We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Southwest Wildlife Conservation Center

Southwest Wildlife Conservation Center
27026 N. 156th Street, Scottsdale, AZ
(480) 471-3621
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 92 attractions in Scottsdale
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas
Attraction Details
Hudson, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Fantastic experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

We went here while visiting family in Scottsdale. It was great! Very knowledgeable guides, small groups. We got a closeup view of all of the animals we were hoping to see. We even got to hear the very rare Mexican wolves howl. This is not a zoo. It is a small refuge for animal rehabilitation. Highly recommended if you want a personal tour to see animals of the area up close and you like the fact that the tour fee/donation goes to help feed and care for the animals.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    2
    1
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“WOW”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

I am a Scottsdale,AZ resident and I had visitors in town looking for a unique opportunity to see some of the wildlife in our area. I took them to Southwest Wildlife Conservation Center and not only was I amazed, but my visitors were as well.

We saw just about every animal that we had hoped to see. Mountain Lions, Bobcats, Javalina, Bears, Wolves, Birds, Coyotes, etc..

The staff there was amazing. Our tour guide was very knowledgable and helpful.

I would highly recommend visiting Southwest Wildlife whether you live in the Phoenix area or are visiting.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmer, MA
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Excellent closeup view of the nature sanctuary”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We had a tour here - about 30 were on the tour, split into two groups. They rescue & rehabilitate many animals, and release about 70% of them back to the wild.
The facilities are fairly sparse, with a picnic pavilion, small gift shop, and a porta-potty, but the tour is great. We saw coyotes, raccoons, bobcats, mule deer, bears, mountain lions and javelinas all up close and personal.
This is not a zoo - so it's not open every day - you must schedule a tour prior to arriving - the cost is $15 per adult - our guided tour lasted about 1-1/2 hours.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, OH
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Well wortht the visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

A 10 acre center for otherwise wild animals, many of whom were kept as pets or injured. Majority but not all are native to the region. It's easy to get to but on the far north end of Scottsale (from 101, north on Pima Rd, to Dynamite, then right to 156TH ST (dirt road), then right to the Center). As far as bathrooms - port-a-john. I did not check "wheelchair accessible" because I don't know their position, but the grounds were all level and I would think a chair or anyone with a walker could get through. Small gift shop. It's on the north side of McDowell Sonoran Preserve as well as an entrance to Pinnacle Peak Park, so plan extra time to visit there if interested. Excellent tourguide & they do great work.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Southwest Wildlife Conservation Center also viewed

Scottsdale, Central Arizona
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 

Been to Southwest Wildlife Conservation Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Southwest Wildlife Conservation Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Southwest Wildlife Conservation Center to your Saves list