We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“reviews were right” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Scottsdale - Old Town

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Scottsdale - Old Town to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Scottsdale - Old Town
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3131 North Scottsdale Road, Scottsdale, AZ 85251   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #5 of 78 Hotels in Scottsdale
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“reviews were right”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

i only chose this hotel because of its excellent reviews, and was not disappointed
staff were fantastic the pool area was great and free breakfast and parking a must .

only down side our room was not facing the pool but road with no ability to open windows
the 3 levels,you either are facing the road and parking or you are on the best facing the pool with a bacony
table . so PLEASE ask which side you are facing if its the carpark or road ask for rooms with pool views
this is not really a kids fun park so remember for kids it is limited

Room Tip: ask for rooms facing pool area but not ground floor 2 or 3 these rooms have a bacony
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Scottsdale - Old Town, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
It is fantastic to hear that your stay was enjoyable! We thank you for your compliments regarding our pool and ample breakfast, but more importantly our staff. Our associates strive to provide exceptional guest experiences; I will be sure to share your kind feedback. I appreciate you taking the time to write.

Best,
Trisha Ryno, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    283
    178
    23
    8
    9
See reviews for
123
177
39
60
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Stayed for one night at the hotel. The room was a good size with good facilities, The breakfast was basic but good esp. as it was free. The swimming pool area is very clean and pleasant. Hotel is located a very short drive or approx. 15 min walk from downtown Scottsdale in a safe area. Recommended

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Scottsdale - Old Town, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear ErinBUk,

Thank you for your kind review! We’re pleased to hear our spacious rooms, amenities and convenient location made for an enjoyable stay; I look forward to sharing your feedback with the team. It was a pleasure to host you. Please plan to visit us again the next time you travel to the area.

Best,
Trisha Ryno, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Our family of 4, two adults and two teens,stayed here for a total of 3 nights. The room set up was great, with a sitting room with pullout sofa, frig, microwave and desk. We loved the pool with waterfalls, happy hour every eve but Sunday,milk and cookies in the evening, generous breakfast buffet. The fitness room was clean, quiet,and barely used. the staff were all friendly and incredibly helpful, to our children and to us...we felt like we were getting Band B level care with the privacy of a bigger hotel. We would happily return!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Scottsdale - Old Town, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear Margaret,

We're happy to hear from you, and we're glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. It's great to learn that you enjoyed our spacious room, pool and ample breakfast in addition to our helpful staff. A return visit is the best compliment; please plan to visit us again the next time you travel to the area!

Best,
Trisha Ryno, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

My husband and two children (ages 13 and 18) stayed here for three nights in late June and were very impressed. The front desk staff couldn't have been nicer or more helpful and the included breakfast and happy hour every day were great. The property is very well-maintained and clean. The pool is excellent. The location is perfect and the hotel shuttle will take you anywhere you need to go within a 3-mile radius, which is convenient if you're without a car, like we were. We took the shuttle into Old Scottsdale twice and it was a very fast trip. I also liked the different flavors of fruit water available in the lobby _ lovely when it's 108 degrees outside!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Scottsdale - Old Town, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear Julie,

Our staff makes sincere hospitality their priority. Reflections like yours give us areas to improve our guest experience, as well as talking points to commend our staff. I’m thrilled to learn you enjoyed our pool, breakfast and friendly staff in addition to our convenient location. Thank for taking the time to review your experience and we hope to see you again.

Best,
Trisha Ryno, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

My husband and I booked this hotel during our stay in scottsdale to go to the mayo clinic. We obviously had other choices that were much closer but since we've stayed here before we decided the drive was worth it. We came just in time for happy hour! Complimentary Bud Light and Amber Bock were on tap and an assortment of wine was also available. They also had milk and cookies toward the end of the night! How cool is that!? The room was very clean, i'm a bit of a clean freak and was so grateful that everything from the lobby, and pool were clean. Breakfast was not just bagels and muffins. They had a full breakfast, which is great if you eat healthy, Eggs, toast, cereal, pastries, protein options, juice, coffee. All this sounds pretty standard but it really is the little things that make your stay so much more enjoyable.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Scottsdale - Old Town, responded to this review, June 15, 2014
S_Moncayo,
We appreciate your review and return visit to Holiday Inn Express Scottsdale. We know you have many choices when traveling to Scottsdale area and we thank you for choosing our hotel. I'm delighted to hear that the level of cleanliness, comfort and service you experienced made for an enjoyable stay. We hope you'll visit us again in the future! Thank you again for writing.

Kind regards,
Trisha Ryno, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

I was there this past weekend for buissness and WOW what a clean nice hotel......staff was super nice quite and friendly I asked for a ride into oldtown and they dropped what they were doing to help me out.. Will stay again

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Scottsdale - Old Town, responded to this review, June 15, 2014
BBMORR,
Thank you for choosing Holiday Inn Express Scottsdale while traveling on business. We appreciate your compliments regarding our clean hotel and friendly staff. Our team takes great pride in the level of service they provide. We look forward to extending our hospitality to you again in the future. Thank you again for your review!

Kind regards,
Trisha Ryno, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

This hotel is in a great location right off the freeway and near many attractions. When you first walk in, everything seems as expected based on reviews. Lobby is nice and modern looking. But...when you get into your room, it's another story. Furniture is a bit dated. Beds squeak like they're gonna fall apart. Rooms just have an old feel to them. And don't even bother spending the extra money for the balcony view of the pool. The super old school sliding doors to the balcony...ha! What a joke.

Nevertheless, the hotel is kept clean. Just feel a little duped as I was expecting a more modern updated room as the hotel pictures show. Once up close, the furniture shows its wear and tear.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Scottsdale - Old Town, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Ms_L0ve2Travel,
Thank you for your review. We appreciate hearing from you and sincerely apologize that our accommodations failed to meet your expectations. Our goal is to deliver the best possible guest experience and we hope you'll give us another opportunity in the future. Thank you again for your feedback.

Kind regards,
Trisha Ryno, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Scottsdale - Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Scottsdale - Old Town

Address: 3131 North Scottsdale Road, Scottsdale, AZ 85251
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Scottsdale
#9 Romantic Hotel in Scottsdale
#10 Business Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Scottsdale - Old Town 2.5*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You are invited to Stay Smart & enjoy resort style amenities beyond your expectations at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Scottsdale. Whether you are coming in on business or just to get away, this hotel in Scottsdale is a great location for shopping, fine dining, entertainment, night life,and much more! You will find yourself impressed with our award winning service, convenient location, and spacious suites featuring our Stay Smart bedding collection and showerheads, microwaves, refrigerators, pay-per-view movies, expanded cable with HBO and pull out sofas in each of guest suites. Our complimentary shuttle service will take you to and from Sky Harbor Airport and within a three mile radius of the hotel runs from 7am to 10pm daily(based on availability) to get you where you need to go. Your stay includes free high speed wireless Internet, free deluxe continental buffet breakfast, a free managers reception each evening, an outdoor heated pool and spa, business center, and fitness center. Some of the many nearby attractions include: Old Town Scottsdale, San Francisco Giants and Oakland A's Spring Training Facilities, Scottsdale Fashion Square Mall, ASU Sun Devil Stadium, Downtown Tempe Mill Avenue, Phoenix Zoo, Desert Botanical Gardens, and Scottsdale Osborn Heathcare. Just to the north of us is WestWorld, home of the Arabian Horse Show, Arizona Bike Week and the Barrett Jackson Classic Car Auction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Scottsdale - Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel Scottsdale
Holiday Inn Express Scottsdale
Holiday Inn Scottsdale

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Scottsdale - Old Town, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.