We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go somewhere else for Mexican food” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Frank & Lupe's Old Mexico

Frank & Lupe's Old Mexico
4121 N Marshall Way, Scottsdale, AZ 85251-3809 (Downtown Scottsdale)
480-990-9844
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #134 of 1,024 Restaurants in Scottsdale
Price range: $10 - $10
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Neighborhood: Downtown Scottsdale
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Top Contributor
477 reviews 477 reviews
256 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 115 cities Reviews in 115 cities
282 helpful votes 282 helpful votes
“Go somewhere else for Mexican food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We wanted to try different Mexican restaurants while we were in the Scottsdale area for 5 days. Each day we went to a different restaurant and this was one was on the bottom of the list. I would not recommend going to this restaurant for a variety of reasons. We went for lunch and the small restaurant was over half full. The servers were not organized and we had to wait about ten minutes before they cleared the tables for the three of us. I noticed she used a dirty looking old rag to clean all of the tables. Needless to say, I shuddered watching her. On the menu, it stated that the first basket of chips and salsa were free and then there would be a charge of I believe $2. The small saucer of salsa was not good so it was ok not to have any more. I ordered three ground beef enchiladas with beans and rice for $12.There was an additional charge of $2 if meat was added to the enchiladas. There was a choice of red or green sauce. My enchiladas tasted absolutely horrible. I would have much preferred to have gone to Taco Bell for better food and cheaper at that. My daughter ordered the poblano enchiladas which she said tasted ok. A pitcher of margaritas was $24. It was served in a plastic pitcher with cocktail glasses. The restroom is not located in the restaurant.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    86
    31
    21
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
NE
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great authentic Mexican food......”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We have visited Frank & Lupe's restaurant both times we were in Scottsdale visiting from New England and have enjoyed the food very much but like the other reviews on here we were disappointed with the decor. It is a very old restaurant in need of some updating, but don't let the decor deter you from eating there because the food makes up for the atmosphere!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Old Mexico in Old Town Could Use Something New”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Went for lunch with a friend who needed a Mexican fix. Got the recommendation from a shopkeeper in Old Town Scottsdale while we were out and about. It was right down the block and as promised, a good value for lunch with very authentic Mexican fare. We both had the Combination Plate (tamale, rolled enchilada, taco, rice, beans, two sopaipillas and chili relleno).

The food was not bad but unfortunately also not great. It was very authentic Mexican in style and flavors, but was really pretty plain and could have used something more. Decent portions for a lunch. Presentation was a bit messy and could use some sprucing up to make it look more attractive on the plates. The house wine (Sauvingnon Blanc) was just average, but not great.

The decor could really use a refresh (we sat in the enclosed outdoor seating) at some cheesy looking picnic tables that needed a refurb. with a view of the parking lot. Service was OK, but nothing to write home about. Overall, I was just barely OK with this place for lunch and sorry I didn't try one of the other Mexican choices in Old Town today.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Globe, Arizona
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Very good Sunday Lunch!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Went to Frank and Lupes with three others, and we're pleasantly surprised that we were able to get right in and place our order before it got too crowded. I had the three veracruz fish tacos and expected them to come with one fold to be eaten with my hands but they came rolled requiring a knife and fork. That didn't affect the taste, though. It was a true feast! Got two regular corn tortillas and one blue tortilla, all excellent. The fish was mild and tender. Surprisingly, the rice and beans accompanying the entre, which are usually an afterthought at most Mexican restaurants, were noteworthy and very good! My table mates enjoyed fajitas, flautas and a green chili burro. All were very happy with their fare, although the green chili burro (which was HUGE), was reported to probably be milder than expected. The service was excellent, except there wasn't refills of the chips basket. The salsa that came with the chips was also excellent. We will definitely go back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Dissappointing service. Lacked ambiance.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Food was pretty good. However, we had a hard time getting an employee to acknowledge our presence. Went inside the very LITTLE, crowded and unappealing restaurant and stood there for 15 min. before someone told us if you want to eat outside you have to go back out the door then around the side of the building and into the little courtyard in the back of the building. We did just that as there was no room available inside and it was a nice day. Then we stood and waited and waited and waited again at the patio. Staff kept walking by us as we stood at the "Please wait to be seated" sign but no one helped us. Finally someone said to us there was no room (we think that's what he said) even though there were two small tables that were clean and open the whole time we stood there. He said we should go back inside...and wait. Once we sat down inside it did not take long to order and for the food to arrive but the server was very unpleasant. Food and prices weren't bad but probably wouldn't go back based on service and ambiance.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Frank & Lupe's Old Mexico also viewed

Scottsdale, Central Arizona
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 

Been to Frank & Lupe's Old Mexico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Frank & Lupe's Old Mexico, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.