We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Scottsdale/Riverwalk

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Scottsdale/Riverwalk to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites Scottsdale/Riverwalk
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9550 E Indian Bend Rd, Scottsdale, AZ 85256   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Weekend Getaway-up to $55
Ranked #24 of 78 Hotels in Scottsdale
South Bend, WA, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Business”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

Needs better access to food and micro and fridge in rooms. There would need to be an opportunity to travel into town to purchase some things. I felt compelled to eat at the Casino next door about 1/4 of a mile. Food at the Casino is limited and a bit expensive.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Scottsdale/Riverwalk, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to rate and review your recent stay with us. I wanted to apologize, as your rating was fairly low so obviously you did not receive that same great guest experience we normally provide.

We currently do have refrigerators and microwaves in our suites, and are in the process of getting them placed in all of our guest rooms later this Spring. So hopefully if you stay with us again in the future we will be able to accomodate your needs.

I noticed you mentioned the need to travel into town to purchase food. While there are multiple restaurants at the resort next door there are also dozens of great restaurants in the area that we would be happy to recommend, or that are listed in your room directory. We also have a complimentary shuttle service and we would be more than happy in future stays to take you to and from area restaurants as you'd like. We also have a list of restaurants that deliver great food to the hotel as well.

I'm sorry that these two things clouded the rest of your stay with us but I wanted to reassure you that, in the future, if you are in the area again we would love the opportunity to help serve you better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    49
    21
    6
    5
See reviews for
38
52
27
54
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

This hotel has two features that convinced me that I should return next year. It is new and is well-located in Scottsdale.

The purpose of my travel was to attend the Barrett-Jackson collector car auction. That venue is about a 10-minute drive from the hotel, and highway access is almost immediate. And Sky Harbor Airport is 20-minutes away.

This hotel is newer than most I have stayed at in Scottsdale. The rooms are not luxurious, but they are functional. The king bed was comfortable, the large screen television was appreciated, the computer table and wi-fi connections were excellent, and the sitting area was adequate. The room was clean, relatively spacious, and quiet.

The no-charge breakfast was good, and the friendly service at the reception desk was superb. The only problem during my four night stay was that the cleaners failed to make up my room on the final day. When brought to the attention of management late into the evening, the room was made up, I was offered complimentary snacks, and was awarded 5,000 Hilton Honors points. This was simply an oversight, and did not affect my overall impressions of the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Scottsdale/Riverwalk, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Thank you so much for rating and reviewing our hotel. We're glad to see that your experience was such a positive one! We truly appreciate feedback from our guests, especially when it is as thorough as yours. It gives us the opportunity to see what we're doing right, and what we can focus on to do better. Thank you again and we look forward to having you stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reno, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

I spoke to the manager prior to arrival explaining my flight was delayed but I will definitely be arriving by 9:00 pm. He assured that my room was secure. When I arrived at 8:30 my room was given away. They only had the loudest room next to the kitchen to offer me.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Scottsdale/Riverwalk, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Thank you so much for your review and for letting us know about your stay with us.

I apologize for the room error. As you had mentioned, we did reserve a room for you that you had confirmed, but due to a necessary series of rearrangements that had to be made when guests did not check out of the hotel when scheduled, we were left with the room you received as the last available room in the hotel. This was an unforseen circumstance and was sadly unavoidable based on room type requests and other requirements. That being said, I know that we did award points onto your Hilton Honors account to make up for the oversight so, hopefully, this does show the sincerity of our conviction to make every guest experience a positive one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

Excellent hotel and within walking distance of Talking Stick Resort. Seek and upgrade to a suite. If not avaialble, see if there is a reasonable charge for the upgrade. The extra room is well woth the $$$ an its very quiet.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Scottsdale/Riverwalk, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Thank you for reviewing and rating our hotel! We work very hard to make sure that each and every guest experience is a positive one and I'm glad that your stay was no exception. We hope to have you staying with us again soon and, in the meantime, if there's anything we can do to help make your next stay more enjoyable, please don't hesitate to let us know.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairbanks, Alaska
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

the staff is great, very helpful, but room 101 is a poor room to get stuck in, from 3am, the noise from the laundry??, furnace?? room was beyond tolerable, so if you stay here do not accept room 101 unless you are totally deaf. rooms are clean and facility is nice, great staff, just one bad room that should never be rented.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Scottsdale/Riverwalk, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Thank you so much for rating your recent stay with us, although we're sorry that you were disappointed with the noise level of your room. The room you were in is actually located near some of the hotel boiler equipment, but we rarely get complaints regarding noise. That being said, because of it's location we do only rent out that room when we are sold out so I am sorry that you were placed there.

That being said, we are very glad to hear that you were happy with the rest of your stay. We work very hard to make sure every guest experience is as positive as it can be so we're glad to see that we performed well on that score.

We sincerely hope to have the chance to serve you again in the near future and, if we do, please let us know about your previous stay with us and we will be sure to move you to a higher floor or different room, based on your preference. If we can ever be of any other service, please don't hesitate to let us know!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livermore, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

Spent two nights at this hotel in January. Check in was fine and the room was clean. However, if you're considering eating breakfast, go somewhere else. The food was horrible. Eggs and sausages were of cheap quality with no taste at all. If you like not freshly made fruits and/or overripened brown bananas, this is your place to stay. The expense of rooms each night was over rated too. It was simply too much for a not so busy time in January. Simply put, this hotel charged too much and the food was horrible.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Scottsdale/Riverwalk, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Thank you so much for rating your recent stay with us, although we're sorry that you were disappointed with your breakfast options. We closely follow all Hilton/Hampton brand standards regarding breakfast options, menu items, and even methods of preparation so we are sorry if the food was not quite what you were expecting.

That being said, we are very glad to hear that you were happy with the rest of your stay. We work very hard to make sure every guest experience is as positive as it can be so we're glad to see that we performed well on that score.

We sincerely hope we have the chance to serve you again in the near future but, in the meantime, if we can ever be of service, please don't hesitate to let us know!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

My friend & I stayed at this Hampton Inn, thinking we booked at the Hampton Inn in downtown Scottsdale. What a pleasant surprise. It is across the street from the Talking Stick Casino which has a great restaurant that we were able to access by going through the outdoor seating area, thereby not having to walk through the smoky casino. We will definitely stay at this Hampton Inn in Scottsdale again - friendly staff & very clean hotel!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Scottsdale/Riverwalk, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Thank you so much for rating your recent stay with us. I'm glad to hear that your experience was such a positive one! we sincerely hope we have the chance to serve you again in the near future but, in the meantime, if we can ever be of service, please don't hesitate to let us know!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Scottsdale/Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Scottsdale/Riverwalk

Address: 9550 E Indian Bend Rd, Scottsdale, AZ 85256
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 78 Hotels in Scottsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Scottsdale/Riverwalk 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whatever your reason for visiting Scottsdale, Arizona, you’ll find the Hampton Inn & Suites Scottsdale-Riverwalk conveniently located just off of Loop 101 on the prominent Scottsdale Riverwalk Development. Stop by the brand new Salt River Fields, home of Spring Training for the Arizona Diamondbacks. Explore top Scottsdale, AZ attractions in downtown Scottsdale's shopping and entertainment districts, or commute the short distance to Scottsdale Municipal Airport.Enjoy a comfortable stay with a choice of amenities for work and leisure. Start your day with Hampton’s free hot breakfast or, if you have a busy schedule, grab one of our free Hampton On the Run® Breakfast Bags, available Monday to Friday, for a quick, healthy meal to go. Indulge in some delicious cuisine from our room service menu or relax over drinks in the free beverage area. Pick up some essentials at the onsite convenience store and keep your clothes clean and fresh at the laundry facility.Stay connected with free high-speed internet access in your guest room or work in the business center—we offer a free printing service. Work out in the fully equipped fitness center or plunge into the hotel pool. If you’re traveling with the family, don’t forget we offer free stays for children under 18 when accompanied by their parents.We welcome pets at our hotel and offer The Pet Pack that includes disposable pet pads, doggie bags, treats and more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Scottsdale/Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Scottsdale/Riverwalk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.