We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow! It exceeded our expectations.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bandera

Bandera
3821 N Scottsdale Rd, Scottsdale, AZ 85251-4431 (Downtown Scottsdale)
+1 480-994-3524
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #35 of 963 Restaurants in Scottsdale
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $15
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Downtown Scottsdale
California
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Wow! It exceeded our expectations.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

First, make a reservation! We had a reservation and were seated right away at 7:!5 on a Saturday night. Our server, Amy, was very efficient and gave great recommendations. First, have the margaritas made with fresh limes. So refreshing. We had loupe de mer (a mediterranean sea bass) with almonds and the ribs and chicken combination. This is the best fish I have ever had in a restaurant. We had the banana cream pie for dessert. The drinks and food came out very quickly. All in all, a fabulous meal.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    278
    129
    26
    7
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
“Always good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

Been here many times throught he years. Recently went again and as always the food was excellent. Prime rib is great as well as the center cut filet is quite stellar. Mashed potatoes and grilled artichoke are great. Artichoke is seasonal so may or may not have it. A little pricey but dont let that stop you.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona, United States
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Delicious every time!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Bandera is one of the best places in Old Town, has been for years, consistent, fresh and impeccable service.

Chicken salad and meatloaf were the best; house made margaritas with fresh lime juice were just the best. Even when we haven't made it there in 2-3 years, we come back and the service and food quality is the same greatness it's always been.

We look forward to coming back more often.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
“Better at the bar; mostly better elsewhere in this town”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

This is true at so many Scottsdale restaurants. The service and atmosphere is better at the bar. We never sat at bars until we moved here....

Bandera, like its sister property Houston's, doesn't offer happy hours here. They say they don't have to. True; they're very popular. Still it's part of an over-the-top dose of attitude, and we often avoid them for that (the attitude). While the food is good, the prevailing feeling is 'we don't need any of you.'

Scottsdale is light on national chains unless they're from here; local chains and independents are much friendlier than this place. I choose to support those whenever possible.

Overall, you can do better, unless you prefer servers who look down their noses and act like they're doing you a favor (that remark is not based on one visit but a couple dozen attempts. Their most upscale version, Hillside on Camelback, is nothing like that and I highly recommend it )

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Always great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

The food quality and service is consistently great. I especially like their signature corn bread and roasted chicken. They have an excellent sour mix for their margaritas. I will go there for that reason alone.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bandera also viewed

Scottsdale, Central Arizona
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 

Been to Bandera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bandera, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.