We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bed Bugs” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Kierland Resort and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Kierland Resort and Spa to your Saves list
The Westin Kierland Resort and Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   6902 East Greenway Parkway, Scottsdale, AZ 85254 (Paradise Valley)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
5th Night Free & Credit
Ranked #18 of 78 Hotels in Scottsdale
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Rochester, Pennsylvania
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Bed Bugs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2010

Enjoyed the Scottsdale area and the hotel amenities very much. Staff was helpful and friendly. Wonderful services, wonderful location. Unfortunately, 2 members of our party received bed bug bites.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinKierland, Public Relations Manager at The Westin Kierland Resort and Spa, responded to this review, September 21, 2010
To date, we at The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa, have had no confirmed cases of bed bugs at our property in the eight years we’ve been in business. Our guests are of our utmost concern and providing them with comfort, satisfaction and trust is very important to us. While we are aware of this claim, we are very happy to report that the case was fully investigated following Starwood’s mandates and our aggressive pest control policies. The investigation was conducted by a third party who deemed our property free of any pest activity. We are in the process of reaching out to this guest to make them aware of the investigation’s findings. We are proud to share that we have in place a thorough training program for our housekeeping and maintenance personnel to assist in the early recognition of infestation and our teams do scheduled checks of each room. We have fully implemented policies and protocols at our property and it’s our commitment to make every guest experience an enjoyable one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,622 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    887
    476
    164
    52
    43
See reviews for
414
359
60
512
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (441)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2010

We really enjoyed our recent stay at the Westin. The resort was so comfortable for our family. Rooms were clean and well lite. Staff was friendly through out the resort. Housekeeping, front desk and the bellstaff were all very helpful. Thanks

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2010

The resort was great and we enjoyed it. However the entire experience was ruined when we checked out and found that the valet team had given our rental car to other guests! That's right, we checked out and our car was gone. Another, similar model/color car was brought forward, but it didn't match our valet ticket and was full of other folks junk. Can you imagine the panic we felt? Our rental car was gone, we were given someone elses' and we can hear the clock ticking down to when our flight leaves. The valet team was extraordinarily embarrassed, but that didn't help us. I spent 3 days negotiating with the rental car firm trying to get it straightened out. When i called the resort and asked to speak to a manager, they had the valet supervisor call me. Another key embarrassing moment for the resort - i needed results and support from them and no one called back.
There are lots of resorts that wants summer family visitors - we were a party of 4, 2 rooms, 4 days. The Kierland certainly didn't treat us well or respect the issues, work and costs associated with their mistake. 4 weeks later, no one has yet to return my calls.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, California
Top Contributor
185 reviews 185 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
306 helpful votes 306 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2010

We return to the Scottsdale area annually and make it a point to stay at the Westin Kierland. And each time they fail to disappoint us! The hotel is currently wrapping up a renovation so all of the rooms and public areas have a nice, new, clean/fresh appearance (not that we ever recall it being shabby).

The pool areas are up to their usual par. We frequented the adult pool for the quiet that it offers. The attendants were extremely attentive...always passing by at about 15 minute intervals. And they have people stationed at each pool and automatically bring you a pitcher of ice-water and glasses. They also come by every 3 hours and replace it...never once being asked to!

All of the staff were quite attentive. Never over-bearing and never seeming to be "tip-seeking". They simply have a model set of employees here.

Our only "complaint" were the HIGHLY rude families that were checked in on the last evening. But the hotel isn't responsible for the idiocy of people...so you can't hold that against them.

This continues to be one of our favorite hotels to stay in, and we highly recommend it to all of our friends. You won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennewick, Washington
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
174 helpful votes 174 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2010

Stayed here for three nights and had some problems. We decided to take a weekend trip to Arizona to take in the sites, wish we would have stayed elsewhere.

To be fair the Resort is very nice and clean and the golf course here is amazing but for us this is where it all stops. The issues we had we should not have happened for a resort in this class and the money we paid for it.

Here are the issues we had during our stay. Parking was terrible here unless you wanted to shell out $27 for Valet parking you were going to park out on the north 40. There was also one day where even after returing to our room to relax at 3:30pm it was not cleaned. After calling down to get someone to clean it we went across the street to eat and upon return it still had not been cleaned, this was unacceptable.

We were also refused entry by a rude employee to the pool area because we did not have wristbands. We were not giving wristbands upon check-in nor told anything about this. The rudeness spoiled any desire we had to even go down there and enjoy it and the way he talked to us in front of other guests who were standing there was not only embarrassing but ruined the entire stay for us. Even after showing the employee our room key card he stood there in front of us and demanded we go back to the front desk and get a wristbands before he would let us in. Again unacceptable and unprofessional.

We also had friends meet us at the Saloon bar one night where we ran up a nice tab but over half of those drinks were myself or wife having to go to the bar ourself to get them, terrible service. Ordered some appetizers also which were horrible and expensive.

Then as we were checking out early because we had wanted to spend the moring at the pool before our flight home my wife was waiting out front so I could bring the car around to pick up our bags and one of the workers told her she could not stand there so she started walking with the suitcases toward the parking lot where she was almost ran over by a speeding golf cart driven by their staff to shuttle guests, well some guests. We would not recommend this resort.

Pretty resort yes, bad service rude employees is a deal breaker for us.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2010

I stayed at the Westin Kierland as part of the Golden Key Conference in July, which meant we were able to get discounted rates (definitly a plus).Check in was a breeze and the staff were super helpful. As we had discounted rates, I didn't expect a great deal from the room, but it was fantastic! Really good size, 2 dbl beds and a separate bath and shower!

There are two pools, the adult one is a typical rectangular one, but the kids pool is great! There are varying depths so you can tan while lying in the pool. There is also a lazy river with tubes which is a great way to chill out for a while - take your book or paper.

My friend and I had an amazing dinner at deseo restaurant. We got a three course meal for $39 +tip. It was amazing value. I though the portion sizes would be smaller than the items on the normal menu, but the fillet of beef I had for my main was a great size. The desert with chocolate cigar and cappucino icecream is A*MAZING!!!!!!!!!!!!

The only down side is that it seemed to be a bit far away from downtown scottsdale, but for those who need to shop there are shops at the end of the road.

The golf course looked good, but I didn't play. There is also a bagpiper from 6-7 every night. It's great!

I would reallly love to go back, it was such a relaxing few days.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joplin, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2010

Stayed here for 3 nights starting Aug 18. This is a spectacular resort. The rooms were good sized, extremely clean, comfortable bed, nice amenities. Each room has a balcony or patio to enjoy great views. The golf course is amazing. However, our primary mission was to relax and let our 7-year old enjoy the pool. The Adventure Pool area is fantastic. It's a very safe and kid friendly environment. The staff was excellent. There was always someone coming along to provide ice water or food/beverage service. There were numerous activities for the kids during the day to keep them entertained beyond the swimming and water slide. A special treat for our kid were the number of bunnies that congregate on the lawns each morning and evening. We did not get to enjoy the signature restaurant, Deseo, as it was closed. However, the other dining options were good, though pretty expensive. However, there were great options too numerous to mention close to the property. Kierland Commons, the shopping area that adjoins the hotel property is a great place to shop and had a number of great dining options from casual to upscale. Regardless of the purpose for your trip, this place has it, spa services, golf, kid's programs, shopping... It is truly what one expects from a top tier resort.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Kierland Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Kierland Resort and Spa

Address: 6902 East Greenway Parkway, Scottsdale, AZ 85254
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale > Paradise Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Scottsdale
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Scottsdale
#9 Luxury Hotel in Scottsdale
#15 Romantic Hotel in Scottsdale
#16 Family Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Kierland Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 732
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This inspiring retreat, located in the heart of "new" Scottsdale, will fill you with a sense of old Arizona and delight you with a fresh, modern destination. From family vacations to business meetings, weddings or just a restful getaway, discover our premier Scottsdale resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Starwood, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your The Westin Kierland Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Kierland Hotel Scottsdale
Westin Kierland Resort
Westin Scottsdale
Scottsdale Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Kierland Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.