We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Going back, again and again!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Habaneros Mexican Grill & Cantina Scottsdale, AZ

Habaneros Mexican Grill & Cantina Scottsdale, AZ
10392 N. Scottsdale Road, Scottsdale, AZ
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #343 of 1,067 Restaurants in Scottsdale
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Scottsdale, Arizona
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Going back, again and again!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

This is one of my favorite new places to eat. The burros are great, and so big that I can get 2 meals out of one. Love the chorizo. Chorizo, bean and cheese burro a favorite. The servers are friendly and the foods comes up fast.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    10
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ferndale, Washington
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Want authentic, Go for it!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We had the fajitas for 2 that had 3 kinds of meat and shrimp. Fantastic. Hot Flour tortillas. Had chips and salsa. Really wanted chunky salsa, but it was not. Could be a 5 if great chunky salsa! Good value and big portions.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Affordable, Great Mexican”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We stopped in here for lunch one day and were pleasantly surprised with the food. The guacamole was very good; it came with two types of salsa and fresh chips and was a steal at just $4! I had a shrimp taco and a fish taco in freshly made hard shells. Yum.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

After a long day of traveling to Scottsdale, it was late, we were tired and hungry. We drove around and found this place and decided to try it. We had excellent margaritas , fajitas and tacos. We loved it so much we ate there again on our 5 day trip even though we were staying at a five star resort with 3 restaurants. The staff was wonderful and the service was attentive but not annoying. This isn't a fancy place and we sat outside since we had our little dog with us. It is in a plaza so you Re sitting in the parking lot when you done out, but that was ok given we couldn't bring the dog into any restaurant. We are frequent visitors to this area and there are a lot of Mexican restaurants in this area, but overall we had a good experience with the food, drink and service. We appreciate great service as well as the food, and this place had both.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur, IL
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Kind of salty”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

This is for the Northsight Blvd location:

I decided to try because of the reviews, and I favor small hole in walls/more authentic over large chains. We're from central Illinois, and were lucky to have a couple of small Mexican family run restaurants--our favorite was sharing a sizzling platter of fajitas.

I read the salsa might be thin, so substituted pico de gallo with the chips. Chips were smothered with salt. maybe we got the top of the pile.

The steak fajita we got was not thinly sliced, kind of salty, and a dearth of onions. I love seared onions.

So, central Illinois has better real Mexican family restaurant than Scottsdale.
In Illinois, they offered a huge margarita glass, and made em strong. and chips/salsa were free.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Habaneros Mexican Grill & Cantina Scottsdale, AZ also viewed

Scottsdale, Central Arizona
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 

Been to Habaneros Mexican Grill & Cantina Scottsdale, AZ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Habaneros Mexican Grill & Cantina Scottsdale, AZ, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.