We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressive” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Kierland Resort and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Kierland Resort and Spa to your Saves list
The Westin Kierland Resort and Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   6902 East Greenway Parkway, Scottsdale, AZ 85254 (Paradise Valley)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
5th Night Free & Credit
Ranked #20 of 78 Hotels in Scottsdale
Arlington, VA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Impressive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

We stayed here after a business conference at the Fairmont Scottsdale Princess. We walked in and said: "That's more like it." The place has the modern Westin smell and feel. The view of the golf course is stunning. The staff was helpful. Breakfast was good. Walk to plenty of restaurants and shopping. We wish we could have more than one night here.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinKierland, Communications Team at The Westin Kierland Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay. We wish you could have stayed more than one night as well! Sounds like you were still able to maximize your time and take advantage of many resort amenities. You will definitely have to come back and stay with us again when you can enjoy all of the wonderful amenities The Westin Kierland has to offer. If there is anything we can do to ever assist you, please reach out to us at tripadvisor@kierlandresort.com.
Sincerely,
Communications Team
The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,480 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    814
    434
    148
    44
    40
See reviews for
366
323
57
469
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (384)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Elmira, New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

This place is huge. If you don't mind walking, you can really have a great time, just exploring the different buildings and location. Some of my younger brothers came along, and had a great time in the lazy river/pool areas, as there were several.

If you wanted to get away from the kids, there were plenty of trails to walk, and outdoor sitting areas, which really felt quite romantic. It's a good drive from Sky Harbor Airport, but if you want to avoid the downtown Phoenix area, or the college town of Tempe, this is the perfect location.

There's no getting around the price, but if you can afford it, you'll more then likely going to enjoy yourself.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinKierland, Communications Team at The Westin Kierland Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Alex,
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay last year. We really appreciate it. Sounds like you had a great time taking advantage of our resort amenities, especially the lazy river! You are correct in that we are a large resort but there are great paths and areas to take advantage of inside and outside and enjoy the over 300 days a year of sunshine. We hope to have the pleasure of hosting you again as you’ll have to come and check out the Kierland FlowRider! Please let us know if we can ever assist you at tripadvisor@kierlandresort.com.
Sincerely,
Communications Team
The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, Washington
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We stayed at Kierland over spring break and had another Kierland good time. This time we stayed in the villas and found it to be very practical with the kitchen. Kierland is close to shopping and restaraunts and very centrally located. I played a round at their golf course and it was in prestine condition. We have never had a negative experience at Kierland after about six stays there.

Room Tip: We have stayed in both the hotel as well as the villas and found them both to be great. The villas h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinKierland, Communications Team at The Westin Kierland Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Jon,
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay and we really appreciate the fact you have come back to be our guest six times now! Sounds like you had a delightful time taking advantage of everything the resort has to offer and our close proximity to the Kierland Commons and Scottsdale Quarter shopping and dining districts. We hope you had a chance to take advantage of some of our newer amenities on this trip like the Kierland FlowRider. Thanks again for choosing to come back and stay with us and we really hope to have the pleasure of hosting your family again! If there is ever anything we can assist you with, please do not hesitate to reach out to us at tripadvisor@kierlandresort.com.
Sincerely,
Communications Team
The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
narragansett, rhode island
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

This is a huge property with tons of convention folk. the concierge level is like a day care center and is not much more than water, and cereal. The Internet is free but you are better off with 3G...the wifi in this hotel is like dial up. The staff is very helpful and the bagpiper in the evening was a nice touch. Almost same price at the Four Seasons and you get a third night FREE!!!

Room Tip: The rooms with 2 double beds are larger than the kings. The walls are paper thin and you can hear ev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinKierland, Communications Team at The Westin Kierland Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for taking the time to post some feedback from your recent stay. Whether positive or negative, feedback is a tremendous resource that we can use so management is aware, our staff is informed, and we may resolve any and all issues as soon as possible. We would like to apologize for the challenges you encountered with our concierge lounge and would like to look into this further. If you could please email your reservation details to tripadvisor@kierlandresort.com so a member of our management team can follow up with you. Thank you again for choosing to stay at The Westin Kierland and we hope you will give us another chance to show you how amazing it can be.
Sincerely,
Communications Team
The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

This property was beautiful! The lobby, views, hotel room were all great. Staff was very helpful. Location was perfect. However, the pool area at this resort was AWFUL! We were vacationing over spring break, and although I realize that was part of the issue, I think I would have had a problem with this resort’s pool any time of year. The pool was small for the size of the resort. The chairs were cheap and right on top of each other. The towels were horrible as well. Honestly, I felt like I was hanging out at the local swim club, not a luxury resort.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinKierland, Communications Team at The Westin Kierland Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Allison,
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay and provide some feedback on the pool area. We appreciate all guest feedback that we receive and your comments have already been forwarded on to our pool management team. We are sorry you felt because of the pool area you were not at a luxury resort, we are happy to say we have recently replaced lounge chairs and also upgraded some of the furniture in the cabanas. Hopefully you will give us another chance to show you just how amazing a getaway at The Westin Kierland can be. If there is ever anything we can assist you with, please reach out to us at tripadvisor@kierlandresort.com.
Sincerely,
Communications Team
The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vassar, Michigan
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We are currently staying at the Westin Kierland in a regular king room. This resort is huge and if you have a problem walking long distances be sure to ask for a room close to the elevator. We are in a room almost at the end and it is a very long walk with many turns and twists. We don't have problems with walking, but I could see that this could be a problem if you weren't aware. The room has a nice comfy chair and the wonderful Heavenly bed and a small balcony with two chairs and small table. Table/desk with two chairs and a large bathroom with both tub and shower. The shower head is a nice 'rain' head and is very high so tall people would love this. There is a 'mini-bar' that you need a separate key for and also a small refrigerator for your own use. We ate last night at Deseo and ordered the Millionaire Tacos and Kobe Beef flatbread off of the appetizer menu and the Arroz Tostado en Cazuela which was 'wonderful'. It is like fried rice with crab and Andouille sausage with an egg on top served in a hot 'casserole' dish. There was plenty to share and I would not hesitate to order it as an entrée also. The resort also has a 'Dessert Bar' in the lobby each evening which looks wonderful but we were too full after our great dinner at Deseo - maybe tonight. They have a bagpiper each evening which is a nice touch. Lots of things going on - great pool area and workout room. We were able to check in early when we arrived yesterday, but were not offered a map of the grounds which would have been nice as it is easy to get lost. Enjoying our stay immensely!

Room Tip: Long walk to rooms - ask for one close to elevator if you have a problem walking long distances
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinKierland, Communications Team at The Westin Kierland Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay and we hope you had a successful business trip. Sounds like despite being here for business you were able to take advantage of several resort amenities including out signature restaurant, deseo. We are glad you were able to spend some time outside in the warm evenings listening to the bagpiper. It really is a great way to unwind and have a drink before heading off to dinner. We hope to have the pleasure of hosting you again and next time you will have to indulge in our Hershey’s Sweet Shoppe! If there is ever anything we can assist you with, please reach out to us at tripadvisor@kierlandresort.com.
Sincerely,
Communications Team
The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northbrook, Illinois
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Just got back a couple days ago from a short trip to Scottsdale. Ahhhhhh. Perfect weather for a 4-day break. The kind of weather that you dream about for months, before getting on that plane. Needless to say, the last thing that you want to have is a disappointing trip. Well, this trip did not disappoint!

Having been to the Scottsdale/Phoenix area many, many times before, we don't need a map, or even bother to plan where to go or what to do. However, we do want to stay somewhere that is nice. Preferably: real nice. And that pretty much describes the Westin Kierland Resort and Spa.

On other trips to Scottsdale, we never stayed here before, although we always seem to spend a good amount of time in the Kierland area. So, "why not?" we asked ourselves. "Let's give the Westin Kierland a try, and not have to waste valuable time - during a short trip - driving over to the surrounding shops and restaurants."

The positives: There are many. The beauty of the property and landscaping. The first-class service and restaurants. The golf course. The well-maintained pools and pool-side service. Nice, comfortable and clean rooms. (Ours was a deluxe, with a golf course view.) The close proximity to off-property shops and restaurants; walking distance. And on and on . . .

The less-than-positives: if walking is not "your thing," get ready - this place is spread out. Although our room was great, it took a good 8 minutes to walk to our room from the parking lot. True, the room was WAY OVER on one end of the building with a nice exterior view, BUT there was no short cut. And we timed the walk, at a brisk pace. If we took our time or couldn't find a close-in parking spot, it would have been a 10-12 minute walk. My point here: if you have a disability or just don't like walking - you need a room close to an elevator, or right off the lobby.

Yes, this place does a very good conference business. If this type of traffic bothers you, you may be bothered! We didn't care. The hustle and bustle adds to the ambiance and provides a nice evening buzz.

The only other real "negative" was the occasional spoiled brat. It really is amazing how some parents can't control their children. We, unfortunately, came across a couple fine products of "progressive child care." Not cute.

A couple more comments and "funny" happenings:

* The Breakfast Buffet Story: first of all, the Breakfast Buffet is exceptional; as a matter of fact, it is one of the very best that you may ever have.

Last Friday morning, we went down to the Buffet and asked for a table outside. Very nice. After going to get our food, we got back to the table and a couple minutes later the sound began: that loud HORN - HORN - HORN -HORN that you hear, when one of those huge earth mover trucks is backing up. After a couple minutes, I said to my wife - and to the couple sitting at a nearby table: "Well, at night they have the bagpiper. In the morning they have the construction horn!" Ha, ha. 3 or 4 minutes later, I said: "This is getting irritating. Let's go back inside and get some fruit." Well, we got up and went back to the Buffet and . . . so did the horn. The sound was coming from my pocket! The day before, I set my iPhone alarm on the obnoxious sound to make sure that we would have plenty of time to drive to the airport! And I forgot to turn off the alarm. HOW FUNNY!! Everybody around had a good laugh. The next morning, one of the waiters told me that it was the funniest thing that happened there in 10 years! And it's something that we'll always remember.

* La Cucaracha Story - ***WARNING*** Some of you are not going to like this: Our last night was on Sunday. About 9pm, I was brushing my teeth and heard a weird sound coming from the sink. I looked down and saw tentacles coming out of the drain. Then, slowly, the cockroach made its way out. I called out to Amy, my wife: "Come here! You gotta see this!" (I suppose that I didn't have to call Amy. But I wanted a witness.) She came in just in time to see what was - I swear! - a 2-inch cockroach. "GET RID OF IT!!!" she screamed. With a couple tissues and a quick flush in the toilet, the cockroach was gone.

This late-night bathroom excitement might have ruined a great 4 days for some of you. But now I can scratch-off (pun intended) seeing a giant cockroach crawl out of a sink drain from my bucket list. Hey, it is the desert, and things happen. That cockroach had to be an Olympian; it made it up 4-stories. Congratulations and R.I.P to La Cucaracha.

FINALLY . . . special thanks to some Westin Kierland stand-out performers:

* To Margie, from housekeeping: You are so special, and did such a great job, Margie. Thank you very much.

* To Meril, our waiter for a couple days at the Buffet: It was a pleasure, Meril. Outstanding service and conversation. Keep up the good work, and take care of those pavers!

* And to Mark, the Senior Food and Beverage Manager: Class service, Mark. Thanks for starting our mornings off with a smile and making sure that everything was perfect. It was.

The Westin Kierland: Gets 5-Stars - and one cockroach - from us.

Room Tip: Bring your walking shoes!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinKierland, Communications Team at The Westin Kierland Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay and we are delighted that you and your wife were able to relax and have a delightful time. Now you have a hilarious story about the alarm to share from your trip to Scottsdale as well! We appreciate you deciding to give us a try and glad you were not disappointed. April is such a great time to come and the weather as you mentioned is perfect. Just cool enough at night to sit by the fire pits and unwind with a cocktail while listening to the bagpiper. Each of our associates strives to exceed expectations for every guest they encounter and we really appreciate you taking the time to mention a few that went above and beyond for you and your wife. We will make sure Margie, Meril and Mark know how appreciative you are! Thanks again for choosing to stay with us and we hope to have the pleasure of hosting you and your wife again. If there is ever anything we can assist you with, please reach out to us at tripadvisor@kierlandresort.com.
Sincerely,
Communications Team
The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Kierland Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Kierland Resort and Spa

Address: 6902 East Greenway Parkway, Scottsdale, AZ 85254
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale > Paradise Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Scottsdale
#8 Spa Hotel in Scottsdale
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Scottsdale
#9 Luxury Hotel in Scottsdale
#17 Family Hotel in Scottsdale
#18 Romantic Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Kierland Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 732
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This inspiring retreat, located in the heart of "new" Scottsdale, will fill you with a sense of old Arizona and delight you with a fresh, modern destination. From family vacations to business meetings, weddings or just a restful getaway, discover our premier Scottsdale resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Westin Kierland Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Kierland Hotel Scottsdale
Westin Kierland Resort
Westin Scottsdale
Scottsdale Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Kierland Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.