We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Gorgeous” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Kierland Resort and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Kierland Resort and Spa to your Saves list
The Westin Kierland Resort and Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   6902 East Greenway Parkway, Scottsdale, AZ 85254 (Paradise Valley)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
5th Night Free & Credit
Ranked #20 of 78 Hotels in Scottsdale
Scott Depot, West Virginia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Simply Gorgeous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a 3 night business trip. Awesome hotel. Rooms are very nice and rather large. The outdoor areas are absolutely wonderful. A pool area with a lazy river and flowrider. The fire pit areas are a great place to wind down the evening. The golf courses were beautiful.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinKierland, Communications Team at The Westin Kierland Resort and Spa, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us during your recent business trip. It sounds like despite being here for work you were able to enjoy some of our wonderful amenities such as the lazy river, FlowRider and Dreamweavers Canyon. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Westin Kierland soon next time your travels bring you to The Valley of the Sun.

Sincerely,
Communications Team
The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,484 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    816
    436
    148
    44
    40
See reviews for
367
325
57
470
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (387)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moorhead, MN
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

Was this the best hotel I've ever stayed at? No.

Was this a really nice hotel with a lot of activities, pools, restaurants, and great location near great hiking, biking, and excellent shopping? Why yes!

I was able to join my husband for a convention that was being held at the Westin Kierland. We paid the extra $25 a day "resort fee" to be able to get in on some of the daily activities (yoga) at the hotel that would normally have a fee, and to be able to have in room internet access, as well as to be able to take the shuttles to two nearby shopping areas. I think it was probably worth getting.

A feature the Westin Kierland offers is to "Go Green" and forgo your room servicing. In turn you get $5 to spend on food at any of the hotel restaurants or to be used in their golf shop, etc . . . They put it in very small print at the bottom of the Go Green door card that they do not come in your room at all. So if you want coffee or more soap, etc . . . you have to call and they will send someone up with it.

The opportunities for families seemed endless, and I wish we would have brought our kids. They had organized activities, play areas, a lazy river, flow rider (for surfing and body boarding), and a water slide.

One of the highlights of each day was sitting in the outdoor seating area watching the sunset as a gentleman would play the bag pipes.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinKierland, Communications Team at The Westin Kierland Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear Melissa,

Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent visit to The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa. It sounds as though you had the opportunity to experience many of our Resort’s signature amenities and we are happy to hear that you enjoyed each one.

Please let us know if you plan another trip to Arizona. We would love to welcome you and your husband back as our guest.

Sincerely,
Communications Team
The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

I stayed here based on recommendations from others. I was on business so couldn't experience any of the leisure offerings, but the outdoor patio bar was a great place for a glass of wine after a long day. Great location near lots of restaurants.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinKierland, Communications Team at The Westin Kierland Resort and Spa, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us for your recent business travel. You are correct in that our Dreamweaver's Canyon is a great spot to relax after a long day with a drink and watch the sun set while listening to our nightly bagpiper play. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Resort soon, when on vacation of course!

Sincerely,
Communications Team
The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joplin, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

I was at this resort for the spring ACOEP conference. This is a beautiful resort with horrible accommodations!!

Upon check-in, the staff was very warm and welcoming. Things went downhill quickly!! We had booked a room with two queen beds as my husband and I were traveling with our nine-year old son. They had no other options to accommodate the three of us. When we arrived in the room, we found two tiny beds. When we asked about this, we were told they would bring us a roll-a-way, if they could find one!! What? They said the beds were just a little smaller than a normal queen!! What??!! I've never heard of such a thing and in fact, I'm quite sure they were standard full-size beds. From there, it just got worse.

There is a motion sensor on the A/C that causes it to turn off when no one is walking around the room. I awoke to a sweltering room in the middle of the night AND every time we came back from an outing!!! I'm all for resource saving but I also appreciate the A/C, particularly in ARIZONA!!! When we asked about this, again we were lied to. They said they could turn on the "VIP" mode and that it would stop it from turning off...NOT!!!! It continued on the same course. In fact, we ended up rigging a parachute in front of the sensor to try to keep it comfortable while sleeping. It did fail from time to time but was much more effective than the "VIP" mode.

Then, last but not least, the mini fridge only cooled to 48!!!!! Most drink fridges cool to around 33 I believe. I didn't even feel safe storing my son's milk in there and so we had to purchase a cooler. They once again informed us there was nothing they could do about it.

One last note, many of the activities required a fee in addition to the resort fee you already have to pay. Overall, a horribly disappointing experience that cost about $275/night. I'm quite sure I could have gotten a better room at the Holiday Inn for a reasonable price!!!! I hope the ACOEP never returns to this resort!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinKierland, Communications Team at The Westin Kierland Resort and Spa, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Dear Alisha,
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay. It must have been so wonderful that you were able to bring your husband and son along for your conference and we certainly understand the frustrations you had with your room assignment. We apologize that your request for a king bed was not able to be honored as rooms were assigned at check in based on availability and unfortunately fire code prevents us from bringing a rollaway to a room with two oversized double beds. We hope you will give us another chance to show you just how delightful a trip to The Westin Kierland can be.

Sincerely,
Communications Team
The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

Walking distance to the two higher end shopping centers in Scottsdale. Good food and drink nearby too. Resort is very nice and is almost self contained if you wanted to stay there and be pampered. We had view over the front of the hotel (business trip) so the view wasn't too important. If there for fun, ask for room facing the golf course (rear). Really cool outdoor bar and patio space for afternoon and evening cocktails.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinKierland, Communications Team at The Westin Kierland Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for electing to stay at The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa during your recent visit to Arizona. We know there are many excellent resorts in the area and we are honored to have had you as our guest.

We are happy to hear that you had a great visit and hope that you were able to enjoy a bit of relaxation and fun amidst your business schedule.

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We appreciate your positive comments and recommendation. We hope to see you again.

Sincerely,
Communications Team
The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Top Contributor
252 reviews 252 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

Gorgeous resort done In a kind of Old West theme. This property offers lots of amenities and activities, especially for families with kids. If you don't have kids, like us, it seems to get over run with them, especially on school breaks. There are lots of food outlets and bars to choose from and always something to do.

We loved:
The rain showers in the bathrooms
Fabulous views of the well maintained grounds & mountains
Evenings at the Dreamweaver's Canyon courtyard with the fire pits
Old time fun at Waltz & Weiser saloon
The quiet, adult only pool
Old West decor
Maria at the front desk...super helpful on several occasions
Valets were always friendly and helpful..and well staffed
The dessert bar in the lobby, although pricey
Walking distance to Kierland Commons for restaurants & shopping (5 min) or free shuttle upon request
The smoothies in the fitness center/spa

Didn't love:
*The lack of service all over the property...not fully staffed over spring break?
*The lack of maintainence at the pools, especially the adult pool. Sad that guests just leave their trash & leftovers around and can't throw things away, but then it is up to staff to maintain the property. Trash all over, lunch plates, cups, dirty towels. Inexcusable for a property of this level!
*Balconies were tiny...barely room for 2 chairs & a small table.
*our room was at the very tip of the main building. Long walk (we joked it was our workout everyday). Even though there was signage, it was so twisting and turning, I seemed to get lost every time to or from my room!
Trouble with Internet service that we were paying for in our resort fee
Broken fitness equipment in fitness room

Room Tip: Hotel is huge, so if you don't want a hike to your room, ask for one near the lobby.
See more room tips
Green Features: Loved the separate recycling bins in the room and also the ability to forgo housekeeping each day for Starwood points.
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinKierland, Communications Team at The Westin Kierland Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share the details of your recent experience. We take guest communication seriously and greatly appreciate receiving detailed comments such as yours so that management can share them with our staff so that we can learn from our shortcomings and celebrate our achievements.

We are sorry to hear that your stay did not meet your expectations. We strive to provide experiences that leave our guests feeling relaxed and renewed and apologize that this was not what you encountered during your time with us.

We would love the opportunity to further discuss the details of your experience. Please email your contact information to feedback@kierlandresort.com so that we can have a member of our management team reach out to you directly. We hope that we might have an opportunity to make this experience up to you so that you have no reservations to stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Communications Team
The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

The Bellmen, poolside service and room cleaners were always very friendly, welcoming with a smile or "hello". I didn't find the Flowrider service staff or the staff attending to the booth very friendly, in fact I felt almost very unwelcoming in their attitudes. I noticed many guests were entering the pool area and were not greeted, the girls were busy engaging in their own conversations - I noticed this every single day that we had used the pool facility. They should definitely hire people who care and wants to be in the hospitality industry. The service from the room to front desk (apparently was handled by other customer service reps, who were located in the back area) they were not helpful at all. I got better service by walking all the way down to the front desk area. Maybe my expectation is high, as I was comparing the Westin to our many experiences with The Four Season or Fairmont, as these hotels are definitely 5stars service and facility. The Westin definitely looks grand and the grounds are huge and always kept clean. The pool area was great for the kids. However if you are looking for 5 stars service and resort go to Four Seasons or Fairmont, they definitely offer consistent top notch customer service.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinKierland, Communications Team at The Westin Kierland Resort and Spa, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for taking some time to review your recent stay and for providing such detailed feedback from your stay. We take all guest communication very seriously and are disappointed to hear you did not feel welcomed in some areas around the Resort. We take great pride in our customer service and rest assured, your feedback has been shared with our entire management team. We hope you will give us another chance to show you how delightful an experience you can have at The Westin Kierland.

Sincerely,
Communications Team
The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Kierland Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Kierland Resort and Spa

Address: 6902 East Greenway Parkway, Scottsdale, AZ 85254
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale > Paradise Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Scottsdale
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Scottsdale
#8 Business Hotel in Scottsdale
#8 Luxury Hotel in Scottsdale
#17 Family Hotel in Scottsdale
#18 Romantic Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Kierland Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 732
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This inspiring retreat, located in the heart of "new" Scottsdale, will fill you with a sense of old Arizona and delight you with a fresh, modern destination. From family vacations to business meetings, weddings or just a restful getaway, discover our premier Scottsdale resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Starwood, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, BookIt.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Westin Kierland Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Kierland Hotel Scottsdale
Westin Kierland Resort
Westin Scottsdale
Scottsdale Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Kierland Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.