We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delish!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Frank & Lupe's Old Mexico

Frank & Lupe's Old Mexico
4121 N Marshall Way, Scottsdale, AZ 85251-3809 (Downtown Scottsdale)
480-990-9844
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #181 of 966 Restaurants in Scottsdale
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $10
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night
Neighborhood: Downtown Scottsdale
Gilbert, Arizona
Top Contributor
177 reviews 177 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Delish!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

It is in a quirky little building but has a nice patio out back. We were there on a Sunday and were seated right away. Service was friendly and efficient and the food was really delicious. The salsa is flavorful and tangy but not so spicy that you can't enjoy it. Flavorful food. Fun wait staff. I would definitely go back!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    98
    45
    23
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sherrard, Illinois
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Fabulous!!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

With so many Mexican restaurants to pick from it was hard for me to select one. This place was fabulous. It has a quaint area with a bar and a larger room off to the side and a patio out back.I was on my own so I ate at the bar. The wait staff was extremely friendly and efficient. I had a beef taco and fish taco. They were both the best I had on the trip. I also finished off with my favorite treat sopapillas with honey. I would go there again in a heartbeat.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great food, great bar service, OK hostess”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

You can tell a lot about the service of a place by the way they treat single diners. I was traveling solo for work and this place was recommended to me by a local. It was a gorgeous day and I wanted to sit on their very large patio, but the hostess didn't want to seat me at a table that was meant for a larger party. Which I understand the business side of, but I don't necessarily think it's the best practice for good service. So I got a poorly placed table by the bar. Luckily, the bartender Sara made up for it with her great service and friendly personality. The food was all great, so the only drawback was the initial impression, which can go a long way.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Opt out for Taco Bell”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

Greasy, flavorless, and worst than mediocre. We had heard from locals that this was the place for Mexican food. It was not. I don't know what it was like in the past, but let me say that it seemed to be a tourist trap for bad food tonight. You would have better luck at Taco Bell.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
renton, wa
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“So flag we found this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

My husband, son and I were on our first visit to Scottsdale today. It was early afternoon and we decided to find a Mexican restaurant in Old Town Scottsdale. I googled the area and a list of places came up. Frank and Lupe's was the closest so off we went. We were ready to go and be seated in the front restaurant until I noticed a sign that pointed to the patio in back. What a great surprise.....fun outdoor bar with bar and table seating. There is also another fun indoor eating area right off the patio with a full bar....so in all three full bars in this establishment. We were lucky to hit Happy Hour.....half price Margarita's and appetizers. The nachos my husband and I shared were some if not the best we've ever had. Son had a picadillo burrito with rice and beens and loved it! So happy we stumbled on to Frank and Lupe's......highly recommend! The prices are very reasonable without Happy Hour.....so don't miss this one!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Frank & Lupe's Old Mexico also viewed

Scottsdale, Central Arizona
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 

Been to Frank & Lupe's Old Mexico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Frank & Lupe's Old Mexico, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.