We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent food and a very cool building!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Los Olivos

Los Olivos
7328 E 2ND St, Scottsdale, AZ 85251-5604 (Downtown Scottsdale)
(480) 946-2256
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #184 of 1,023 Restaurants in Scottsdale
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: Downtown Scottsdale
Durham, North Carolina
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Decent food and a very cool building!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We popped in here for a quick snack and a drink. We didn't order much food, but the price was decent and the margaritas were delicious and cheap at happy hour! The best part was the building. It had a great mix of modern, almost kitchy flair, but also had a sense of history. I read that the building was constructed in the early 1900s which made it even cooler. It was a nice stop to get off our feet after a long day of shopping.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    90
    47
    21
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Owen Sound, Canada
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Typical”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

typical mexican, nothing new about it. it was good, but you can get this type of mexian at 100 other places.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
“Great food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

It was a beautiful day, and we sat outside while enjoying our food. Food and service were very good. I would highly recommend Los Olivos in Old Scottsdale.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“A great traditional Mexican meal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We recently had lunch at Los Olivos and were very pleased. What a wonderful Scottsdale institution that has been a family owned and run restaurant since the 1930's. Very fresh, delicious, and just what we wanted for our Mexican meal. Not touristy at all; seemed to be frequented by locals but close enough to Old Town that visitors like us could find it. Highly recommended if you like traditional Mexican tacos, enchiladas, etc.! Excellent and attentive service as well. We will certainly visit again on our next trip to Scottsdale.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Authentic Mexican Food since 1947”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

It's been about 7 years since I last dined at Los Olivos in downtown Scottsdale. This place has been att he same locate since 1947, which says a lot. I went there tonight with my wife. We made reservations ahead of time, and that was a good thing. The restauant was crowded - always a good sign. We were seated within 5 mintues of arriving. Our waitress had a large table she was serving, but was still able to take time for us. My wife ordered the Pollo a la Queso Crema and I got the Pollo Asado. We also ordered Margaritas. The food was fantastic, as I had remembered it to be. Our waitress was great, but the Margaritas were only so-so, not bad, but nothing to get excited about. If it wasn't for the Margaritas, I would have given 5 stars. It won't stop me from going again.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Los Olivos also viewed

Scottsdale, Central Arizona
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 

Been to Los Olivos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Los Olivos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.