We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value, if possible get a table on the patio” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Frank & Lupe's Old Mexico

Frank & Lupe's Old Mexico
4121 N Marshall Way, Scottsdale, AZ 85251-3809 (Downtown Scottsdale)
480-990-9844
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #121 of 1,138 Restaurants in Scottsdale
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $10
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Downtown Scottsdale
Vienna
Level Contributor
292 reviews
177 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Value, if possible get a table on the patio”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We were lucky to get a table on the patio. Service was slow, but friendly. Food was good and not spicy at all. It was good but not exceptional.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank cibiem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
ottawa
Level Contributor
34 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Ole Ole Happy Hour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Everytime we vacation in Arizona, Frank & Lupe's is a must! The little cantina out back is the best place to relax after a day of walking thru Olde Town Scottsdale. Stop in during Happy Hour and enjoy the 1/2 price apps and drink specials. The nachos are the best....layer after layer of Mexican goodness...not just a sprinkling of ingredients. Staff is friendly and the "mist sprayers" make this an ideal location.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GraybeardOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
762 reviews
374 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 501 helpful votes
“Go somewhere else for Mexican food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We wanted to try different Mexican restaurants while we were in the Scottsdale area for 5 days. Each day we went to a different restaurant and this was one was on the bottom of the list. I would not recommend going to this restaurant for a variety of reasons. We went for lunch and the small restaurant was over half full. The servers were not organized and we had to wait about ten minutes before they cleared the tables for the three of us. I noticed she used a dirty looking old rag to clean all of the tables. Needless to say, I shuddered watching her. On the menu, it stated that the first basket of chips and salsa were free and then there would be a charge of I believe $2. The small saucer of salsa was not good so it was ok not to have any more. I ordered three ground beef enchiladas with beans and rice for $12.There was an additional charge of $2 if meat was added to the enchiladas. There was a choice of red or green sauce. My enchiladas tasted absolutely horrible. I would have much preferred to have gone to Taco Bell for better food and cheaper at that. My daughter ordered the poblano enchiladas which she said tasted ok. A pitcher of margaritas was $24. It was served in a plastic pitcher with cocktail glasses. The restroom is not located in the restaurant.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank minnesotans4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NE
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great authentic Mexican food......”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We have visited Frank & Lupe's restaurant both times we were in Scottsdale visiting from New England and have enjoyed the food very much but like the other reviews on here we were disappointed with the decor. It is a very old restaurant in need of some updating, but don't let the decor deter you from eating there because the food makes up for the atmosphere!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sewwiz1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
208 reviews
173 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Old Mexico in Old Town Could Use Something New”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Went for lunch with a friend who needed a Mexican fix. Got the recommendation from a shopkeeper in Old Town Scottsdale while we were out and about. It was right down the block and as promised, a good value for lunch with very authentic Mexican fare. We both had the Combination Plate (tamale, rolled enchilada, taco, rice, beans, two sopaipillas and chili relleno).

The food was not bad but unfortunately also not great. It was very authentic Mexican in style and flavors, but was really pretty plain and could have used something more. Decent portions for a lunch. Presentation was a bit messy and could use some sprucing up to make it look more attractive on the plates. The house wine (Sauvingnon Blanc) was just average, but not great.

The decor could really use a refresh (we sat in the enclosed outdoor seating) at some cheesy looking picnic tables that needed a refurb. with a view of the parking lot. Service was OK, but nothing to write home about. Overall, I was just barely OK with this place for lunch and sorry I didn't try one of the other Mexican choices in Old Town today.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank corptool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Frank & Lupe's Old Mexico also viewed

Scottsdale, Central Arizona
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 

Been to Frank & Lupe's Old Mexico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing