We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and convenient hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Scottsdale - Old Town

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Scottsdale - Old Town to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Scottsdale - Old Town
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3131 North Scottsdale Road, Scottsdale, AZ 85251   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #5 of 78 Hotels in Scottsdale
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Clean and convenient hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

This hotel offers free shuttle from airport. Free wifi and breakfast which was great. Friendly staff. Clean rooms. Bathrooms are small and sink is not in the bathroom which I don't like this kind of design. Shower is good. Good restaurants are walking distance away. Fashion mall is very close to the hotel. No surprises.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Scottsdale - Old Town, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Drtolga,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us at the Holiday Inn Express. We’re happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and the value added amenities that we’re proud to offer our guest. Please plan to visit us again the next time you travel to Scottsdale. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Trish Ryno, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

559 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    314
    198
    29
    9
    9
See reviews for
139
202
43
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Sussex, England
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We really enjoyed our 6 nights at this hotel, and booked it after reading the reviews on Trip Advisor. The location is very handy for Old Town Scottsdale and the Fashion Square Mall, though you would need a car to get there. The 2 room suite was very spacious, and ideal if you are a family with teenagers like us. We paid extra for a poolside first floor room (this is the ground floor if you are English), which was definitely worth it. You could just step right outside every morning to use the pool/spa, or eat your breakfast there.

The only niggles were that they really need to put up some curtains between the 2 rooms, as the light shines directly through, if someone is sleeping in the bedroom while someone is watching TV in the lounge. Also, for 5 out of our 6 days, the pancake machine was out of order at breakfast, surely investing in a back up machine would not be unreasonable? Finally, please don't put raisins in the free cookies, M & M's or chocolate chips would be much more appreciated.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a first floor poolside room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Scottsdale - Old Town, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
westsussex10,
It’s great to hear from you, and we’re glad you enjoyed your 6 nights at our Holiday Inn Express. We appreciate you and your family choosing to stay with us and are happy our hotel was conveniently located for your travel needs. I’m glad you enjoyed the poolside room and hope you had a great visit to Scottsdale. I value your feedback on the areas we fell short to meet your expectations and appreciate you bringing these items to my attention. We enjoyed having you as our guest and hope you’ll visit us again soon. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Trish Ryno, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

The location is just south of old town and all the great restaurants and shopping. Shuttle services are available if you do not have an automobile. The facilities and staff are wonderful, good breakfast, evening happy hour and cookies. Wonderful pool and spa.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Scottsdale - Old Town, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
zeldazelda,
It’s great to hear from you! Thank you for your review and kind comments about our hotel’s great location, our wonderful staff and all the amenities that we’re proud to offer our guests. We enjoyed your company and hope you’ll visit us again soon. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Trish Ryno, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We stayed at this HI Express over Easter. The staff is wonderful. The shuttle drivers were so friendly and helpful. The morning breakfast was great, the afternoon tea, cookies and lemonade were a nice surprise. The pool area is nice. Rooms are spacious. Many kids around at this time, somewhat of a daycare atmosphere at the pool and eating area. We would definitely
stay here again.

Room Tip: Poolside walk out rooms are really nice to have
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Scottsdale - Old Town, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Tlc2010,
Thank you for taking a moment to write a review. We appreciate you choosing to stay with us at the Holiday Inn Express, and we’re glad you enjoyed your stay. It’s great to receive your wonderful comments about our friendly staff and shuttle drivers. I hope you had a very happy Easter. Please visit us again soon. Thank you.

Thank you,
Trish Ryno, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheney, Washington
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

There have been a lot of reviews of this property. The highlights for me were the early morning swims in the pool, the coffee, the amazingly tasty orange juice from concentrate and the good service from the staff.

I make special mention of Joseph, the engineer, who had to replace on of our TVs due to an malfunction. He figured out it was the TV itself and not the hotel's feed to the television. By the way...anyone who is nuts enough to steal a hotel TV will be VERY disappointed. They are programmed to only work at the hotel.

There are lots of families here for spring training so you will hear kids running around and they storm the pool after the baseball games so be relaxed about family noise. The hotel is a 5 minute walk from Giants stadium so it is very convenient. It is a 20 minute drive or so the the Rockies/Diamondbacks shared ballpark and Cubs stadium. The baseball fans at the hotel may sell you tickets so ask around if you want to get good seats to a game. We bought 2 dugout seats for a Giants game for about $10 over face amount and were very happy.

NCAA basketball fans should also know that the hotel has TNT, TBS and Tru TV so you can watch March madness in between baseball games.

Room Tip: We asked for a non-adjoining room which is nice if kids are making a lot of noise. We still heard l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renee B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Scottsdale - Old Town, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
franB479,
Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience with us at Holiday Inn Express Scottsdale. I’m pleased to know that you enjoyed our pool for your morning swims and found our location to be convenient for your trip. It’s great to hear the kind comments about our staff’s excellence in customer service. I’ll make sure Joseph receives a special commendation for his outstanding service and help with replacing the TV in your room. We hope you’ll visit us again soon! Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Trish Ryno, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ketchikan
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

I booked this hotel months ago because of location and was pleasantly surprised to see that was indeed a very short and easy walk to Scottsdale stadium since websites and maps can be misleading at times. Our two room suite, separated by glass doors, with a king bed and sofa sleeper, was a big hit with the family, but be aware that only one room has AC and the other just an overhead fan. Keeping cool was a challenge because either the A/C is "on" or "off" and it was really noisy. The room itself was very comfortable and well appointed, with a firm bed and good pillows, but had two very major maintenance issues....a very sharp, broken five inch tile was sticking up in the bathroom. A simple cleaning of the broken grout underneath would have at least allowed the tile to lay flat, but day after day it remained a foot hazard right in the middle of the bathroom. And there was a big sticky spot on the carpet where the glass door frame was, clearly pink and messy looking, but nothing a little carpet cleaner could not take care of. Another annoyance was the lack of clarity about the local shuttle. Every staff person had a different take on whether we could get a shuttle ride to local attractions...."we'll see if there is space". or "they are at the airport" were the two answers we got time and time again. We were super flexible and inquired far in advance of needing a ride, but the answers we got were so vague that we gave up and just took cabs. I would suggest each of the two shuttles alternate departures....one leaves at the top of the hour and one leaves at the 30 minute mark, with a loop to downtown area and the mall as desired before heading out ....by reservation....so folks can really catch a ride like I have done at other hotels around the country with a local area shuttle. The food at the property was plentiful and pretty good for a quick breakfast and all the free snacks and beverages were much appreciated, as was the 'fridge given that restaurants are close but not next door. Given the somewhat party atmosphere of Scottsdale (and indeed our first five minutes at the property guests were drinking at the front desk at 10:30pm and smoking and drinking in the hot tub,but the rest of the week was without incident) I was relieved to see this was a very quiet, well managed hotel. We will definitely be back, but would love to see improvements.

Room Tip: Ask for a top floor room away from the pool for quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renee B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Scottsdale - Old Town, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Rainbirdreader,
Thank you sharing your review about your stay with us at Holiday Inn Express Scottsdale. I’m happy to hear that you enjoyed our spacious and comfortable rooms. I appreciate your feedback on the maintenance issues and apologize for your unhappiness with our shuttle service. Your feedback provides many areas that we can work on in order to improve our guest experience. We appreciate your feedback on these areas and hope you will return and see our improvements. Thank you again.

Sincerely,
Trish Ryno, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eureka, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

My first visit to Scottsdale, Arizona, was for SF Giants Spring Training. I chose this location because it was within walking distance of the park. I was very pleased with everything about our accommodations. Our 2-bed Queen suite was good-sized and very comfortable... loved the cozy beds and pillows! The room setup had glass doors that could easily be closed to separate the bedroom and living-area making an efficient use of space. The room came complete with the amenities that you would expect such as hairdryer, extra towels, toiletries, and coffee-maker. But it also had two flat screen tv's, fridge, microwave, ceiling fan, sitting area, and nice counter area for food prep. The rooms were clean, as were the other areas of the motel. There was a nice pool area complete with hot tub and available towels, a computer area which was easily accessible, and even a small 'store' with food, beverage, and 'oops I forgot' items. The complimentary breakfast provided a lot of food options, both hot and cold. There was a happy hour each evening, which was a fun way to get to know other Giants fans. The staff were all very friendly and helpful, answering our questions about good restaurants or shopping. We used the shuttle service for both the airport and for taking us to one of the other ballparks, and the drivers were all friendly. One evening, we even came back to be greeted by cold milk and cookies waiting in the lobby. What a nice treat! We really had a great time and will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: I would suggest staying on the third floor so as not to have anyone above you. We could hear the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renee B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Scottsdale - Old Town, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
VWalk78,
We’re happy to hear from you and appreciate you sharing your stay with at Holiday Inn Express Scottsdale. It's great to know that you enjoyed our clean and comfortable rooms as well as our friendly staff. I’m glad you enjoyed our hotel’s happy hour and had fun mingling with other Giants fans. We hope to see you again soon. Thanks again.

Sincerely,
Trish Ryno, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Scottsdale - Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Scottsdale - Old Town

Address: 3131 North Scottsdale Road, Scottsdale, AZ 85251
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Scottsdale
#5 Business Hotel in Scottsdale
#9 Romantic Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Scottsdale - Old Town 2.5*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You are invited to Stay Smart & enjoy resort style amenities beyond your expectations at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Scottsdale. Whether you are coming in on business or just to get away, this hotel in Scottsdale is a great location for shopping, fine dining, entertainment, night life,and much more! You will find yourself impressed with our award winning service, convenient location, and spacious suites featuring our Stay Smart bedding collection and showerheads, microwaves, refrigerators, pay-per-view movies, expanded cable with HBO and pull out sofas in each of guest suites. Our complimentary shuttle service will take you to and from Sky Harbor Airport and within a three mile radius of the hotel runs from 7am to 10pm daily(based on availability) to get you where you need to go. Your stay includes free high speed wireless Internet, free deluxe continental buffet breakfast, a free managers reception each evening, an outdoor heated pool and spa, business center, and fitness center. Some of the many nearby attractions include: Old Town Scottsdale, San Francisco Giants and Oakland A's Spring Training Facilities, Scottsdale Fashion Square Mall, ASU Sun Devil Stadium, Downtown Tempe Mill Avenue, Phoenix Zoo, Desert Botanical Gardens, and Scottsdale Osborn Heathcare. Just to the north of us is WestWorld, home of the Arabian Horse Show, Arizona Bike Week and the Barrett Jackson Classic Car Auction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and BookIt.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Scottsdale - Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel Scottsdale
Holiday Inn Express Scottsdale
Holiday Inn Scottsdale

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Scottsdale - Old Town, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.