We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always good........” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carlsbad Tavern

Carlsbad Tavern
3313 N Hayden Rd, Scottsdale, AZ 85251-6626
+1 480-970-8164
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #151 of 963 Restaurants in Scottsdale
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Arizona
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Always good........”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

I have dined at this restaurant on several occasions. And, to be completely honest - every visit has been a excellent one. The food is consistantly good as is the service. The menu is vast and there is always something for any palate.
If you're looking for a great dining experience - you can't go wrong at this place!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarlsbadTavern, Owner at Carlsbad Tavern, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you for your continued patronage over the years. As a local, family-run business, we truly appreciate our repeat customers. We're so pleased to hear you have consistently enjoyed our restaurant. We look forward to continuing to serve you in the future.

Andrew Capriola
Owner
Carlsbad Tavern
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    76
    22
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Watch out for low flying bats!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

Had the pleasure to experience the outside cave atmosphere at Carlsbad Tavern. The waterfall and stone surroundings really do make you feel that any time a bat might be flying by. The service was prompt. I had the blue enchiladas. One with chicken the other with rock shrimp. My friend had the burrito. My companion being from LA commented the food very good and authentic Mexican and tex mex.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarlsbadTavern, Owner at Carlsbad Tavern, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you very much for choosing to dine with us on the patio and for choosing to share your review with other TripAdvisor users. We're pleased to hear you enjoyed your enchiladas, the ambiance and the experience in general. We look forward to serving you again soon.

Andrew Capriola
Owner
Carlsbad Tavern
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Amazing all around! So impressed.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Our servers were both great! On top of drink refills and just all around friendly. The food was DELICIOUS! I'm not the biggest Mexican food fan, but this impressed me!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarlsbadTavern, Owner at Carlsbad Tavern, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thanks so much for your rave review! We are pleased to hear you appreciated our New Mexican cuisine, service and ambiance. We look forward to serving you again soon.

Andrew Capriola
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe, Arizona
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“New Mexico menu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Site is unique as name suggests. Large menu of New Mexican dishes (read lots of green chiles); favorite for family celebrations

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarlsbadTavern, Owner at Carlsbad Tavern, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you for your sharing your comments about our New Mexican menu and ability to accommodate larger parties and special gatherings. We appreciate your endorsement and look forward to serving you again soon!

Andrew Capriola
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Unique Atmosphere in Scottsdale”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

I'm getting ready to move to Scottsdale and after househunting asked my realtor where to have Mexican food nearby. She asked if I'd be willing to try New Mexican food instead and steered me to Carlsbad Tavern. We ate outside on a nice evening, enjoying the "caves" and water. My son decided he had to have the habanero hamburger and lived to feel its punishment that night and the following day. I had the crab stuffed poblanos and did much better. This was a great place and I'll definitely be back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarlsbadTavern, Owner at Carlsbad Tavern, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you very much for choosing to dine with us. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your meal on the patio and our New Mexican cuisine. We look forward to continuing to serve you after your move to Scottsdale!

Andrew Capriola
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carlsbad Tavern also viewed

 
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 

Been to Carlsbad Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carlsbad Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.