We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Scottsdale - Old Town to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Scottsdale - Old Town
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3131 North Scottsdale Road, Scottsdale, AZ 85251   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #5 of 78 Hotels in Scottsdale
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“One night stop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

A very nice hotel, although located right off of a busy, and apparently popular street we couldn't hear the traffic noise. We loved the room, the check in was easy and the staff at the desk very nice and friendly. As usual with what appears to be ALL Holiday Inns, their coffee is the very worst! The breakfast buffet was good, though.

Room Tip: You may want a room away from the pool area, it can get a little noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIExpressGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Scottsdale - Old Town, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Thank you for your review and the kind words about the front desk staff. We are happy you had a great stay despite the coffee issues and we hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

558 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    314
    198
    29
    8
    9
See reviews for
139
201
43
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, England
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Having stayed at many Holiday Inn properties over the years, this hotel is undoubtedly up there with the best. My wife and I stayed 4 nights, having previously stayed here 3 years ago - and I am pleased to say that their standards have not slipped at all in the interim. Our suite was large; quiet, comfortable and clean.

The hotel is ideally located for the Old Town; Scottsdale Stadium; Shops; Restaurants and the Fashion Mall. Ample free car parking; nice reception; internet access; free beer/wine during happy hour; free milk & cookies; unlimited coffee available 24hrs a day. Breakfast was typical HOE fare.

Staff were friendly and helpful. Overall an excellent hotel, and a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIExpressGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Scottsdale - Old Town, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
It never ceases to amaze us when we get such kind words from our guests. Thank you so much for your review and we will always strive to deliver a great experience for our guests and to be the best. We look forward to having you stay with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Our family of 4 stayed for 4 nights over the Thanksgiving weekend while visiting family. Room was very comfortable. We liked the fact it was a suite with it's own area where the kids could sleep and watch tv. The staff was very accommodating and even send an apology note with a gift certificate to a local ice cream restaurant, because house keeping missed us one day. The breakfast was good every day with lots of choices. They have a happy hour in the evening with beer or wine and nachos and popcorn and then cookies and milk at night! Overall, was very happy.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIExpressGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Scottsdale - Old Town, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
We are always happy to be able to be apart of families getting together, especially around the Holidays; so thank you for giving us that opportunity and making your stay a great one. We apologize for the inconvenience of the housekeeping but happy the front desk staff was able to rectify the situation for you. Thank you for your review and visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Sky, Montana
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012 via mobile

Your basic HIE. The continental breakfast was great (as was the staff serving breakfast). The room are very quiet. Beds comfortable. Coffe pot, hair dryer, microwave, fridge. Easy access to Old Town Scottsdale and the highway. They served cookies at night along with a happy hour (free wine, beer, chips). Plenty of closet space and drawers. FANtastic shower. Separate sink area which is very handy when someone else is in the bathroom. The maid didnt leave us any shampoo ( so I has to go down and get some) and there was a curler on the floor under the sink but those are things qe got passwd. Workout room has everything you need. Pool is okay but it's in the center of the hotel so it's pretty shaded. Now the problem: the front desk staff. And not just one. They were ridiculously rude. There were cookies on the counter and my husband asked if they were free. The guy literally rolled his eyes and said sarcastically "yes". As if "duh". Earlier, I heard a woman ask for a napkin and he said "they are over there". She politely said "there aren't any over there". He said "yes there are". UGH! So she said again politely " there aren't any there." He then walked over to the area (not believing her) and said "oh" (when he saw they were out. No apology. Then, there was the blond. Oh lord, she couldn't be more rude. And the night clerk her checked us in, who "had no ability to look up my priority club number." Are you kidding me??? I'm telling you, I would probably stay again because the rooms are good, the price is right, and the location is great. But, be prepare for the staff. We routinely stay at HI's and we have NEVER encountered this.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIExpressGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Scottsdale - Old Town, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Thank you for your review of the hotel/staff as we appreciate and value your feedback. We truly apologize for the experience you had with the front desk staff but you can be assured that we took the information you have given to heart, and in order to help make the necessary improvements in our customer service. Hopefully we can serve you again in the future and provide an outstanding experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

This was a great place to stay when visiting Scottsdale. Rooms were large and clean. There was also a courtesy bus to take you to the centre with shops and restaurants. A quick call to the driver and he/she would pick you up too! Great if you wanted a glass of wine or two! Would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIExpressGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Scottsdale - Old Town, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Your review was short and sweet; we loved it. It's feels good to know you can count on us and we look forward to having you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

I researched hotels in Phoenix for a couple of weeks and since this hotel had good reviews I thought we should stay there for our five day stay. The room was big and very comfy with a separate living area with a comfortable couch to watch television. The bed was also very comfortable which to us is very important. This hotel provides a shuttle from and to the airport and also shuttles you to a radius of three miles. Staff were very helpful and cheery all the time. There was also Happy Hour every day which included great snacks (some hot) along with beveridges and then later on in the evening fresh milk with chocolate cookies. The only down part perhaps may be the breakfast as we are fussy eaters but I guess the provisions were adequate. Location is just south of downtown Scottsdale but we walked alot along with using the shuttle bus and also the local bus just outside the hotel when we wanted to travel any distance as we didnt have a car at all. It also has a fabulous large outdoor pool.

I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone - it was more like a four star hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIExpressGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Scottsdale - Old Town, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback on the hotel and our staff. We are happy to learn you chose us after much research and that we were given your recommendation. We will continue to reach for that fourth star and hope to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Having previously visited this hotel approx 6yrs ago I stayed for 1 night in late October. I was totally impressed with it.
It had been repainted outside and all areas within the hotel were clean and reasonably well maintained. The reception was busy when we arrived but the girls were happy and helpful.
Got a 3rd floor room with a balcony overlooking the pool. The pool is very attractive.
Nice clean breakfast area serving the usual Holiday Inn fare.
I was impressed with the hotel and on my return to Scottsdale next year this will be my first choice.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIExpressGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Scottsdale - Old Town, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
We are truly grateful you came back to visit us after six years and ecstatic that the front desk staff was helpful to you. Thank you so much for your kind words about our property as we take much pride in keeping it well maintained for our guests. Please visit again and soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Scottsdale - Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Scottsdale - Old Town

Address: 3131 North Scottsdale Road, Scottsdale, AZ 85251
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Scottsdale
#7 Business Hotel in Scottsdale
#9 Romantic Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Scottsdale - Old Town 2.5*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You are invited to Stay Smart & enjoy resort style amenities beyond your expectations at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Scottsdale. Whether you are coming in on business or just to get away, this hotel in Scottsdale is a great location for shopping, fine dining, entertainment, night life,and much more! You will find yourself impressed with our award winning service, convenient location, and spacious suites featuring our Stay Smart bedding collection and showerheads, microwaves, refrigerators, pay-per-view movies, expanded cable with HBO and pull out sofas in each of guest suites. Our complimentary shuttle service will take you to and from Sky Harbor Airport and within a three mile radius of the hotel runs from 7am to 10pm daily(based on availability) to get you where you need to go. Your stay includes free high speed wireless Internet, free deluxe continental buffet breakfast, a free managers reception each evening, an outdoor heated pool and spa, business center, and fitness center. Some of the many nearby attractions include: Old Town Scottsdale, San Francisco Giants and Oakland A's Spring Training Facilities, Scottsdale Fashion Square Mall, ASU Sun Devil Stadium, Downtown Tempe Mill Avenue, Phoenix Zoo, Desert Botanical Gardens, and Scottsdale Osborn Heathcare. Just to the north of us is WestWorld, home of the Arabian Horse Show, Arizona Bike Week and the Barrett Jackson Classic Car Auction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and BookIt.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Scottsdale - Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel Scottsdale
Holiday Inn Express Scottsdale
Holiday Inn Scottsdale

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Scottsdale - Old Town, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.