We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent situation in Scottsdale” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Scottsdale Salt River

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard Scottsdale Salt River to your Saves list
Courtyard Scottsdale Salt River
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5201 North Pima Road, Scottsdale, AZ 85250   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Sleep In & Save 20%!
Ranked #29 of 78 Hotels in Scottsdale
GreenLeadersSilver level
Munich, Germany
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent situation in Scottsdale”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

Stayed Aug. 2013 - The rooms were new and very clean. Nice pool area with showers, also for handicapped. The staff is friendly and helpful. It is close to downtown Scottsdale and perfectly situated very close to Loop 101. Calm atmosphere. The food bar is too expensive. Despire of this we would definitely return. We booked at "Priceline" because the regular rates are not moderate.

Room Tip: We do not book first floor because of safety reasons.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melisa G, Manager at Courtyard Scottsdale Salt River, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Thank you for letting us know how you enjoyed your visit and the very clean hotel! Many guests like the great pool with the showers and great views of the mountains. Our team prides itself on being friendly and helpful to all of our guests. With our easy access to the freeway, guests are able to enjoy all of what Phoenix has to offer in the way of golf, sports and great dining! Please visit again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    24
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
15
16
7
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014 via mobile

What a delightful hotel. Very reasonable price and excellent staff with professional service. Relatively modest size. Lovely bar and Bistro but properly proportioned to the hotel -- this is a hotel for its guests, unlike many hotels in this area that cater to events for the business, or double as a go-go destination for locals. I think this is a superb choice for couples wanting a tranquil space in the city or business travelers looking to actually focus on their business. Would definitely return. Great staff and wonderful welcome and hospitality from the front desk, Bistro and Banquet staff.

Mr. Kim H.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melisa G, Manager at Courtyard Scottsdale Salt River, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Thank you for letting others learn about our great staff and wonderful welcome for all of our guests! We are pleased to learn that you were impressed by the front desk and Bistro team! Of course our rooms are comfortable and offer a great night’s sleep for our guests. We look forward to another visit and your introducing yourself to our team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okoboji, Iowa
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Stayed here at the recommendation of a friend. No regrets at all. Very new, nicely decorated and well maintained. Very handy having the food prep available in the evenings and AM. Pool and hot tub were very tidy and thoroughly enjoyed. Room was quite nice, with a great view of Camelback. Nicely located for a hike in the AM as well. will definitely return.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melisa G, Manager at Courtyard Scottsdale Salt River, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
It is such a pleasure to read about your great stay and thanks to your friend who provided the recommendation! Word-of-mouth advertising is the very best type of advertising! It sounds like you enjoyed everything from the delicious food and beverages at the Bistro including Starbucks beverages to the pool and patio that provide incredible sunset views over the McDowell Mountains. Our location adjacent to the freeway allows guests the ability to travel around the valley with ease while taking advantage of the numerous sports venues, shopping, the Zoo and Botanical Gardens, and more! All of our surrounding mountain ranges offer great hikes for every level hiker! The popular downtown Scottsdale is minutes away as well. Thank you for staying with us and for passing along your recommendation too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013 via mobile

It's in a good location close to alot of shopping. A very modern place with large clean rooms and efficient room cleaning staff and very helpful lobby staff and nice lobby food bar area lots of parking and very nice outside area/pool and workout area

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melisa G, Manager at Courtyard Scottsdale Salt River, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
We do appreciate your letting others know about our great hotel! First of all, I am pleased you had a wonderful visit and the hotel was a positive experience for you. Our location on the Salt River Pima Indian reservation provides many pluses for our guests. We all enjoy the beautiful sunsets, the close proximity to Scottsdale's great shopping and numerous attractions, and easy access to freeways which connect us to the entire Phoenix Valley of the Sun. Guests can take advantage of national sports venues like the Phoenix Suns, Diamondbacks for both Spring Training and games in season, plus the Cardinals. If you are not a sports fan, there are other places to visit from the Heard Museum, Phoenix Art Museum, Botanical Gardens and the Phoneix Zoo. This list just scratches the surface of all there is to do when you visit Phoenix. In the meantime you can be relaxing at our heated pool, enjoying a clean and comfortable room and the great customer service the Marriott name stands for! Please visit again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

This is a newer Courtyard. It is nicely designed, and fits more into the Arizona landscape, which is a very nice touch. The staff was average, but I was very pleased with the room. While the Courtyards are typical, the bathroom had a very nice walk in shower. And what a great design - the shower head and shower faucet were on different walls!! That means when you won't get soaked when you reach in to turn on the shower - all hotel showers should be designed like this! While not in the heart of town, it is very close to some main shopping areas. I stay at Marriotts often, and this is one of the nicer Courtyards I've been in. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melisa G, Manager at Courtyard Scottsdale Salt River, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
We do appreciate your review letting others know your perspective of our Arizona hotel. Being in the desert with views of the McDowell Mountains creates a great evening on the patio for our guests. Our Bistro serves delicious dishes and beverages which make driving somewhere else an option, not mandatory. Thank you for being a loyal Marriott guest. All of the Marriott brands combine a great look and feel of the room and open space, plus have the passion for customer service ingrained in the team. We look forward to your return visit whether it is for business or pleasure. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

I've read nice things about this hotel, I can only think I came at the wrong time.

From the moment I arrived, with the person checking me in enthusing way too much about the presence of the all-girls soccer teams, I should have guessed things might not be up the standard one would expect at a Courtyard.

My reservation was for a high floor, away from the elevator, with no feathers. Guess what I got?

Second floor, by the elevator, and I had to remove the feather pillows and call down for foam replacements. It's not that hard, you know, all it takes is to care as much about all the guests as you do attractive female teens.

The presence of the exuberant girls made for a noisy weekend. The screaming and hollering in the halls, the lobby, much of the hotel meant I didn't get to checkout the amenities at all.

It seemed a nice hotel. Perhaps it actually is.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melisa G, Manager at Courtyard Scottsdale Salt River, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Please know how sorry I am to learn of your noisy experience at the hotel. My biggest concern is your not getting the room selection you preferred as we do review reservation requests with the intention of honoring those all of them. Sometimes these sports groups do cause noise challenges and your review helps us realize our team needs to be more diligent in monitoring behaviors in the public areas. We are sorry you missed getting to know the hotel and what we have to offer from the beautiful views, to our Bistro and Starbucks beverages! Many guests enjoy the patio views while dining or relaxing at the end of the day. Thanks for giving us feedback so we can make changes for the future. On a personal note, please give our hotel another opportunity to shine in your eyes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Top Contributor
383 reviews 383 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 108 cities Reviews in 108 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

I found this hotel to be very nice and some of the newer touches in the hotel were great. The shower is very large and has great pressure. The room was good sized and I never felt boxed in. The sound isulation was pretty good, as I only heard people from time to time (but I am a very heavy sleeper) The furniture and carpeting are all new, and it was nice to have a seperate area just for the refrigerator and microwave. I did find the placement of the coffee maker in the closet to be odd, and I wished they had a safe, other then that it would be a location I would return to. Having said all that, I would like to say that this location is in an odd location (meaning far away from things) It is close to the freeway so that is nice, but there really isnt anything around the hotel if you didnt have a car. There is a Walmart down the street but it is a block and a half way. The staff is the superstars at this location and they are strict on people making excessive noise in the hotel (which I appreciated) and they make you feel like a VIP.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melisa G, Manager at Courtyard Scottsdale Salt River, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
How pleased we are to know that our team made you feel like a VIP throughout your stay. Thank you for letting others know about our hotel as we are proud to be a part of the Marriott Brand of hotels. Like you, we value a relaxing and quiet environment! With a mix of guests from leisure to business, we know everyone is here to get a good night’s sleep. During the day there is nothing better than relaxing on the patio with great views of the mountains with a Starbucks beverage which are available at our Bistro. Our guests like the quiet of the desert and with easy access to the freeway allowing guests to get to most places within a 20 minute window. For short trips including the fabulous downtown Scottsdale, we provide shuttle service to enable guests to take advantage of unique restaurants, shopping and activities. That way our guests are not stranded at the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard Scottsdale Salt River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Scottsdale Salt River

Address: 5201 North Pima Road, Scottsdale, AZ 85250
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 78 Hotels in Scottsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Scottsdale Salt River 3*
Number of rooms: 153
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard Scottsdale Salt River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard Scottsdale Salt River, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.