We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Roy Wendy Jadie” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Scottsdale - Old Town

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Scottsdale - Old Town to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Scottsdale - Old Town
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3131 North Scottsdale Road, Scottsdale, AZ 85251   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #5 of 78 Hotels in Scottsdale
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Roy Wendy Jadie”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

A super Hotel great location close to Scottsdale Downtown, great staff friendly. Free drinks Happy Hour in the evening our suit was very comfortable with fridge and microwave. The only downside was the air con was noisy

Room Tip: Pool side room is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIExpressGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Scottsdale - Old Town, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Thank you for your review of our hotel about your stay with us. We hope that if you are in the area again, you find your way back to us! I do apologize for the AC unit being noisy, we have looked at the unit from your room and that issue has been resolved. Again, thank you for bringing that to our attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    283
    178
    23
    8
    9
See reviews for
123
177
39
60
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

Our first impression of this hotel wasn't the best. I called from the UK a couple of days before we flew out to arrange for the hotel shuttle to meet us at the end of our 11 hour flight. I was advised that I would have to call again on arrival, which I thought was a disappointing response to a guest travelling from overseas.

So we landed, and I called as soon as we got through the secure area of the airport only to be told that it would be at least 45 minutes before we could be picked up as the driver was on another job. This wasn't really what we wanted to hear, as we were travelling as a group of 6, including my elderly Mother and 3 children. Directions to the pick-up point were far from clear, resulting in us waiting in 100+ degree heat for over an hour (and a further 3 international mobile calls) before we sorted the problem out. I would have hoped that, given the notice we had provided, a more efficient pick-up could have been arranged. We were hugely relieved to finally be on our way to the hotel, and being provided complimentary bottle water by the driver felt like a life-saver!

The staff at the hotel are just great. Everyone, from the front desk to the housekeeping staff, were friendly and helpful, always had a smile and were good at remembering names! A special thanks to Ricky who gave us a lift back to the airport at 7am the next day to collect our rental car, providing friendly chat and useful pointers on what to visit along the way. I suspect this is a better reflection of the usual service provided by the hotel's complimentary shuttle, and we were just unlucky when we arrived.

The rooms we had were great - spacious and clean, with plenty of bedding and towels. We did require a little assistance to un-stick the sofa bed in our room, but this was attended to promptly.

Our kids had great fun in the pool, which is, incidentally, much much smaller than it looks on the hotel website. It got pretty rowdy one of the nights we stayed, with a large crowd of late-teens/early 20's, so our kids just came away then.

The microwave and fridge in each room was really useful to have, and the air conditioning efficient, if a little noisy.

Breakfast was pretty much the best HIE one I've ever had (and we've been staying with the chain since it began). Clean, hot, tasty and plentiful. A slight issue with lack of seating on our second morning, but we were down at peak time, so we just collected what we wanted and took it back to our rooms.

The location is good for Scottsdale, and for shopping, but is further from Sky Harbor Airport than I had appreciated. I'd certainly stay here again when in Scottsdale, but would maybe choose something closer to the airport if flying in to PHX.

On balance, a very good Holiday Inn Express. Just wished the airport pick-up had been smoother. If it had been, I'd have rated 5/5!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012 via mobile

This is the standard most all other hotels should shoot for.
We travel the world...this is one of the best. Friendly staff throughout the hotel made us feel truly welcome.
Free Happy hour and breakfast A+.
Cookies & milk in the evening and ice tea & lemon aid by the pool...double bonus!!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIExpressGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Scottsdale - Old Town, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
When your response was read during our daily standup meeting with the staff, a very loud Woo Hoo was shared by all. We LOVE hearing from our guests and thank you, thank you for such kind words. We hope to have you as our guest again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arizona
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

Really nice hotel close to Scottsdale Fashion Square and Old Town Scottsdale. My only advice is that if you're getting the suite expecting to have 2 people sleep on the pull out couch, don't bother. It is a very very very small twin. I tall person could never do it. Aside from that the hotel was great!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIExpressGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Scottsdale - Old Town, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
Thank you for the great review. We do have some of our rooms that have 2 queen beds that have a full size sofa bed instead of a twin size, and the front desk would be happy to help you in the future if you need the larger sofa bed. We hope to see you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

Hotel is in Old Scottsdale a short walk away. The outside has been painted since last year and the lobby area and breakfast room has also been update.
Breakfast is good, hot items, fruit juice, cereals/breads/muffins and hot cinammon rolls.
Happy hour every evening, wine/beer and soda, also chips dips and chilli.
Fridge and microwave in room, very handy.
We had a room on the 2nd floor overlooking the pool area. Only thing I would have liked was a light on the balcony, so that we could sit out in the evening and have a little drink. Maybe they don't because of bugs.
All in all a great place and I will be back next June.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIExpressGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Scottsdale - Old Town, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
Can't wait to have you as our guest again for year 4! We did paint the buliding, as well as new carpet, guest room furniture and we did re-design our lobby area to be more guest friendly! I'm confidant that you will be really like the changes we are making and look forward to seeing you June of 2013!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

Was apprehensive on staying at this hotel but after I read the reviews I decided to book. Arrived to the hotel about an hour before check in and they booked me into a room. This was the first plus because I had just got off a 7 hour road trip. The room was very clean. I really liked the room although I will request either the first floor or third floor next time. Seems like the floors were very thin, we could hear people walking around upstairs which woke me up from a deep sleep. l will book this hotel again when I go back to the Phx area.

Room Tip: Either the first floor or third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

Great stay at a good price, no issues. Free hot breakfast and beer/wine/snack happy hour was nice. Clean place, the lobby looks more up to date than the rooms. This place could be even better if the rooms were a little bit more up to date and matched the decor of the lobby. Overall nice place to stay on a budget. AC unit was AMAZING!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Scottsdale - Old Town, responded to this review, June 22, 2012
So glad that you liked the up to date appearance of the lobby and excited to say, that the rooms will be complete within the next few months as well! We look forward to having you as a guest again and your opinion on the new and improved rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Scottsdale - Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Scottsdale - Old Town

Address: 3131 North Scottsdale Road, Scottsdale, AZ 85251
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Scottsdale
#9 Romantic Hotel in Scottsdale
#10 Business Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Scottsdale - Old Town 2.5*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You are invited to Stay Smart & enjoy resort style amenities beyond your expectations at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Scottsdale. Whether you are coming in on business or just to get away, this hotel in Scottsdale is a great location for shopping, fine dining, entertainment, night life,and much more! You will find yourself impressed with our award winning service, convenient location, and spacious suites featuring our Stay Smart bedding collection and showerheads, microwaves, refrigerators, pay-per-view movies, expanded cable with HBO and pull out sofas in each of guest suites. Our complimentary shuttle service will take you to and from Sky Harbor Airport and within a three mile radius of the hotel runs from 7am to 10pm daily(based on availability) to get you where you need to go. Your stay includes free high speed wireless Internet, free deluxe continental buffet breakfast, a free managers reception each evening, an outdoor heated pool and spa, business center, and fitness center. Some of the many nearby attractions include: Old Town Scottsdale, San Francisco Giants and Oakland A's Spring Training Facilities, Scottsdale Fashion Square Mall, ASU Sun Devil Stadium, Downtown Tempe Mill Avenue, Phoenix Zoo, Desert Botanical Gardens, and Scottsdale Osborn Heathcare. Just to the north of us is WestWorld, home of the Arabian Horse Show, Arizona Bike Week and the Barrett Jackson Classic Car Auction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Scottsdale - Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel Scottsdale
Holiday Inn Express Scottsdale
Holiday Inn Scottsdale

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Scottsdale - Old Town, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.