We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love it....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Scottsdale Resort & Athletic Club

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Scottsdale Resort & Athletic Club to your Saves list
Scottsdale Resort & Athletic Club
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   8235 E. Indian Bend Road, Scottsdale, AZ 85250   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #66 of 78 Hotels in Scottsdale
GB
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Love it....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Stayed here for a long break to celebrate a special birthday. Totally agree with previous review stating Michelle on reception is a star, she was awesome, great welcome, saw to it that the one issue we had (a light in the bathroom) was fixed quickly. Had real confidence that she cared that our stay was a great one. The one bedroom Villa is really great - spacious with everything you need, housekeeping staff were really thorough and friendly. I would say that the shower in the bathroom needs upgrading, as it did trickle and couldn't be adjusted which was frustrating, yet the tub was there to use. The OC Restaurant had the same feel - great staff, lovely food and fabulous atmosphere. The fitness centre offered all we wanted it to (largely why we chose to stay here) enough of everything for anybody who enjoys working out. Initially I thought the pool area was quite small, yet we enjoyed a couple of days without it ever getting too busy, on some days being the only people there!. We would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool offer a lovely view - The villas are great too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    44
    19
    18
    22
See reviews for
34
59
12
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

This hotel is perfect for families. The suites are huge and well appointed. The pool was steps from our patio. It was quiet and well maintained. My kids loved it. The gym and the tennis center is super. The only thing lacking was the continental breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge, Canada
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012 via mobile

We had a 2 family trip to this hotel. Our rooms were side by side ground floor looking out on the pool. They were spacious, clean and modern. They had everything stocked that we needed (except a wine crank) . They were wonderful! The resort is off a major street kind of hidden, but its a gem! I would go back anytime! The kids and adults loved the pool. The angle of it allows for shade at parts all day, there are also many toys, floatys ect provided. I have to say we were 2 of 3 families we saw in the pool for the 10days we were there, odd because its an awesome hotel, great for us! The tennis courts are outside and you need to make an apt, but worth it. The free breakfast wasn't healthy enough for me;So I walked to albertsons (5min)!
On that note there was a good sushi place as well as CRUST an AWESOME italian restaurant on the same mini mall as the albertsons. Between the restaurants and the grocery store we barely left the resort,it was sooooo relaxing. The staff at the resort are great - I had a couple technological issues, they responded within 5 minutes!
My kids neice and nephew are between 1-9yr old. We love this place it was an amazing value and really nicely located. We just had a really really nice time. Lastly I hate to say this but we also ate at a mexican restaurant close to the metioned mini mall, I can't find its name but WOW it was great!

Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

Stayed for a few days for a mid-week getaway before Phoenix hit the record triple digit heat right before summer started. Excellent value for the room. Parked right outside our door. Friendly staff, great service -- prompt response to any request. Michelle at the front desk is awesome. Large rooms -- the one bedroom villa is fantastic -- large living space, fireplace, kitchen and the bathroom is large with a good size shower and a separate spa tub with jets that are very soothing. Dishes for the kitchen along with utensils, mixing bowls, cheese grater, etc. and a full size refrigerator. Everything to stay in and make a meal. Separate dining room with dining table and a bar counter to eat in facing the kitchen. The carpet and bathroom were immaculately clean and very quiet even though we had a room by the pool. Fantastically comfortable beds along with an awesome spa and athletic center. Hey, they have very nice tennis courts and bbqs. Also the breakfast area is kept clean and orderly. Usual stuff, oatmeal, juice, bagels and cold cereal. I would suggest they get some fresh fruit which would have been nice to have. The initial impression was awesome. Then the little things distracted from a great stay. It almost had me thinking wow for a moment.

First night check in sat at the dining table and then turned in so it was not until the next day we discovered that a couple of the couch cushions had stains all of them that looked as milk was spilled then the maid had tried to clean it yet it looked as if though someone tried to remove the stains yet could not completely remove the stains from the cushions. We let the maid know and she said she had tried to clean the stain sand that was the best she could do. Honestly, the resort should do simple upholstery cleaning which should fix up the couch pretty nicely. We just sat on the one side that wasn't stained or in a chair which was clean. Upon going in to shower, noticed complimentary bathrobes are placed in the bathroom for guests use. Nice touch like the fancy chains -- such as the Hilton or the Four Seasons. However, the belt on the robe had a blue tint on it. We informed the housekeeper and she replaced it with a belt that a little bit less of a tint -- looked as if ink or perhaps paint had been removed although it was not as dark as had been on the first belt. Not a big issue but such a simple detail could have been remedied easily had it been checked before putting in the room. The iron board and iron were simply filthy. I wanted to lightly touch up a shirt yet the iron board cover had stains all over it and the iron had stains over the bottom. I cleaned the iron myself with a bit of vinegar and baking soda and put a towel down over the cover. Now granted the previous occupant could have messed up the iron and board -- yet I felt the cleaning staff should have checked the board and replaced it before we arrived. The refrigerator did not get cold at the setting it was on which was 7 and we had to turn it up all the way to 9 (the coldest setting) to just get a decent temperature. Also there was virtually no water pressure for the shower. It actually was more of a sprinkling just like running a small garden hose -- though I rinsed off after standing in there long enough. The inattention to the finer details were small and noted when I mentioned it to the staff yet I kept thinking that for a resort with a wonderful restaurant -- we highly recommend the OC, wonderful room service, beautiful pool and landscaping with a spa and fitness center that are world class, there should be more attention paid to the hotel rooms for the details that finish a room and leave a lasting impression.

I would stay again should I be able to get the same deal – there was no resort fee. The resort needs to work on having a clean couch, better water pressure (tub was relaxing though) and oh being not so stingy with the soap. Asked the maid when she came in one morning for another bar as the one I used got down rather small after washing hands and a showering with it for two people. She said she would bring it the next day since she wanted to see the soap smaller before giving another one. True she did bring it the next day don't know though why we couldn't have had the soap the morning I told her about it. The round bar is pretty small. Fine tuning will make the hotel a favorite for me. The service is great now they just need to make sure the rooms have the finishing touches.

Room Tip: Was told that higher floors had a better view and were brighter. Room we had was pretty bright on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

The resort is relatively small but has a very nice tennis facility and work out room. It is a little dated but clean.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott, Arizona
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

We stayed here for two nights during a medical visit to Phoenix. The room was very comfortable with two big queen beds, large closet, free internet, and a nicely split marble bathroom. The pool area was nice, but nothing spectacular. The casual restaurant on site was attractive and had good food. There is a spa and a high end restaurant which we did not use. We did have some rather inconsiderate noisy neighbors shouting in the hallway during the wee hours, but otherwise our visit was quite pleasant. Traveling in May got us a very good rate. Be advised there is a 'resort fee' of $17 per night attached above the room rate.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

Loved this place. Since there was a big group of us, we stayed in a suite. The common areas were comfortable and the kitchen had everything we needed. It was the end of our vacation, so we were ready to skip the restaurants and cook a real meal. The staff was helpful, and there were bbq's on the property. During the day, we sat by the pool - which was beautiful, quiet and well-maintained. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Scottsdale Resort & Athletic Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scottsdale Resort & Athletic Club

Address: 8235 E. Indian Bend Road, Scottsdale, AZ 85250
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Scottsdale
#23 Top resorts Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scottsdale Resort & Athletic Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family-owned and operated, Scottsdale Resort & Athletic Club is a private haven located in the heart of Scottsdale. This intimate, casual resort offers Guest Rooms, oversize Suites and One, Two and Three-Bedroom Villas and Presidential Suites. The property features world class tennis, discounted greens fees on adjacent Silverado Golf Course, and a private Athletic Club with 11 tennis courts, 2 pools, 2 levels of fitness studios, (such as Yoga, Pilates, Spinning, Nia, and Zumba) and the OC SEVEN Restaurant & Bar. Daily events such as tennis socials, fitness seminars and wine-tastings will complete your unique resort experience. The award-winning Eurasia spa features massage, body and facial therapies in a serene surrounding, offering a Japanese Soaking Tub room, Vichy Rain shower, and couples treatment suite with private courtyard. The Resort staff will develop your own customized package, or choose from packages including tennis, golf, spa, wellness, outdoor adventure, family vacation, arts & culture. The Resort offers complimentary Wi-fi, and NO Resort fees! Enjoy the comfort of our spacious suites, experience the calming intimacy of our award-winning spa, join the action on our tennis courts or in our fitness center, relax in the comfort of our library, and enjoy our delicious and healthy cuisine at OC SEVEN Restaurant & Bar. You may spend an hour or two with us, or an entire day. Your home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Scottsdale Resort & Athletic Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scottsdale Resort Club Hotel Scottsdale
Scottsdale Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scottsdale Resort & Athletic Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.