We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good Sunday Lunch!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Frank & Lupe's Old Mexico

Frank & Lupe's Old Mexico
4121 N Marshall Way, Scottsdale, AZ 85251-3809 (Downtown Scottsdale)
480-990-9844
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #187 of 1,013 restaurants in Scottsdale
Price range: $10 - $10
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Neighborhood: Downtown Scottsdale
Globe, Arizona
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Very good Sunday Lunch!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Went to Frank and Lupes with three others, and we're pleasantly surprised that we were able to get right in and place our order before it got too crowded. I had the three veracruz fish tacos and expected them to come with one fold to be eaten with my hands but they came rolled requiring a knife and fork. That didn't affect the taste, though. It was a true feast! Got two regular corn tortillas and one blue tortilla, all excellent. The fish was mild and tender. Surprisingly, the rice and beans accompanying the entre, which are usually an afterthought at most Mexican restaurants, were noteworthy and very good! My table mates enjoyed fajitas, flautas and a green chili burro. All were very happy with their fare, although the green chili burro (which was HUGE), was reported to probably be milder than expected. The service was excellent, except there wasn't refills of the chips basket. The salsa that came with the chips was also excellent. We will definitely go back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

72% Recommend
    87
    77
    31
    21
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Dissappointing service. Lacked ambiance.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Food was pretty good. However, we had a hard time getting an employee to acknowledge our presence. Went inside the very LITTLE, crowded and unappealing restaurant and stood there for 15 min. before someone told us if you want to eat outside you have to go back out the door then around the side of the building and into the little courtyard in the back of the building. We did just that as there was no room available inside and it was a nice day. Then we stood and waited and waited and waited again at the patio. Staff kept walking by us as we stood at the "Please wait to be seated" sign but no one helped us. Finally someone said to us there was no room (we think that's what he said) even though there were two small tables that were clean and open the whole time we stood there. He said we should go back inside...and wait. Once we sat down inside it did not take long to order and for the food to arrive but the server was very unpleasant. Food and prices weren't bad but probably wouldn't go back based on service and ambiance.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe, Arizona
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Old favorite”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Good food, nice service; an old reliable restaurant for traditional mexican food, parkinf can be a problem

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good food & great atmosphere in Old Town Scottsdale!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

I visit Scottsdale at least 2-3 times each year, and I always eat at Frank & Lupe's! Love this place! Good Southwest cuisine at fair prices, fun drinks, and great Mexican atmosphere with a Southwest flair. One of my favorite dishes is their chicken pablano - yum! Will be going to Scottsdale again soon and will definitely be going here for dinner. :)

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Delish!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

It is in a quirky little building but has a nice patio out back. We were there on a Sunday and were seated right away. Service was friendly and efficient and the food was really delicious. The salsa is flavorful and tangy but not so spicy that you can't enjoy it. Flavorful food. Fun wait staff. I would definitely go back!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Frank & Lupe's Old Mexico also viewed

Scottsdale, Central Arizona
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 

Been to Frank & Lupe's Old Mexico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Frank & Lupe's Old Mexico, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.