We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DYING to Return!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of George & Son Chinese & Asian Cuisine

George & Son Chinese & Asian Cuisine
11291 E. Via Linda, Scottsdale, AZ
Improve this listing
Ranked #175 of 1,023 Restaurants in Scottsdale
Cuisines: Asian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Sedona
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“DYING to Return!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

My husband and I always bemoan the fact that we have only one good Chinese restaurant and that it is in Sedona. Happily we just found our second one in Scottsdale! What a treasure! Calamari is our litmus test in every restaurant where it is served and this is among THE best that we have ever eaten! The menu choices are not only plentiful but also SO interesting...not at all like the run-of-the-mill that one finds in every Asian restaurant. Now I am dying to try the buffet since ordering JUST two appetizers and one entree didn't satisfy my desire to explore more of the great food choices.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    3
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Arizona
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great dining experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Great food, generous portions, lovely atmosphere and reasonably priced. We have lived in the neighborhood for 3 years and how we missed this place I'll never know. The servers are friendly & attentive and the owner George is a very gracious host.
Check this place out, it is a very good restaurant!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fountain Hills, Arizona
Top Contributor
373 reviews 373 reviews
225 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 168 cities Reviews in 168 cities
201 helpful votes 201 helpful votes
“Excellent Quality; great service; owner is present and personable!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

4 of us dined (2 couples) and shared "family style"... we ordered 4 entrees... chicken, beef, tofu, and a spicy basil... all great! Service was great and attentive. George stopped by and was very friendly and outgoing. the service staff was "hard to understand"... but all smiles and laughing and "made it work" easily. 2 had tea; 2 had sodas; one appetizer.. the crab puffs... we split the bill and it was $30 per couple. We will definitely be back... it's the best Chinese we've had in the Scottsdale/Fountain Hills area since coming here 18 months ago.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Hidden dragon....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

This is outrageous that this restaurant has only one review in Trip advisor!!!!!George, the owner is one of the most restaurateur and operator , i have ever met! he will become your friend in minutes and he has the willingness to excel in his restaurant: the atmosphere is very nice, modern with Asian hints, the food is simply delicious, your classic Chinese, but as well Burmese or south east Asian fares are tasty and well crafted, i repeat "crafted". The cocktail list, the bar selection are very cosmopolitan with wide range of quality liquors and drinks, and his wine list will put to shame many"continental restaurants"...Chateau Lafitte, Silver oak, Phelps, Tignanello, you name it!!!!!!! The prices are moderate for very good traditional Chinese of QUALITY... so if you are an aficionado of Lulu's buffet by the railroad in eastern Arkansas, this place is not for you, but if you like friendly, professional service and food, pay him a visit, he will be happy to meet you, he is just this type of guy!! AWESOME...

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Nice Family Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

Very good service. Very good food, I had snow peas and beef which was excellent. There were several families with children, all well behaved, who seemed to be enjoying the restaurant .

Overall it was a nice dining experience for about $15.00 per person.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed George & Son Chinese & Asian Cuisine also viewed

 
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 

Been to George & Son Chinese & Asian Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage George & Son Chinese & Asian Cuisine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.