We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1960's style chinese food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Jade Palace Chinese Restaurant

Jade Palace Chinese Restaurant
9160 E Shea Blvd Ste 101, Scottsdale, AZ 85260
(480) 391-0607
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #255 of 1,067 Restaurants in Scottsdale
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“1960's style chinese food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

If you like gloppy, saucy Chinese food like you had as your first outing to try "exotic" Chinese food, then this is your place. On the other hand, if you have enjoyed the more authentic Asian food of P.F.Changs!,
(yes, that is how out of touch Jade is, that it makes Changs seem authentic!) this is the place for you and your grandma! and it will remind her of the good old days. In a nod to changing times and tastes, they do offer the option of brown rice!!!! WOW!
The décor, on the other had was very nice, modern, and up to date.
On top of all that, it was a bit pricy for what you got.
So......if your granny is in town and footing the bill.......just take to P.F.Changs instead

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    16
    8
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Not Great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

The best part of our meal was the service, but we did not particularly enjoy our meal. The jumbo shrimp in lobster sauce was very unappealing to look at (our daughter referred to it as snot sauce) though the shrimp was fresh and nice to eat. We had the orange chicken which had an oddly unpleasant sour flavor. The egg rolls were meaty with lots of cabbage (and huge). We were not bowled over. My husband enjoyed it more than my daughter or me, and we won't be going back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Glad we're back”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

After switching to another Chinese restaurant for a few years as a result to moving further north, we returned to Jade Palace with friends last month. It was better than we remembered, with entrees not seen on menus in most Chinese restaurants (the standards are there too). Requests for less spicy adjustments were met and service was prompt and efficient. We've since returned and tried other selections and were equally pleased with them.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“We Remember It as Being Better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

It had been a while since we last visited the Jade Palace, and were in the mood for something different. We ordered the Kung Pao Chicken and the Szechuan Garlic Chicken with brown rice. The food was out within 10 minutes and the ingredients used were clearly fresh. The flavor was good, but nothing outstanding.

The service was fairly attentive with some gaps...We had to wait too long for our check. Most Chinese restaurants provide an "amuse-bouche", usually some crispy fried wontons with dipping sauce to nosh on while you wait for your food to arrive. Unfortunately the Jade Palace does not offer this. Not a big deal but noticeable especially given their prices.

We will probably return at some point, but there are so many other options out there it will be a while.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
373 reviews 373 reviews
225 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 153 cities Reviews in 153 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
“Very good Chinese food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013 via mobile

We have eaten here few times and always have been served very good food. The service was good this time except I would say a little hurried, they wanted to clear the plates before my wife was done eating. Overall an excellent restaurant

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jade Palace Chinese Restaurant also viewed

Scottsdale, Central Arizona
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 

Been to Jade Palace Chinese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jade Palace Chinese Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.