We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Scottsdale - Old Town to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Scottsdale - Old Town
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3131 North Scottsdale Road, Scottsdale, AZ 85251   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #5 of 78 Hotels in Scottsdale
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Would stay again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

We chose the hotel for location and price. We were pleasantly surprised with the total quality of the hotel. Service was top notch, breakfast was excellent, and the free happy hour was a bonus. This was not only an excellent hotel, it was as well a great value. Very pleased!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Scottsdale - Old Town, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Kitandmarie,
We're happy to have had you as our guest, and we thank you for writing a review regarding your experience at Holiday Inn Express Scottsdale. I'm pleased to hear we exceeded your expectations with our high quality standards of service and amenities. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you back again soon. Thanks again.

Best regards,
Trisha Ryno, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

558 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    314
    198
    29
    8
    9
See reviews for
139
201
43
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Enfield, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

I was traveling alone this time and the room I got was wonderful. Upon arriving, I was greeted with smiles and asked to have a room on the 3rd floor which they happily accommodated. Check in was quick and they were always happy to give me directions to anyplace I asked. The staff always seem to be happy, laughing with one another and making the guests feel like they were 'at home'. The room was very clean and each day was all made up before noon. I have stayed at other hotels where I would come back at 5pm only to find the room still not made up. Not the case here. Their housekeeping staff was right on it early. I loved having the hot breakfast each morning and the kitchen staff was always busy cleaning off tables and making sure the food was replenished. Always smiling and saying hello as they worked. The rooms are fabulous as they are suites. Separate room with a sofa and second tv. Nice for those lazy mornings where I wanted to just sit, have some coffee early (before the breakfast room opened) and read my paper while watching local news. Nice to have a fridge and microwave in the room. When staying or 6 nights like I did, it was handy to have that for keeping my water cold and heating up leftover food brought home from a restaurant. Overall this is a great place to stay especially if staying longer than one night. I will be returning with my husband again in the future for a joint vacation and Holiday Day Inn Express Old Town will be the place with no doubt.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room like I had, 3rd floor over the parking lot is best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Scottsdale - Old Town, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Debj61,
Thank you for sharing feedback from your stay with at Holiday Inn Scottsdale. Nothing gives us greater satisfaction than to receive recognition from our guests on the excellent service provided during your stay. I'm delighted to hear that our staff added the extra comforts of home that made for an enjoyable stay. We look forward to your next visit and vacation with us at Holiday Inn Scottsdale. Thank you once again for writing.

Best regards,
Trisha Ryno, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Canton, Ohio
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Again, my husband and I stayed here for 8 nights (just like last year) while he played in a baseball tournament in and around Phoenix. They put us on the third floor which was greatly appreciated. This made our visit very quiet because there was no one above us and we looked over the parking lot, not the pool. The breakfast was as good as last year and so was the cleanliness of the eating area. We love the 24/7 coffee and tea bar. And if the coffee is lukewarm, tell them at the desk and they will make a fresh pot. We missed the ice tea and lemonade in the lobby during the day. It has been replaced by cold water with lemons or limes or oranges. The Happy Hour Tues. thru Sat. with beer, wine, pop, juice, or water and light snacks (Chex mix, pretzels, chips, salsa, and warm cheese) was a nice treat after being out all day at the baseball fields. It was fun to sit there with so many others and watch the World Series. I used the shuttle this year to get a ride to Old Town. The female driver was very nice and helpful. Use this service if you plan on having a night of partying within a 3 mile radius. I am sure we gained some weight as we really enjoyed the cookies and milk that were put out in the late evening. Our room was always cleaned when we returned from the ballgames. There was a slight mix up with the number of washclothes to be left in the room but it was quickly resolved. We love having 2 rooms with 2 flat screen tvs separated by French doors. This let me watch my chick stuff and my hubby watch sports. The shower/toilet area is small as this is a refurbished older motel. The sink is outside of this area which gives you more room. A friendly suggestion: it would be nice to get 1 free night when staying 7 nights. Lord willing, we will again return.

Room Tip: As others have stated, third floor not overlooking the pool. The view is the parking lot but you ge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Scottsdale - Old Town, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Wrangal,
Thank you for your review and return visit with us at Holiday Inn Express Scottsdale. We appreciate you selecting our hotel for your husband's baseball tournament travels, and we're glad you found our quiet accommodations and value added amenities well suited for your visit. Guest satisfaction is our highest priority so we appreciate you sharing opportunities on enhancing our guest satisfaction. It's wonderful to hear all the aspects that made for another enjoyable stay, and we hope you'll have an opportunity to visit us again soon. Thank you again for writing.

Best regards,
Trisha Ryno, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Great service overall,We stayed at this hotel off and on for over a month and a half. Ryan helped me and my co-workers out with anything needed and was very involved with all the people staying there to make sure they had everything needed. Can't beat the free beer and wine at happy hour and the complimentary shuttle to anywhere you need to grab a quick bite. Would gladly suggest staying here again.
-Stephen V.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Scottsdale - Old Town, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
stephen V,
Thank you for your great review and continued patronage with us Holiday Inn Express Scottsdale.. We appreciate you selecting our hotel for your business travel needs. It's fantastic to hear you and your co-workers enjoyed your stay, our friendly staff, and the complimentary amenities that we're proud to offer our guests. I look forward to passing along your complimentary feedback with our team, and will certainly recognize Ryan with a special commendation for his sincere hospitality. Thank you once again for writing. We're happy to have had you as our guest, and we hope you'll return for another visit in the near future.

Best regards,
Trisha Ryno, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

We stayed at this hotel as part of a coach tour around western American.

The hotel was clean and the staff friendly. The room was very spacious for a one night stay. The pool was nice to relax in after driving from San Diego.

We were taken to Rustlers Rooste for dinner which was lovely and when coming back late the staff were still friendly

I would recommend this hotel to friends that are looking for a hotel in this area.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Scottsdale - Old Town, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
gillo_8,
Thank you for your review and kind comments about our friendly staff and clean accommodations at Holiday Inn Express Scottsdale. We're happy to have been a part of your coach tour, and we're glad you found our property well suited for your travels. We hope you'll join us for another visit should your travels bring you back to the Scottsdale area. Thank you once again for your great review.

Best regards,
Trisha Ryno, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Arriving from our road trip from Las Vegas and Grand Canyon, our family (4 adults and 3 small children) really enjoyed our stay. The rooms were spacious suites, the breakfasts fresh and delicious - the children especially enjoyed making their own pancakes- and the pool wonderfully clean and refreshing - piles of free fluffy towels! Nothing in Phoenix is a walk away, but the hotel offers a shuttle service to sites within 3 miles from hotel, including the airport and Old Town and although there is no lunch/dinner service, a wide range of restaurants are suggested for delivery to the hotel.

Room Tip: The rooms surrounding the pool area have little balconies and it would have been fun for us to watch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Scottsdale - Old Town, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
NonaG,
We appreciate you selecting Holiday Inn Express Scottsdale while on your family road trip from Las Vegas to the Grand Canyon. It's wonderful to hear that our spacious accommodations, delicious breakfast selection, and variety of amenities made for an enjoyable stay. We're happy to have been a part of your travels, and we hope you'll return again in the future for more family fun. Thank you again for writing.

Best regards,
Trisha Ryno, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chino Valley, Arizona
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

This is in a great location for either walking to Old Town Scottsdale or driving anywhere else. The hotel offers a free shuttle in a 3-mile range from the property and is available on demand. We used it to go out for a nice dinner without worrying about finding our way back or dealing with parking in Old Town. A quite decent complimentary breakfast and a "happy hour" in the afternoon were nice surprises. The room was quiet, very comfortable and very clean. We liked the two-room floor plan that others described - also fridge/micro in room. WiFi was good. Every staff member that we encountered had a smile and a positive attitude. We will definitely be going back. Plenty of good places to eat nearby - Capriotti's too (if you don't know them, you should)!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Scottsdale - Old Town, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Chin0Girl,
Thank you for sharing feedback regarding your experience with us at Holiday Inn Express Scottsdale. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and found our location perfectly suited for your travel needs. It's nice to know we exceeded your expectations with our clean and comfortable accommodations, as well as our complimentary amenities that we're so proud to offer our guests. Please plan to visit us the next time you travel to Scottsdale. We hope to extend our hospitality to you again soon. Thanks again.

Best regards,
Trisha Ryno, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Scottsdale - Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Scottsdale - Old Town

Address: 3131 North Scottsdale Road, Scottsdale, AZ 85251
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Scottsdale
#7 Business Hotel in Scottsdale
#9 Romantic Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Scottsdale - Old Town 2.5*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You are invited to Stay Smart & enjoy resort style amenities beyond your expectations at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Scottsdale. Whether you are coming in on business or just to get away, this hotel in Scottsdale is a great location for shopping, fine dining, entertainment, night life,and much more! You will find yourself impressed with our award winning service, convenient location, and spacious suites featuring our Stay Smart bedding collection and showerheads, microwaves, refrigerators, pay-per-view movies, expanded cable with HBO and pull out sofas in each of guest suites. Our complimentary shuttle service will take you to and from Sky Harbor Airport and within a three mile radius of the hotel runs from 7am to 10pm daily(based on availability) to get you where you need to go. Your stay includes free high speed wireless Internet, free deluxe continental buffet breakfast, a free managers reception each evening, an outdoor heated pool and spa, business center, and fitness center. Some of the many nearby attractions include: Old Town Scottsdale, San Francisco Giants and Oakland A's Spring Training Facilities, Scottsdale Fashion Square Mall, ASU Sun Devil Stadium, Downtown Tempe Mill Avenue, Phoenix Zoo, Desert Botanical Gardens, and Scottsdale Osborn Heathcare. Just to the north of us is WestWorld, home of the Arabian Horse Show, Arizona Bike Week and the Barrett Jackson Classic Car Auction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and BookIt.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Scottsdale - Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel Scottsdale
Holiday Inn Express Scottsdale
Holiday Inn Scottsdale

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Scottsdale - Old Town, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.