We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a good pizza!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grimaldi's Pizzeria

Grimaldi's Pizzeria
4000 N. Scottsdale Rd, Scottsdale, AZ 86314
(480) 994-1100
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 1,025 Restaurants in Scottsdale
Cuisines: Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
Scottsdale, Arizona
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Always a good pizza!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

Their pizza is one of the best in Phoenix area! Good wine and beer selection. Salads aren't creative, but good none-the-less. About $20 gets you a large pizza with a couple toppings.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    188
    82
    33
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Midwest
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“My Best Pizza Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

My first visit, we stopped in for lunch during work hours. The pizza was so good, I ate a 14" pizza all by myself. Crust in thin but not crispy or soggy. Somehow they get it just right. They build their pizzas backwards in that once the crust is hand-tossed, they add thick slices of mozzarella...then add toppings of your choice, and then at the end, they add the sauce in dollops. They don't smother it with any ingredient and have just the right balance. After the pizza is made, they cook it in a coal-fired brick oven. The result is my favorite pizza. My wife and I go there every other week and it's always great pizza. Here's a tip: they have garlic powder in shakers but you need to ask for it. A little garlic kicks up the flavor another notch. Yum!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, MI
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great Pizza!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

Started with a delicious house salad. The small is enough to share. Pizza was equally delicious and probably the best we've had in awhile.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Not like before”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

Had dinner at Grimaldi's Pizzaria at Scottsdale Quarter and were disappointed in our pizza. We ordered a large with onions, mushrooms with bell pepper on half and meatballs on half. The pizza arrived and the bll pepper and meatball were on the same side. We didn't do a good job communicating our desires but our server made every attempt to make the situation right by offering us a new pie, or a personal size. EXCELLENT customer service; as it was our lack of good communication. The beauty of Grimaldi's Pizza is the coal oven, thin and crispy crust. Our pie was a bit soggy in the center but perfect on the outer expanse. No full bar only beer and wine.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
medford
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“More hype than taste”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

Grimaldi's Pizzeria in Old Town Scottsdale boost of its Boston style thin crust pizza baked in a coal fired oven. What we got was an expensive pizza, most toppings add on $2 ea, with the bottom of the crust nearly burnt and to top side under the ingredients gooey. We had pepperoni, sausage, black olives, onions, and mushrooms as our toppings, adding $10 to base cost of our pizza, which is a basic tomato sauce and cheese pizza. We ordered the small size which was more than enough for the 2 of us. Menu stated that same amount of toppings came with either the small or large pizza. Well, I could hardly find the mushrooms on my pizza so on a large pizza there might be only a small piece on each slice if what we got is any indication. Almost the same for the olives. Back to the coal fired oven. It was probably too hot and reason for the crust being the way it turned out and the toppings weren't very hot at all. I probably won't return. We could have returned the pizza but the standing room only crowd that gathered after we had been seated, well it would have been a long wait.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grimaldi's Pizzeria also viewed

Scottsdale, Central Arizona
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 

Been to Grimaldi's Pizzeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grimaldi's Pizzeria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.