We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful resort, lacks that "Arizona atmosphere"” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Kierland Resort and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Kierland Resort and Spa to your Saves list
The Westin Kierland Resort and Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   6902 East Greenway Parkway, Scottsdale, AZ 85254 (Paradise Valley)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
5th Night Free & Credit
Ranked #21 of 78 Hotels in Scottsdale
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“Beautiful resort, lacks that "Arizona atmosphere"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

I really enjoyed this resort. The beds are comfortable and the layout of the hotel is compact in a way that it's easy to get around. The balcony in my room was fantastic. The pool area is gorgeous and includes a water slide, lazy river and flow rider. Golf is just a few steps away and if your lucky enough (or you pay for it), you'll get a room with a view of the course. The food at the hotel was very good, although there weren't a lot of options on the menu. I really enjoyed the outside seating area.

The only downside of this hotel is that I didn't feel like I was in Arizona. The resort could be located anywhere. I don't think I saw one Saguaro cactus, but there were plenty of palm trees. You need to be on one of the upper levels to even see a view of the mountains.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a view of the golf course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinKierland, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Kierland Resort and Spa, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you for sharing your feedback from your recent stay. We appreciate hearing about your Kierland experience. We hope that you had the opportunity to enjoy the pools, lazy river and our brand new FlowRider, even though you were traveling on business. We are disappointed to hear that you felt our resort lacked an "Arizona" feeling, as we pride ourselves in treasuring the essence of arizona with the materials used to build the resort, the art that is displayed throughout the hallways that tells the story, and the significance of every name given to our meeting spaces and dining venues. We are sorry to hear that you missed out on learning some of the Arizona history shared through our property. However, we are delighted to hear of your satisfaction with our amenities, property layout, and views. Thank you again for taking the time to share your review, and we hope to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,482 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    815
    435
    148
    44
    40
See reviews for
367
323
57
470
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (386)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alameda, California, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We had a nice, clean room with a flat screen, a tub and a shower, refrigerator and a great view overlooking the bar/outdoor dining/fire pit/golf course/lake. The resort has a bagpiper who plays every night @ 5-great if you like bagpipes. They had multiple sitting areas with fireplaces, fire pots and the major fire pit which were perfect for the cool nights. Maybe it was the wind direction when we were there, but if we opened the sliding door to go out onto the balcony in the evening, the smell /smoke of the fire pit came into the room. Not so great-we keep the sliding door closed and did not sit out on the balcony in the evenings. If you play golf, the course was right outside. Typical of resort courses, the fairways sloped towards the center to keep the duffer's balls on the fairway and out of the rough. The pool area was very nice with great poolside service and there was a separate kiddies pool. Perfect if you are trying to escape your our and don't want to spoil your adult time with kids. The spa and work out facilities were first class.
One big gripe. When paying $270+$35 (tax) a night, why do I have to pay another $20/day for internet? Every motel for under $100/night has it for free.

Room Tip: best views are of the golf course and lake not of the parking lot
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinKierland, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Kierland Resort and Spa, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We appreciate hearing your detailed feedback. It is great to know that you enjoyed your overall experience, including the resort surroundings and our Bagpipes at Sunset series. We are sorry to hear that the direction of the wind impaired you from enjoying your balcony in the evenings, but it sounds as though you took advantage of our Dreamweaver's Canyon fire pit instead set to the backdrop of the golf course. Thank you for sharing your photos of your guest room views. We will be sure to share all of your feedback with our management teams so that we may work to correct the challenges you experienced for our future guests, and hopefully you as well on a return visit to The Westin Kierland. Thank you again for taking the time to share your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Attended a conference here in October, third time I've stayed at this resort now. Rooms are spacious and I was given a room overlooking the outdoor eating / drinking area. I was worried that noise would be an issue but it was no problem.
WiFi is great in general areas and rooms and is included in the resort charge. WiFi in conference areas no so good. Didn't work on the room authentication! This is V poor in my opinion, I paide for resort wide wifi!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at this property for a conference. The grounds were beautiful and service fantastic. Our transitions from event to event were seamless. The room was nice. We didn't get to enjoy many amenities but will in the future. The only negative is location. Resort is rather far away from other attractions. Super comfy bed!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

excellent service, though I don't ask for much. Very clean, very quiet, comfortable rooms. Very fine bed, linens, bathroom. Comfortable temperatures. Kierland commons is a lock away and has several choices for fine dining, bars, and high end shopping. Probably good for golf, but I don;t play. Plenty of surface parking. Nice coffee bar on premises.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langhorne, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We loved our stay at the Westin Kierland! Beautiful resort with wonderful employees. The accomidations were very comfortable and clean. The mattresses and pillows were the best we have ever slept on at a hotel. I would recommend this resort to anyone. It was perfect for the men in our group to golf, perfect for the kids to use the pools and perfect for the women to relax!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinKierland, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Kierland Resort and Spa, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience from your September stay. We love hearing from our guests and we are delighted to hear that you had such a wonderful getaway. We hope to welcome you back in the near future, and appreciate your kind feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre, South Dakota
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This was a business trip (conference) but it was wonderful. Wife had a great time. The food was wonderful. No surprises or disappointments. Bagpipes at the end of the day was a nice touch. Close to Scottsdale proper so shopping was a quick hike plus the availability of other restaurants.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Kierland Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Kierland Resort and Spa

Address: 6902 East Greenway Parkway, Scottsdale, AZ 85254
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale > Paradise Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Scottsdale
#8 Spa Hotel in Scottsdale
#9 Luxury Hotel in Scottsdale
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Scottsdale
#17 Family Hotel in Scottsdale
#18 Romantic Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Kierland Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 732
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This inspiring retreat, located in the heart of "new" Scottsdale, will fill you with a sense of old Arizona and delight you with a fresh, modern destination. From family vacations to business meetings, weddings or just a restful getaway, discover our premier Scottsdale resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Starwood, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Westin Kierland Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Kierland Hotel Scottsdale
Westin Kierland Resort
Westin Scottsdale
Scottsdale Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Kierland Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.