepers cleaning an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cbenell, Front Office Manager at We-Ko-Pa Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
I'm so sorry to hear that you were disturbed so early in the morning and that we were unable to provide you with a late checkout. We are always looking for ways to accommodate our guests needs and it sounds like a late checkout better communication and a quite morning would have helped in making your stay more enjoyable. Your feedback is very important to me and I will ensure the direct supervisors are made aware of your concerns. Thank you for your feedback
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scottsdale hotels
13.9 mi away
Gainey Suites Hotel
Gainey Suites Hotel
#2 of 78 in Scottsdale
4.5 of 5 stars 1,039 reviews
11.2 mi away
Talking Stick Resort
Talking Stick Resort
#49 of 78 in Scottsdale
4.0 of 5 stars 783 reviews
15.7 mi away
Hotel Valley Ho
Hotel Valley Ho
#5 of 78 in Scottsdale
4.5 of 5 stars 1,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.1 mi away
The Saguaro, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
14.9 mi away
FireSky Resort & Spa - a Kimpton Hotel
14.2 mi away
The McCormick Scottsdale
The McCormick Scottsdale
#28 of 78 in Scottsdale
4.5 of 5 stars 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to We-Ko-Pa Resort & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about We-Ko-Pa Resort & Conference Center

Address: 10438 North Fort McDowell Rd, Scottsdale, AZ 85264
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Scottsdale
#36 Business Hotel in Scottsdale
#38 Romantic Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — We-Ko-Pa Resort & Conference Center 4*
Number of rooms: 246
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The We-Ko-Pa Resort & Conference Center offers 246 upscale guest rooms and suites and is 100% smoke-free. Guest rooms come with luxurious amenities such as 32-inch LCD HGTVs, spacious bathrooms, plush Simmons beds and large windows with mountain, pool or golf course views. Guests can enjoy a variety of on-site features including a heated resort pool, a full-service spa, exclusive access to the We-Ko-Pa Golf Club and a full casino with various games and activities. Also located within the hotel are a variety of scrumptious restaurants, including the savory Ahnala Mesquite Room. The We-Ko-Pa Resort & Conference Center is conveniently located 30 minutes outside of downtown Phoenix and Phoenix Sky High International Airport, making it the perfect hotel choice for both leisure and business travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TravelClick, seekda GmbH, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, BookIt.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your We-Ko-Pa Resort & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Fort Mcdowell Resort And Casino
Radisson Fort Mcdowell Hotel Scottsdale
Radisson Scottsdale
Scottsdale Radisson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage We-Ko-Pa Resort & Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.