We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value, if possible get a table on the patio” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Frank & Lupe's Old Mexico

Frank & Lupe's Old Mexico
4121 N Marshall Way, Scottsdale, AZ 85251-3809 (Downtown Scottsdale)
480-990-9844
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #166 of 1,008 Restaurants in Scottsdale
Price range: $10 - $10
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Neighborhood: Downtown Scottsdale
Vienna
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Value, if possible get a table on the patio”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We were lucky to get a table on the patio. Service was slow, but friendly. Food was good and not spicy at all. It was good but not exceptional.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    79
    31
    21
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
ottawa
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Ole Ole Happy Hour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Everytime we vacation in Arizona, Frank & Lupe's is a must! The little cantina out back is the best place to relax after a day of walking thru Olde Town Scottsdale. Stop in during Happy Hour and enjoy the 1/2 price apps and drink specials. The nachos are the best....layer after layer of Mexican goodness...not just a sprinkling of ingredients. Staff is friendly and the "mist sprayers" make this an ideal location.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Top Contributor
424 reviews 424 reviews
227 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 108 cities Reviews in 108 cities
267 helpful votes 267 helpful votes
“Go somewhere else for Mexican food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We wanted to try different Mexican restaurants while we were in the Scottsdale area for 5 days. Each day we went to a different restaurant and this was one was on the bottom of the list. I would not recommend going to this restaurant for a variety of reasons. We went for lunch and the small restaurant was over half full. The servers were not organized and we had to wait about ten minutes before they cleared the tables for the three of us. I noticed she used a dirty looking old rag to clean all of the tables. Needless to say, I shuddered watching her. On the menu, it stated that the first basket of chips and salsa were free and then there would be a charge of I believe $2. The small saucer of salsa was not good so it was ok not to have any more. I ordered three ground beef enchiladas with beans and rice for $12.There was an additional charge of $2 if meat was added to the enchiladas. There was a choice of red or green sauce. My enchiladas tasted absolutely horrible. I would have much preferred to have gone to Taco Bell for better food and cheaper at that. My daughter ordered the poblano enchiladas which she said tasted ok. A pitcher of margaritas was $24. It was served in a plastic pitcher with cocktail glasses. The restroom is not located in the restaurant.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NE
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great authentic Mexican food......”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We have visited Frank & Lupe's restaurant both times we were in Scottsdale visiting from New England and have enjoyed the food very much but like the other reviews on here we were disappointed with the decor. It is a very old restaurant in need of some updating, but don't let the decor deter you from eating there because the food makes up for the atmosphere!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Old Mexico in Old Town Could Use Something New”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Went for lunch with a friend who needed a Mexican fix. Got the recommendation from a shopkeeper in Old Town Scottsdale while we were out and about. It was right down the block and as promised, a good value for lunch with very authentic Mexican fare. We both had the Combination Plate (tamale, rolled enchilada, taco, rice, beans, two sopaipillas and chili relleno).

The food was not bad but unfortunately also not great. It was very authentic Mexican in style and flavors, but was really pretty plain and could have used something more. Decent portions for a lunch. Presentation was a bit messy and could use some sprucing up to make it look more attractive on the plates. The house wine (Sauvingnon Blanc) was just average, but not great.

The decor could really use a refresh (we sat in the enclosed outdoor seating) at some cheesy looking picnic tables that needed a refurb. with a view of the parking lot. Service was OK, but nothing to write home about. Overall, I was just barely OK with this place for lunch and sorry I didn't try one of the other Mexican choices in Old Town today.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Frank & Lupe's Old Mexico also viewed

Scottsdale, Central Arizona
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 

Been to Frank & Lupe's Old Mexico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Frank & Lupe's Old Mexico, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.