We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Starfire Golf Club at Scottsdale Country Club

Starfire Golf Club at Scottsdale Country Club
11500 N. Hayden, Scottsdale, AZ 85260
480-948-6000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #60 of 121 Activities in Scottsdale
Type: Golf Courses, Sports
Activities: Golfing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: An older course near midtown Scottsdale with reasonable prices.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Played here twice last week. Great layout, pretty to handle even for a beginner like me. Fantastic customer service from cart guys to bartenders. Prices in September absolutely incredible, $19 for 18 holes after 10am, food in clubhouse great, inexpensive and tasty.
We will be back next year.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    15
    9
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Gig Harbor, Washington
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great greens, friendly staff and active marshals”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We golfed twice in one week (used GolfNow for reservations) -- while they dont have a driving range, the course was pretty good (a few brown spots) and the greens were great. We played early (before 7 am) both times to beat the heat and to play quickly (<4 hours). We appreciated that the marshal was quite active (and appropriate) in pushing slower groups.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, Washington
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Great course at affordable rates”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

I usually play this course whenever I am visiting Scottsdale (2-3 times a year). It is always kept up pretty well but what continues to bring me back is the great value. When other courses are charging over $200 Starfire's rate was $65 on a Sat prime time. The staff here is awesome and have always treated me like well.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Course not great but made worst by some staff”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Arrived at course with tee time 7:50 am. Bag drop and pro shop staff very nice and helped us along our way. Made our way to starter who gave us the low down on the day and stressed that slow play was unacceptable at Starfire and for us to keep up with group in front at all times.... Bearing in mind we were playing in a two ball and no one had tee'd off in the last 40 mins we thought time would not be an issue. We are from Scotland and walk our courses usually completing a round in about 3-1/2---4 hrs max. All the holes at this course are situated in and around a housing complex which was different but as we only paid $49 each we weren't' going to complain. As we reached the 5th tee we had to wait for the four ball of elder gents in front to play their second shots. They then took another 4 or 5 shots each to reach the green and it was here it clicked why we had caught up with them. No problem though we all play to different standards and enjoy our game at different pace's. We eventually got to the green and noticed a 3 ball behind us on the fairway and another 4 ball waiting on the tee. As we drove to the next tee( green to tee's very long distances apart) the gents had just tee'd off and refused to let us play through..... This continued and very quickly the whole course backed up behind us and as we passed the starter on the ninth I stopped and complained about the gents and the slow play. He sat in his buggy and looked away saying " you are only a two ball what do you expect " I then told him the whole course was backing up due to this. He replied " you should have booked an earlier tee time and so should the ones behind "
Eventually we " politely pushed" through but never again!
To sum up course nothing great, pro shop staff nice, course starter/Marshall shocking.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, Arizona
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Far good track”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Looks great from the road - but not overwhelmingly nice once on the course. Not a bad day - just not worth what they ask for $.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Starfire Golf Club at Scottsdale Country Club also viewed

Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 

Been to Starfire Golf Club at Scottsdale Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Starfire Golf Club at Scottsdale Country Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.