We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very relaxing....great pools....kids always have a fun time.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Westin Kierland Villas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Westin Kierland Villas to your Saves list
Westin Kierland Villas
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   15620 North Clubgate Drive, Scottsdale, AZ 85254 (Paradise Valley)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Longer Stays= More Saving
Ranked #4 of 78 Hotels in Scottsdale
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
Chicago
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very relaxing....great pools....kids always have a fun time.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2010

We bought a 2 BR lockoff in the Villas and have loved every minute of it. Kids sleep on the sleeper sofa (which should be replaced as they are old and I HATE that bar underneath the mattress), but my kids are small and they don't mind. I also got a rollaway just in case. We use the larger one bedroom side and my inlaws stay in the smaller one bedroom that is attached. I highly recommend requesting the deluxe one bedroom side if you have kids as the smaller 1 BR side has a very small living room and kitchenette. I also ask for a room on the golf course side for peace and quiet as the pool side can be noisy during Spring Break in the morning. Love the deluxe golf cart shuttle service to the resort side where you can use the entire resort facilities, including the pool, lazy river, water slide, restaurants, spa, etc. Or you can walk over to the resort as it is only a 5 minute walk past the golf course. We have been coming here for 5 years and still really enjoy it. The nightly activities are fun too, with smores at the outdoor fireplace, movies, sing alongs, and for the adults, the bar is fun next to the pool! There is a grocery store a block from the villas (Safeway), so you can stock up and save money. Many nice restaurants at the Kierland Commons shopping plaza next door as well as within 5 minutes of the resort.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

949 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    668
    199
    56
    16
    10
See reviews for
383
335
23
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (340)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2010

After staying in the maui villas, we expected the same level of service and same room accommodations. Not what we received. We booked through an owner and they mislead us about the villa we rented. We received the smaller villa with a queen bed and a fold out sofa in the living room. The queen bed was nice, but small for us. The fold out sofa was laughable. Uncomfortable even for a 6 year old. Thankfully we brought a pack and play for our 2 year old to sleep in.

My biggest complaint would be no windows in the living area of the villa. There is a sliding door off of the bedroom. But nothing else. So if the kids are napping and the adults are watching tv, there is no sense of time or sunshine. Very cave like and unimpressive.

If you go during warmer months, the room may not bother you. The pool is fantastic. They have a kiddie pool that is perfect for toddlers. A nice family pool with a water slide and volley ball net. Not a beach entry pool. That one is at the main hotel that is a block away. The adult pool is nice and heater to a higher temperature than the family pool. Lots of chairs to lounge around in.

Overall the stay was nice as long as we weren't in the condo unit. I would go back and request the premium villa over the deluxe one. The premium has double the square footage.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
221 helpful votes 221 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2009

We stayed in the villas about a week ago. I spent $104 per room on Expedia. The price was great but even so, I will probably not return. The "villas" are just very small, uninspired condos. You would be hard pressed to use the living room and fold out couch for anyone other than very small children so if you are traveling with teens you will want 2 villas. The buildings are bland and the furnishings are minimalist. There is nothing that remotely feels southwest. The place felt cold and abandoned. Lots of construction and landscaping noise. We were woken up every morning at 8 am by blowers and mowers. Lots of men in hard hats standing around. The resort pool was closed (something they failed to disclose BTW), so no water slide, no lazy river. I use TA all the time for travel but in my experience this place just really does not measure up to some of the glowing reviews. Perhaps it has really just fell on hard times lately.

Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Onalaska, WI
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2009

We have been here for several years and finally bought a place here (a deluxe one bedroom). Staff is excellent and very friendly. Rooms are great for us and we stayed in Bldg 3 which is not my favorite, due to walking to it. I love the whole Valley area and it is very easy to get around. Due to disability I don't golf but I do like the view of the course and the mountains in the background. Take some day trips around the Valley and enjoy the bldgs and desert area. I really like Fountain Hills and Carefree.
Great restaurants within driving. You don't like the prices around the Scottsdale area go out a little farther and they are fine. We love Mexican and SW food so we went many places and enjoyed them all. Casinos were good too and I would recommend Ft. McDowell over the others.
The Kierland Villas is the only 4 Star AAA condo resort in the Westin Chain if not the entire condo industry. It shows it. We have traveled to several other Sheraton, Westin,
and II resorts in several countries and we are glad this is our home resort.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa OK
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2009

Westin knows how to do vacation right and this resort is no exception. The Villas are spacious and very well equipped. The grounds are immaculate and staff is responsive to every need. Plenty of activites to keep adults and children occupied, fabulous restaurants on site and plenty of shopping near to not only stock the kitchen, but boost the local economy. This location is convenient to access roads and a multitude of day trips to local sites. Altho' if you wanted to merely sack out on a lounge chair all day that's perfect too- they have reservable cabanas, comfy lounges and a poolside bar & grill and two pool areas- one for the kids and the other for the more sedate. Mid afternoon ice water carafes are provided the those still on bake. The golf courses are top shelf. The atmosphere is elegant. It's PERFECT!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2009

This is a nice Interval Timeshare Resort. It was rated high but we didn't feel it was 5 star quality like they said it was. I would give it a 3, maybe 4. We had a 1 bedroom villa. It was really just a glorified hotel room. Could use a good carpet cleaning and paint job.
We went to Trader Joe's and bought food for breakfasts and lunches. Careful to not buy too much, as the refrigerator in room is very small with a tiny freezer.
If you aren't going to stay in the room much, then it's okay. The days at the pool were nice with great staff.

Pros - Nice Pools, They didn't hound you about listening to the sales pitches, good food and service at poolside restaurant, beautiful grounds, quiet, great location.

Cons - Couch in living room very uncomfortable to sit on, so had to lay in bed to watch any TV, bedding was soft but didn't quiet fit the bed and kept coming un-tucked, carpet needed cleaning as well as an overall deep cleaning of the room, very small shower (in tub style) which was very hard to get in and out of.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2009

Stayed just one night, the villas are very well appointed, with a terrace overlooking the gorgeous golf course. If you're staying for a week or more, the villas are the way to go—they have kitchens and washer/dryer, if just for a night or three, stay in the hotel, it is nicer and more convenient in all respects. Tip: golf rates are much cheaper in the afternoon—if you can bear the heat it is worth doing a late tee off.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Westin Kierland Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Kierland Villas

Address: 15620 North Clubgate Drive, Scottsdale, AZ 85254
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale > Paradise Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Scottsdale
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Scottsdale
#3 Spa Hotel in Scottsdale
#3 Luxury Hotel in Scottsdale
#4 Family Hotel in Scottsdale
#7 Green Hotel in Scottsdale
#18 Business Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Kierland Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 298
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Starwood, Expedia, Orbitz, Despegar.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Westin Kierland Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Kierland Villas Hotel Scottsdale
Westin Kierland Hotel
Westin Scottsdale
Scottsdale Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westin Kierland Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.