We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An awesome getaway!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Scottsdale Resort & Athletic Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Scottsdale Resort & Athletic Club to your Saves list
Scottsdale Resort & Athletic Club
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   8235 E. Indian Bend Road, Scottsdale, AZ 85250   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #65 of 78 Hotels in Scottsdale
new mexico
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“An awesome getaway!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

We had an absolutely wonderful time at this resort. Upon check-in we were greeted with friendly and helpful staff and all went quickly and smoothly. We had a one bedroom villa that was very nice, a very well appointed room. We asked for a crib ahead of time, and it was in the room before we got there.
We had a great package which included dining/spa credit and wine and all of this was explained to us at check in and it was simple to figure out. The restaurant was nice...we were there on Friday and Saturday so there was live entertainment. The food was good, service was good as well. The menu wasn't extensive, but we all found something good to eat. It was an older crown, but they absolutely LOVED our kids who are 3 and 7 months. Everyone was extremely friendly. The second night the singer invited my 3 year old daughter onto the stage to sing. It was so much fun for her!!!!
The pool area looked beautiful, unfortunately we were unable to use it because of rain. That's how it goes :-(

It was a great little getaway for our family and a really good experience for us at this resort. I'm sure there is much more to take advantage of here, but we went out and did things around the area. No complaints at all!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    42
    17
    17
    22
See reviews for
29
58
12
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Room needs an upgrade - out of date decor and thin walls, pillows were so uncomfortably overstuffed that we literally went shopping to buy our own (management said they had no other pillows). Room with free continental breakfast is dark, sparse and unpleasant - limited food choose and no view to make one feel like a prisoner.

Staff is friendly enough, though i had a frustrating experience: left toiletry bag with medicines in room and had to call 3 days in a row to finally get them to admit they had found it. Hotel agreed to send by overnight delivery, but did not. Daily calls continue and they said they would "try" to send it soon.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Got a great deal on the room rate. However, was a little disappointed that it wasn't as up to date as we hoped (old tube TV, etc.) But it was very clean. Also a little disappointed that the heater in the pool was broken - the water was so frigid you couldn't swim in it! The biggest and best perk was the athletic club. So 5 stars for the athletic club, 2 1/2 for the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This place has been reviewed quite a bit, so here's the highlights of our 2nd trip to the Scottsdale Resort & Athletic Club.

We were soooo looking forward to a weekend in Scottsdale. I had just been in a car accident two days prior (not bad), but was awaiting a nice evening in the jacuzzi tub, by the pool, with an equivalent experience to our last visit. Our last visit was nothing short of amazing.

We were so disappointed this time, we will not be back. Check the photos I posted.

We arrived 1 hour early to a completely empty hotel. We counted 8 cars in the entire complex. No one at the pool. We were told our room was not ready for an "early check-in" due to it being cleaned. (Lie #1) We said fine, and went down the road for a bit of shopping, came back to a 10 minute wait while our information was being processed. (We booked through their website.) We finally were given the keys to our room.

We booked a Deluxe Villa, which is only 1 room downgrade from the presidential suite. First attempt they put us in a standard room. It smelled weird, like a powerful cleaning agent. The toilet was making a horrible screeching noise when flushing, and the room was small (Room 208A). So I decided to go find out what the deal was. I asked if there were any other rooms available, they said no, we're completely full. (Lie #2) There were no people anywhere! They said I could upgrade for an additional $40. I said, "To what? A presidential suite? We're only one room off." So she double checked and sure enough... she had given us the wrong room.

They commenced to give us the keys to a new room (139A) in fully booked hotel. We said we'd go look first. When we entered the room, it had no shower, the bottom of the sink was missing, and the refrigerator was wide open, and no AC on...in Phoenix. I immediately went back and said, "Nope, strike two!" We were still being incredibly nice and patient. Front desk apologized again and said, "I'm sorry, that was an accessible room only... I'm new and I don't understand all the rooms yet." Fair enough... We're escorted to our 3rd room, two doors down at 140A.

Finally... the room we picked... sort of. We said, ok just to get in finally. We had to go get our bags and cooler out of the other room and bring them down ourselves. No offer to help.

Once we got into the room we unpacked the cooler full of food we brought first. Refrigerator NOT WORKING. So the same guy who came up to fix the toilet in the other room came down to flip the breaker. Said it would take a couple of hours to get cool.

First thing I noticed was the little lamp in the entryway...plugged into the wall, with no lamp-shade, and NO BULB! Just waiting for some kid to stick his finger in. The the giant cockroach I smashed on the floor beside the dining room table; which I left there for them to find later. Then we turned the lights on. OMG! We saw the couch. Spots and stains all over it... So gross, I wouldn't even sit on it. Carpet was all turned up with bumps and ripples large enough to trip on. Master bedroom had no bedding and two pillows. No dishes on the table, no wine glasses, and no soaps in the shower.

Upon a more careful inspection... the remote control was so gross, we wouldn't touch that either. Light switches had grime on them, tub had grime and dirt in it, corners of sink in the bathroom had grime and hair. Then we checked the cupboards. All the glasses had grime and much in the bottom of each one, all the plates were dirty, and there was no dish rag or sponge to clean anything! Lifted up to toilet seat to see the underside... wow! Called about the internet password, resort said there was no internet due to a power outage (lie #3) the night before. Because I'm a computer I.T. guy, I knew the net wasn't down, I could see it!

We were so grossed out that we almost left the place. If the bed hadn't had clean sheets, we would have been out of there... and I can't even be positive about that.

3 rooms, all three dingy and gross. Breakfast was stale and gross.

What we did ENJOY, was the jacuzzi and pool.

We told management about everything, and filled out a comment card. We stay in Scottsdale and Phoenix at least twice a month. These guys offered no accommodation, nothing. This was not a discounted rate either, we paid a full price for this room, received garbage in return. We will never come back unless they call us personally and comp us a room.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GB
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Stayed here for a long break to celebrate a special birthday. Totally agree with previous review stating Michelle on reception is a star, she was awesome, great welcome, saw to it that the one issue we had (a light in the bathroom) was fixed quickly. Had real confidence that she cared that our stay was a great one. The one bedroom Villa is really great - spacious with everything you need, housekeeping staff were really thorough and friendly. I would say that the shower in the bathroom needs upgrading, as it did trickle and couldn't be adjusted which was frustrating, yet the tub was there to use. The OC Restaurant had the same feel - great staff, lovely food and fabulous atmosphere. The fitness centre offered all we wanted it to (largely why we chose to stay here) enough of everything for anybody who enjoys working out. Initially I thought the pool area was quite small, yet we enjoyed a couple of days without it ever getting too busy, on some days being the only people there!. We would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool offer a lovely view - The villas are great too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

This hotel is perfect for families. The suites are huge and well appointed. The pool was steps from our patio. It was quiet and well maintained. My kids loved it. The gym and the tennis center is super. The only thing lacking was the continental breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge, Canada
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012 via mobile

We had a 2 family trip to this hotel. Our rooms were side by side ground floor looking out on the pool. They were spacious, clean and modern. They had everything stocked that we needed (except a wine crank) . They were wonderful! The resort is off a major street kind of hidden, but its a gem! I would go back anytime! The kids and adults loved the pool. The angle of it allows for shade at parts all day, there are also many toys, floatys ect provided. I have to say we were 2 of 3 families we saw in the pool for the 10days we were there, odd because its an awesome hotel, great for us! The tennis courts are outside and you need to make an apt, but worth it. The free breakfast wasn't healthy enough for me;So I walked to albertsons (5min)!
On that note there was a good sushi place as well as CRUST an AWESOME italian restaurant on the same mini mall as the albertsons. Between the restaurants and the grocery store we barely left the resort,it was sooooo relaxing. The staff at the resort are great - I had a couple technological issues, they responded within 5 minutes!
My kids neice and nephew are between 1-9yr old. We love this place it was an amazing value and really nicely located. We just had a really really nice time. Lastly I hate to say this but we also ate at a mexican restaurant close to the metioned mini mall, I can't find its name but WOW it was great!

Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Scottsdale Resort & Athletic Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scottsdale Resort & Athletic Club

Address: 8235 E. Indian Bend Road, Scottsdale, AZ 85250
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in Scottsdale
#24 Top resorts Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scottsdale Resort & Athletic Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family-owned and operated, Scottsdale Resort & Athletic Club is a private haven located in the heart of Scottsdale. This intimate, casual resort offers Guest Rooms, oversize Suites and One, Two and Three-Bedroom Villas and Presidential Suites. The property features world class tennis, discounted greens fees on adjacent Silverado Golf Course, and a private Athletic Club with 11 tennis courts, 2 pools, 2 levels of fitness studios, (such as Yoga, Pilates, Spinning, Nia, and Zumba) and the OC SEVEN Restaurant & Bar. Daily events such as tennis socials, fitness seminars and wine-tastings will complete your unique resort experience. The award-winning Eurasia spa features massage, body and facial therapies in a serene surrounding, offering a Japanese Soaking Tub room, Vichy Rain shower, and couples treatment suite with private courtyard. The Resort staff will develop your own customized package, or choose from packages including tennis, golf, spa, wellness, outdoor adventure, family vacation, arts & culture. The Resort offers complimentary Wi-fi, and NO Resort fees! Enjoy the comfort of our spacious suites, experience the calming intimacy of our award-winning spa, join the action on our tennis courts or in our fitness center, relax in the comfort of our library, and enjoy our delicious and healthy cuisine at OC SEVEN Restaurant & Bar. You may spend an hour or two with us, or an entire day. Your home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Scottsdale Resort & Athletic Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scottsdale Resort Club Hotel Scottsdale
Scottsdale Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scottsdale Resort & Athletic Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.