We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Kierland Resort and Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Kierland Resort and Spa to your Saves list
The Westin Kierland Resort and Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   6902 East Greenway Parkway, Scottsdale, AZ 85254 (Paradise Valley)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
5th Night Free & Credit
Ranked #21 of 78 Hotels in Scottsdale
Los Gatos, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Awesome location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Besides being a beautiful resort, the best part is that you almost do not even need a car. You can walk to Kierland Commons which is 3-5 minutes away for all of your dining and shopping and coffee outings needed. I have stayed here and The Westin Kierland Villas a number of times and have always been happy.
Thanks,
Brian Kessler, Los Gatos, California

Room Tip: Try not to miss the great breakfast! A great way to start the day with lots of healthy choices.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinKierland, Communications Team at The Westin Kierland Resort and Spa, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Brian,
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay. We really appreciate your feedback and are so delighted you have chosen to come back a number of times. You are correct in that you do not need a car. With all of our Resort amenities as well as the close proximity to the Kierland Commons and Scottsdale Quarter shopping and dining districts, there is always something for everyone in the family! We look forward to the opportunity of hosting you and your family again soon and if there is anything we can do to assist you in planning your next trip please do not hesitate to reach out to us at tripadvisor@kierlandresort.com.

Warm Regards,
Communications Team
The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,480 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    814
    434
    148
    44
    40
See reviews for
366
323
57
469
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (384)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
190 helpful votes 190 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Whether you rate this vs other hotels in general or vs other resorts, the Westin Kierland is a solid 5 star location. Although it's not my favorite of all time (Capella Pedregal in Cabo gets that vote) the Kierland is my favorite resort in Arizona so far - vs a similar themed resort at Starr Pass in Tuscon, the Kierland is hands down the winner. Here's why
1) The hotel itself is awesome - from the lobby views to the rooms to the atmosphere inside and out, it's really well done
2) the rooms are well appointed and make your stay enjoyable
3) the pool area is amazing - really large with multiple pools and a rather large lazy river for a non-amusement park. I enjoyed this immensely
4) the spa was quite nice, the locker rooms relaxing, and the treatment well done
5) some cool bars on property - especially the western themed one downstairs
6) the food at the cafes was nice
7) good meeting rooms
8) so many places to relax
9) close to lots of local eateries off property too

Overall, I would visit here again in a heartbeat!

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinKierland, Communications Team at The Westin Kierland Resort and Spa, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa. We appreciate your positive words and will be sure to share your kudus with our associates. They will be honored to know that you have named our Resort as your favorite destination in Arizona.

We are thrilled that you had the opportunity to experience many of our Resort’s signature amenities. It sounds as though your stay was a perfect balance of fun and relaxation and we hope that you left feeling better than when you arrived.

We cannot wait to see you again.

Sincerely,
Communications Team
The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

My family stayed at the Westin Kierland for Labor Day weekend. We checked in at 2:00 and were told, with attitude, that our suite would not be ready until 4:00 pm. At 5:15 they finally provided us a key. The service was sparse and lacking at best. Multiple times we were told by staff that they were running a skeleton crew for the summer, and to be patient. We were until they shut down the pool due to inclement weather, which I understand was beyond their control. However, they proceeded to evict us from our cabana as our lunch was being delivered, and then charged us for the cabana and the meal. The Flow Rider pool is amazing. Not much else left a positive impression... Definitely recommend other local properties who don't use the summer slow down as an excuse for poor service.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinKierland, Communications Team at The Westin Kierland Resort and Spa, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Please allow us to thank you, first and foremost, for your feedback and for taking the time to share the details of what you experienced during your stay. We take all guest communication very seriously and greatly appreciate receiving detailed comments such as yours so that management is aware, our staff is informed, and we may resolve any and all issues as soon as possible.

We sincerely apologize for the frustrations that you encountered with staff responsiveness. It is never our intention to provide service that strays from our guest’s expectations, regardless of the number of guests. Please be assured that your email has been shared with the appropriate parties and executive management who will address the areas of concern that you have highlighted.

We would love the opportunity to further discuss the details of your experience. Please email your contact information to TripAdvisor@KierlandResort.com so that we can have a member of our management team reach out to you directly. We hope that we might have an opportunity to make this experience up to you so that you have no reservations to stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Communications Team
The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelton, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Just returned from a conference at the Kierland. The facility is beautiful. I am gold with ownership and really wanted to stay here. I was not disappointed and was lucky to have a suite. The front desk was quick and efficient. The room comfortable and so big with the wonderful Heavenly Bed! Enjoyed a Reuben in the Saloon, and margarita. Went to the morning free yoga class with Lisa who was very sweet and made me feel comfortable as I am not very advanced. Wish I could have done this every morning! Had a great smoothie afterwards for breakfast and then enjoyed a facial in the Spa. Linda was wonderful, friendly and I was so relaxed and pampered! Delightful! The Spa staff was friendly and always there to help. Went to the adult pool where Adam ensured we had plenty of refreshments and food! Our meetings went well and everyone agreed it was the best venue we have had our conference at, the food and service, excellent.
The only complaint I have is with the Internet service which constantly disconnected my VPN connection. I did call there IT support, but was told it was my issue. Others complained about the disconnecting as well. The pool with lazy river was so nice, with tubes with cup holders and staff that helps you get in and hold your cocktail! LOL. Again the servers were great! iI am planning on returning to the Villas as an owner next April and cannot wait to enjoy the resort and explore the surrounding area.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the golf course
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinKierland, Communications Team at The Westin Kierland Resort and Spa, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

First and foremost, thank you for being a loyal Starwood Preferred Guest and vacation owner. Earning the loyalty of a guest means the world to us and we are honored to have been your chosen destination.

It was truly our pleasure to provide you with a memorable experience at The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa. Your sentiments will be shared with the employees you highlighted, as well as our other Resort associates and executive management. We strive to provide only the best service to our Resort guests and are delighted to hear that we made a lasting impression on your stay.

Thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback. We know that it is a common practice to research review sites, such as TripAdvisor, when electing where to stay when traveling and appreciate that you have recommended us to others.

We look forward to your return in April.

Sincerely,
Communications Team
The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Alabama
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

I attended a 4 day business conference at the Westin in Scottsdale from September 9, 2013 to September 12, 2013. The facilities were first class. The room was spacious and very clean. The food was very good and the service was excellent. I was constantly asked if there was anything I needed. I would recommend this facility to anyone.

Watch out for the taxi service from the Phoenix airport. The cab fare was over $60 one way to the resort. A limousine from the resort to the airport is only $50. I found out after I could have taken a limo to the resort for $50 as well. I also found out that another person attending the conference only paid $50 for a cab to the resort from the airport. So, you can be ripped off by a taxi in Phoenix - beware of that.

Other than the taxi scam, a great trip.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinKierland, Communications Team at The Westin Kierland Resort and Spa, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear Jon,
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay. We are delighted to hear you had a successful conference and hopefully you found some time to enjoy a few of our amenities despite being here for work. We are very sorry for the experience you had with your cab from Phoenix Sky Harbor International Airport. We do indeed have a car service on property that charges a flat fee of $55 each way to and from the airport. We hope to have the pleasure of hosting you again, when on vacation of course! If there is ever anything we can assist you with please do not hesitate to reach us at tripadvisor@kierlandresort.com.

Warm regards,
Communications Team
The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buford, GA
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

Great hotel! I would return. Service was outstanding. Beautiful hotel with golf course and mountain views. Pool area is nothing special for me but if you like a calm and quiet pool to relax, you will love it. I would return here if I am back in the area.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manassas, United States
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

While I was there I had a full body massage and a facial - both were fabulous!!!! The Fitness Center was also great. Also the Lazy River was great. The food was very good . Was there for a conference for People Who Stutter (PWS). We had been there before but this time I enjoyed it even more. National Stuttering Association conference. I surely hope we go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Kierland Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Kierland Resort and Spa

Address: 6902 East Greenway Parkway, Scottsdale, AZ 85254
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale > Paradise Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Scottsdale
#8 Business Hotel in Scottsdale
#9 Luxury Hotel in Scottsdale
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Scottsdale
#17 Family Hotel in Scottsdale
#18 Romantic Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Kierland Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 732
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This inspiring retreat, located in the heart of "new" Scottsdale, will fill you with a sense of old Arizona and delight you with a fresh, modern destination. From family vacations to business meetings, weddings or just a restful getaway, discover our premier Scottsdale resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Starwood, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Westin Kierland Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Kierland Hotel Scottsdale
Westin Kierland Resort
Westin Scottsdale
Scottsdale Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Kierland Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.