We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic Italian with Breathtaking Desert Sunset View” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sassi

Sassi
10455 E Pinnacle Peak Rd, Scottsdale, AZ 85255
480-502-9095
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Sassi is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #106 of 963 Restaurants in Scottsdale
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $35 - $50
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Scenic view, Doing business
Dining options: Dinner, Dessert, Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: N Alma School Rd
Description: Sassi is Scottsdale's nationally known destination for fine Italian dining, wine and special events. Located at the base of Pinnacle Peak. Sassi offers rustic, artisan style cuisine inspired by small towns in southern Italy. Sassi's villa style architecture, comfortable surroundings and rustic elegance are the perfect setting for a romantic dinner for two or a company event or wedding for up to 150 guests. Dine in one of four main dining rooms or on the patio (weather permitting), or reserve the private wine cellar for up to 14. Sassi features more than reasonably priced 150 wines from Italy and California to complement Chef Peter's flavorful cuisine. We purchase from numerous small farmers, Niman Ranch and other organic and natural farmers and producers. Photos, menus, information and staff biographies on our web site
Glendale, Arizona, United States
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Authentic Italian with Breathtaking Desert Sunset View”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

This is truly authentic Northern Italian cuisine, served as a traditional Italian four course dinner. We would recommend checking online to find out what time sunset will be, make your reservation for 30 minutes after that, and then arriving just before sunset. Go in through the restaurant into the back courtyard as the sun is setting (or walk behind the restaurant if there is a wedding in the courtyard), and take pictures of the beautiful Arizona sunsets. If the weather is nice, request to sit outside on the back patio. For a more romantic evening, request to be seated in the Garden or Library room. One of the dining rooms allow you a view directly into the kitchen. This would also be an amazing venue for a sunset wedding, and they have separate banquet facilities. We would recommend splitting one of each of the courses between 2-3 people. You will not leave hungry! Enjoy!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    55
    24
    11
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Can't be missed!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013 via mobile

I love this restaurant and make a point of eating here each time we visit Phoenix. The food is fabulous and the ambiance itself is worth seeing. You will feel transported! We usually enjoy the patio but the Tuscan style design and unique layout make this restaurant truly unique. It's especially fun to go with a group to share as many of their great appetizers (and entrees if you're willing!) as you can.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abbotsford, Canada
Top Contributor
296 reviews 296 reviews
253 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
148 helpful votes 148 helpful votes
“Great for a special occassion”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

It's hard to find Sassi. Our GPS directed us to a residential area that had a huge sign saying there were no restaurants at the top of Pinnacle Peak. We drove down Pima road where it cuts into Pinnacle Peak Turned right and saw a sign for Pinnacle Peak restaurants just before Happy Valley Road. We drove up the road and there was a sign pointing to Pinnacle Peak restaurants that we took and it led us to Sassi.

If I lived here this would become one of my go to places for a special occassion. It is a large restaurant but there are about 5 different rooms all beautifully decorated. The views from the various rooms are stunning. We started off with happy hour in the bar where we had a couple of glasses of wine and shared an appetizer of porcini rubbed filet. It was amazing, served medium rare and with mushroom that was delicious. We had reservations on the patio for 6:00 so we could see the sunset and the waiter said to just let him know when we were ready for dinner.

The view from the patio (they have 3) was absolutely stunning and we had a glorious sunset while we sipped on our wine and perused the menu. Our server (I think her name was Chelsea) was terrific. Hot bread made in house was brought to the table with a top quality olive oil for dipping. We shared an order of spaghettini carbonara. It was fabulous. It had a bit of brussels sprout mixed in and it really added another dimension to the dish. Our server asked if we wanted to split the order at the table or whether we would like to have the kitcher split it for us. It was a nice gesture on her part. For entrees my husband had the porcini rubbed veal chop with wild mushroom polenta that was oh so good. It was perfectly cooked medium rare and was a large chop. I choose the half rotisserie chicken for my entree and it was cooked to perfection. The skin was nice and crisp and the meat was moist. The candied chilies and roasted garlic gave it a nice spiciness. It was served with carrots.

This was a very special evening and it is definitely on our list of places to return to when we're in Scottsdale. Many times when you go to a restaurant that has an amazing view and setting the food is lacking. Not in this case.

Beautiful setting, very romantic, wonderful service, amazing food and reasonable prices for the quality of food served combine to give us the perfect evening. It was definitely very memorable. Just don't count on GPS to get you to this restaurant.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welland, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Beautiful ambience, great view, the only thing we didn't like was the very few "Italian" dishes offered when it was advertised as an "Italian" restaurant. Disappointing in that regard. Choices were very limited.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Best experience ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Four of us dined at Sassi last week, it was one of the best experiences we've ever had. One of our party is a wine collector, and was able to obtain a very unique/impossible to get bottle, the sommelier was knowledgeable and fun to talk to. Service was excellent, food was superb. Try the octopus appy. The setting is magical, try and make it for sunset.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sassi also viewed

Scottsdale, Central Arizona
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 

Been to Sassi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sassi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.