We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food & great atmosphere in Old Town Scottsdale!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Frank & Lupe's Old Mexico

Frank & Lupe's Old Mexico
4121 N Marshall Way, Scottsdale, AZ 85251-3809 (Downtown Scottsdale)
480-990-9844
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #161 of 1,010 Restaurants in Scottsdale
Price range: $10 - $10
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Neighborhood: Downtown Scottsdale
Vancouver, Washington, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good food & great atmosphere in Old Town Scottsdale!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

I visit Scottsdale at least 2-3 times each year, and I always eat at Frank & Lupe's! Love this place! Good Southwest cuisine at fair prices, fun drinks, and great Mexican atmosphere with a Southwest flair. One of my favorite dishes is their chicken pablano - yum! Will be going to Scottsdale again soon and will definitely be going here for dinner. :)

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    80
    31
    21
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Gilbert, Arizona
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Delish!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

It is in a quirky little building but has a nice patio out back. We were there on a Sunday and were seated right away. Service was friendly and efficient and the food was really delicious. The salsa is flavorful and tangy but not so spicy that you can't enjoy it. Flavorful food. Fun wait staff. I would definitely go back!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherrard, Illinois
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Fabulous!!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

With so many Mexican restaurants to pick from it was hard for me to select one. This place was fabulous. It has a quaint area with a bar and a larger room off to the side and a patio out back.I was on my own so I ate at the bar. The wait staff was extremely friendly and efficient. I had a beef taco and fish taco. They were both the best I had on the trip. I also finished off with my favorite treat sopapillas with honey. I would go there again in a heartbeat.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great food, great bar service, OK hostess”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

You can tell a lot about the service of a place by the way they treat single diners. I was traveling solo for work and this place was recommended to me by a local. It was a gorgeous day and I wanted to sit on their very large patio, but the hostess didn't want to seat me at a table that was meant for a larger party. Which I understand the business side of, but I don't necessarily think it's the best practice for good service. So I got a poorly placed table by the bar. Luckily, the bartender Sara made up for it with her great service and friendly personality. The food was all great, so the only drawback was the initial impression, which can go a long way.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Opt out for Taco Bell”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

Greasy, flavorless, and worst than mediocre. We had heard from locals that this was the place for Mexican food. It was not. I don't know what it was like in the past, but let me say that it seemed to be a tourist trap for bad food tonight. You would have better luck at Taco Bell.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Frank & Lupe's Old Mexico also viewed

Scottsdale, Central Arizona
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 

Been to Frank & Lupe's Old Mexico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Frank & Lupe's Old Mexico, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.