We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Resort Property” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Kierland Resort and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Kierland Resort and Spa to your Saves list
The Westin Kierland Resort and Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   6902 East Greenway Parkway, Scottsdale, AZ 85254 (Paradise Valley)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
5th Night Free & Credit
Ranked #20 of 78 Hotels in Scottsdale
Portland
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Fantastic Resort Property”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

This hotel has a great location near a small outdoor mall, adjacent to a golf course, and close enough to Scottsdale that you can cab it back and forth.

My room was on the 4th floor, overlooking the golf course. The room had a very nice bathroom of standard size, a small closet and a balcony that easily fit two. The room had all the typical Westin ammenities, no surprises. There was one surprise. From my balcony I could wach/listen to the bagpiper at sunset, which lasts about 20 minutes.

The property is large, but the pool is just a short walk from the main hotel entrance. The pool is amazing! There is an adult pool and then a great pool for the kids/families. Any kid would love it. I also heard several people rave about the kids programs.

Room service was prompt, food was warm, not too overpriced and of good quality.

The mall acoss the steet had several stores and restaurants - RA sushi, a fish house, a couple of chains. There was something for everyone as well as a Starbucks and Cold Stone.

Would I stay here again? Yes, especially with family.

Room Tip: Ask to look out over the golf course if you want to enjoy the bag pipers, but ask to be to the left...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,484 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    816
    436
    148
    44
    40
See reviews for
367
325
57
470
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (387)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mercer Island, Washington
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

I want to start by saying that we got an incredible deal for our stay at this resort. If I had paid a lot of money for the room I may have been more picky. We had a nice stay and were treated very well. Every person we dealt with treated up very well and were eager to please. Originally we were put in a handicap room which we really didn't like. The bathroom was not at all romantic so we asked to be moved. They were happy to move us and we ended up in a much better room for us. The rooms were comfortable and clean and nicely decorated. I think 4 stars is the perfect level to rate them. Not as plush as you would expect at a 5 star, but very nice. The pool was nice with plenty of places to sit and very relaxing. As always the heavenly bed was wonderful. I would say the bath was a bit small and shallow. Being a bath person, I wasn't too impressed by that. Loved how close it was to the Kierland mall. Super easy to walk over for dinner each night. Overall a very nice stay.

Room Tip: The handicap rooms are bigger, but you definitely lose some ambiance. If space is important you may...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinKierland, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Kierland Resort and Spa, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us. We encourage our guests to provide feedback about their stay so that we can understand what the highlights were, and where we are able to improve. We are delighted to hear that you felt welcome at our resort, as it is our goal to make our guests feel welcome and comfortable. It sounds as though you enjoyed many of the resort amenities, and enjoyed walking to the nearby shopping and dining districts. We are very happy to hear that you were pleased with your stay, and we hope to welcome you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Had a great time at hotel but its has been two weeks since I checked out and still have three separate charges totaling $1500+ dollars on my credit card. Check out date 11/5 and its 11/19. Still with pending authorizations! Not necessarily a big deal for me but my advice leave some extra wiggle room on your credit card for the pending authorizations!

I have contacted Westin and send e-mail messages to Jessica Gray. Not really helpful ...placing the blame with credit card company.

Nonetheless besides the credit card issue. Enjoyed the resort! Spent time at restaurants, spa, and pool. Have stayed in other places in Scottsdale and this property stands out a little more due to proximity to shopping!

Room Tip: if you have a room facing the pool ... the sun will heat up your entire room. pick a room facing the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

My husband and I live in Scottsdale and needed a Staycation. We chose Westin Keirland and it was the best choice for us. The rooms are immaculate and the extra amenities are over the top. The dessert bar on the lobby is irresistible. We will be back.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinKierland, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Kierland Resort and Spa, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. In a destination such as Scottsdale, with so many amazing resorts, we are delighted to hear that you chose to stay with us, and that you had such a wonderful staycation. From you photo, we can tell you definitely took advantage of one of the favorite spots, our Dreamweaver's Canyon. We are happy that you enjoyed yourselves and we will look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Great views of the golf course and landscapes can be seen from most hotel rooms, if you want to take a vacation, thus is a good place to do so. I was there for a business event and found out internet access is very slow and poor quality. During breakfast, I ordered from the menu and my food was cold, so I suggest you take the breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinKierland, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Kierland Resort and Spa, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the resort surroundings and that you recommend others to visit. We are sorry to hear that you had some challenges with the internet, and you were not satisfied with your in-room dining order. We will be sure to share your feedback with our management teams so that we can make every effort to improve these areas for our future guests. We appreciate you sharing your feedback and hope to welcome you back again in the future - maybe for a vacation instead of business next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cardiff, uk
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Stayed in the Kierland for a business conference. I had a junior suite which was very spacious. The customer service is excellent and the general amenities were also excellent. The restaurant was very good with a good choice of food. There is a small bar which was has a great atmosphere. The gym is OK for a resort spa - felt it could be bigger with better kit but I am being a bit picky. The hotel is very large and walking to the outlying rooms will take time - bear in mind if you have difficulty walking. The golf courses at the hotel are pretty good albeit not very challenging - big wide fairways!

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

I was just there for a conference and stayed 8 nights. The property is gorgeous - beautiful pool, great gym facility, nice decor. The room itself was pretty standard sized, and was very "cushy" - very welcoming and homey. It was a bit smaller than I expected (have stayed at the Princess in Scottsdale as well and those rooms are GIANT!!), but as a single person the size was fine. My room didn't have a tub, but the shower was great. I ordered room service a few times and it was fairly quick and tasted delicious. The only reason they got a 4 rather than 5 from me was because a few times I requested some minor housekeeping things and it took forever to get them. Otherwise, no complaints - everyone was very friendly and welcoming.

Room Tip: The room layout is a bit of a "maze" - if you don't mind hearing elevator noises and w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinKierland, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Kierland Resort and Spa, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us. We appreciate hearing your feedback and are delighted to hear that you had such a great experience. We hope that you had a successful conference and we are glad that you were able to enjoy some of our resort amenities while here on business. We are sorry for the minor challenges with the housekeeping amenities, but we appreciate you sharing so that we can do our best to correct this in the future. We strive to offer the best customer service possible, and we are glad that you felt that our associates were friendly and welcoming. We certainly hope that you will visit The Westin Kierland again in the future, and look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Kierland Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Kierland Resort and Spa

Address: 6902 East Greenway Parkway, Scottsdale, AZ 85254
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale > Paradise Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Scottsdale
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Scottsdale
#8 Business Hotel in Scottsdale
#8 Luxury Hotel in Scottsdale
#17 Family Hotel in Scottsdale
#18 Romantic Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Kierland Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 732
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This inspiring retreat, located in the heart of "new" Scottsdale, will fill you with a sense of old Arizona and delight you with a fresh, modern destination. From family vacations to business meetings, weddings or just a restful getaway, discover our premier Scottsdale resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Starwood, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Westin Kierland Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Kierland Hotel Scottsdale
Westin Kierland Resort
Westin Scottsdale
Scottsdale Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Kierland Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.