We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in the Arizona desert” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Scottsdale/Riverwalk

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Scottsdale/Riverwalk to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites Scottsdale/Riverwalk
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9550 E Indian Bend Rd, Scottsdale, AZ 85256   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Weekend Getaway-up to $55
Ranked #23 of 78 Hotels in Scottsdale
Birmingham
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great hotel in the Arizona desert”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

The hotel is fairly new. Guest rooms have the feel of a modern boutique with a desert decor. Staff is very friendly and knowledgeable about the area. Hotel has a shuttle which takes you to any destination within a 5 mile radius of the hotel. Shuttle stops running at 9 pm on weekdays (including Saturday) and 5 pm on Sunday. There is a lot of construction around the hotel but the highlight is the Talking Stick casino next door--always a plus. I'd go back in a heartbeat

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KMFREEMAN, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Scottsdale/Riverwalk, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us in Scottsdale! We greatly appreciate the feedback and are so pleased that you had a wonderful experience. Please let us know if you are traveling again to the Scottsdale area as we would love to have you with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    49
    21
    6
    5
See reviews for
38
52
27
54
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oldsmar, Florida
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

This is a brand new Hampton Inn. It is next door to the Talking Stick casino which is a resort in itself. The breakfast is very good & things are always replaced when getting close to empty. It is on the same street as shops, restaurants & stores without going onto the main highway with all the traffic. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KMFREEMAN, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Scottsdale/Riverwalk, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us in Scottsdale! We greatly appreciate the feedback and are so pleased that you had a wonderful experience. Please let us know if you are traveling again to the Scottsdale area as we would love to have you with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

This hotel provides excellent customer service! The cleaniness of the hotel is great. The workout facility is awesome! I highly recommend this hotel for business and/or pleasure. The decor is updated and the rooms are very clean.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KMFREEMAN, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Scottsdale/Riverwalk, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us in Scottsdale! We greatly appreciate the feedback and are so pleased that you had a wonderful experience. Please let us know if you are traveling again to the Scottsdale area as we would love to have you with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

I hate to complain however why is Hampton Inn so misleading in what they offer for the ammenities? Because they offer but can't deliver we got no jacuzzi, no internet, and no place to throw away trash. The hotel was ok the beds were awesome, the bathroom was very clean, and the staff excellent. Yet, no ammenities I rate this terrible because all you can do is sleep to enjoy your stay!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KMFREEMAN, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Scottsdale/Riverwalk, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us regarding your stay at the Hampton Inn & Suites Scottsdale. I am deeply saddened by the experience you have had while with us and would love to have the opportunity to personally speak with you to find a resolution and clarification of the issues dealt with. I have reached out to you via email from Hilton and hope to hear from you. We value each and every one of our guests feedback and utilize it as a training and improvement opportunity at all times. Thank you and I hope to hear from you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

On arrival I was greeted with a smile. The Staff was very helpful. The room was extremely clean. Room was cleaned in a timely manner. Suggestion on activities and eating establishment were very good. Stayed here before in July 2013 and returned in August and stayed again. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KMFREEMAN, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Scottsdale/Riverwalk, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thank you ever so much for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us in Scottsdale! It is the greatest compliment to the team here when our guests leave with a wonderful impression and experience. We value all of our guests and appreciate each and every comment we receive as it only helps us to improve! Please let us know if you are planning a return visit to the Scottsdale area. We would love to serve you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson AZ
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We have stayed at the Hampton Inn & Suites Scottsdale/ Riverwalk multiple times & always have a great stay. The staff go out of their way to be helpful, friendly and professional. The rooms/suites are nicely decorated and beds very comfortable. This location works well as a base for us to get to multiple shopping malls, entertainment & dining options. We like that is located within walking distance (or free shuttle ride from hotel) to Talking Stick Resort/Casino. After a day of shopping, we enjoy Talking Stick's restaurants & entertainment. Casino Arizona is also short drive from the hotel. There are many shops, restaurants & a movie theater close by at the Scottsdale Pavilions. We look forward to returning again soon!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KMFREEMAN, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Scottsdale/Riverwalk, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thank you ever so much for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us in Scottsdale! It is the greatest compliment to the team here when our guests leave with a wonderful impression and experience. We value all of our guests and appreciate each and every comment we receive as it only helps us to improve! Please let us know if you are planning a return visit to the Scottsdale area. We would love to serve you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Coast
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

4 night stay. Arrived on a Saturday from the east coast. It's August and they have the AC on a governor, meaning if you like to sleep in a cold room (under 70 degrees) this hotel is not for you. No fans on property. When asked what our options were... Basically none but put the AC on the fan mode when it shuts off while sleeping. It does come back on around 5am. Theirs a motion detector that shuts off the AC when out of the room. I understand trying to be "green" but the hallways are freezing with no one in them. Plus it takes more energy to "cool" down a room.

Our room never got amenities refreshed. As a diamond Hilton member I requested extra towels but they never showed up either. Floor never was vacuumed all 5 days here. Housekeeping....

The water never gets cold in this building so if your adverse to brushing your teeth with hot water make sure you have a spare water bottle. Interesting that the hotel casino across the street has cold water but I was told this is the desert and that's why.

Breakfast was very good and the staff was good just inconsistent. After the last complaint on the last night the GM got involved, listened & acted according the the Hampton Inn policies.

Would I stay here again? Yes but not in the summer. The location is central in scottsdale. There's a nice pool. Plenty of parking. Beautifully designed lobby area. business room access to printer and emails. Free wifi. Price was ok but given the disappointment I think we paid too much for a room in AZ in the summer.

Disappointed but not devastated...

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KMFREEMAN, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Scottsdale/Riverwalk, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of our stay at our property. We value all of our guests and their feedback, and see each and every comment as a training opportunity for our improvement. I am extremely sorry that you did not have completely gratifying experience while with us and we would love to have the opportunity to change your mind! Please let me know if you are ever planning a return visit to the Scottsdale area and I will personally ensure that you have a magnificent stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Scottsdale/Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Scottsdale/Riverwalk

Address: 9550 E Indian Bend Rd, Scottsdale, AZ 85256
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 78 Hotels in Scottsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Scottsdale/Riverwalk 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whatever your reason for visiting Scottsdale, Arizona, you’ll find the Hampton Inn & Suites Scottsdale-Riverwalk conveniently located just off of Loop 101 on the prominent Scottsdale Riverwalk Development. Stop by the brand new Salt River Fields, home of Spring Training for the Arizona Diamondbacks. Explore top Scottsdale, AZ attractions in downtown Scottsdale's shopping and entertainment districts, or commute the short distance to Scottsdale Municipal Airport.Enjoy a comfortable stay with a choice of amenities for work and leisure. Start your day with Hampton’s free hot breakfast or, if you have a busy schedule, grab one of our free Hampton On the Run® Breakfast Bags, available Monday to Friday, for a quick, healthy meal to go. Indulge in some delicious cuisine from our room service menu or relax over drinks in the free beverage area. Pick up some essentials at the onsite convenience store and keep your clothes clean and fresh at the laundry facility.Stay connected with free high-speed internet access in your guest room or work in the business center—we offer a free printing service. Work out in the fully equipped fitness center or plunge into the hotel pool. If you’re traveling with the family, don’t forget we offer free stays for children under 18 when accompanied by their parents.We welcome pets at our hotel and offer The Pet Pack that includes disposable pet pads, doggie bags, treats and more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Scottsdale/Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Scottsdale/Riverwalk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.