We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Disappointing Experience at this Restaurant” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Bravo Bistro

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Bravo Bistro
4327 N Scottsdale Rd, Ste 200, Scottsdale, AZ 85251-3316 (Downtown Scottsdale)
480-481-7614
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #742 of 1,067 Restaurants in Scottsdale
Price range: $0 - $18
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Large groups, Romantic, Doing business, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: Downtown Scottsdale
Gilbert, Arizona
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Very Disappointing Experience at this Restaurant”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

My husband and I dined at Bravo Bistro hoping to find a wonderful, enjoyable Italian restaurant in the heart of Scottsdale. We were disappointed in the food, the ambience, and the service. The food was mediocre at best: I had veal scaloppine that was bland and very salty; and he had veal marsala that was flavorless. We asked for bread with our antipasto and were brought warmed pita bread. An Italian restaurant without bread and olive oil??? Our server hurried us as there were people waiting for tables (we did have reservations) and the ambiance was loud and uncomfortable. We won't be going back; especially when there are so many wonderful restaurants in that area.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    4
    3
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
238 reviews 238 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
351 helpful votes 351 helpful votes
“Good italian”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

Haven't been in a while but use to go regularly when I lived in South Scottsdale. Delicious food.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, AZ
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“so not worth it, sub par food and wine”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2011

I am not one to complain but I have to tell you about our experience with Bravo Bistro in scottsdale
When making the reservation, we were asked if we had a groupon. Then we were not presented with a wine by the glass menu just a verbal from the waitress. We were supposed to get up to $16 glass of wine each, had to guess at how much it was. Judging by the wines by the bottle I recognized a half dozen that are retail $9.00-$12.00 a bottle and they were priced at $35 to $55. We ended up with some very warm swill, certainly not quality wine. After placing our order she had to check with the kitchen then came back and asked if we had a groupon and she wanted to see it. I had our appetizer and was already eating, I told her I was not going to stop eating dig around in my purse. She came back again and my husband asked if we were going to receive smaller portions due to the groupon. She said she needed to hand write up the order a special way with the groupon.

Our appetizer "for two" was small and then my husbands "32 oz" Osso Busso was approximately 10 oz. My "Prime" filet mignon was certainly not prime it was stringy and the mashed potato was hospital cafeteria style, fresh out of a box.. I have been in the restaurant business for many years and I know a rip off when I see it. The tip was added at 18% which I did not have a problem with. For $75 we got a sub par meal with mediocre wine at $9 a glass. We just moved to the neighborhood and eat out 4 nights a week on average, but we will never go to Bravo Bistro again.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, New Hampshire
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Not good for large groups and only two beers offered.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

We were warned that the upstairs was for buffets and we used it as a order off the menu room. We held a party with around twenty people. We had a our own bar however it was run by our ONLY waiter. twenty people and one waiter/bartender not the best schedule written by the owner when we had this planned for over a month. Food was luke warm and pasta came out cold.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Happy Diner NYC Return Visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2011

Revisited restaurant during Allstar Baseball Week. Had the pleasure bring a group of friends with me. The meal,hospitality and sevice was as I remembered on my last visit. It is nice to see local independent resturants thriving. I will be back. Bravo! to Bravo Bistro

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bravo Bistro also viewed

Scottsdale, Central Arizona
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 

Been to Bravo Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bravo Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.