We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small portion but tasty” 4 of 5 stars
Review of SOL Mexican Cocina

SOL Mexican Cocina
15279 N. Scottsdale Rd., Scottsdale, AZ 85254
(480) 245-6708
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
SOL Mexican Cocina is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #122 of 963 Restaurants in Scottsdale
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Winnipeg
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Small portion but tasty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

We enjoyed our food during our visit. The complimentary chips and dip were great, and service was fantastic, but I was surprised at how small the portions were. It was fine for me but a big eater might not be satisfied

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    41
    17
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Lovely interior, but the food did not measure up”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

The positive: Really nicely decorated inside - beautiful wood all around - very warm and comfortable. The salsa was very good.

The negative: Long wait. Very crowded and noisy. The dishes we ordered were spicy and unbalanced. Rather pricy.

The verdict: We will not return...

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Great food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

Had dinner at SOL with my son during our Christmas vacation. Waited 15 minutes for a table. Service was a little slow but friendly. Food was excellent. Salsa amazing. Guacamole was very good. Margaritas awesome.. My son had the steak and loved it. I had steak tacos and they were very good. Too full for dessert but the items looked good.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chambersburg, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“yummy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

Food was great! Atmosphere and service were excellent...a very comfortable and satisfying experience

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Thoroughly unimpressed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

Was recommended by a local, but not what we expected. Entree prices are ridiculous. Drinks are small. Chips and salsa disappointing. Server was rather uninformed about the menu. Restaurant is right next to a parking garage entrance a short distance from a busy intersection. Tried a variety of items. Food arrived cold. Much delay due to food going from kitchen bar to a strange, waist height tray staging area right in the middle of a walkway.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed SOL Mexican Cocina also viewed

 
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 

Been to SOL Mexican Cocina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SOL Mexican Cocina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.