We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Distrito

Distrito
4000 North Drinkwater, Scottsdale, AZ 85251
480-970-4444
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Distrito is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #158 of 1,013 restaurants in Scottsdale
Price range: $12 - $60
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Indian School Rd./ Buckboard
Transit: Valley Metro bus Route 41- Indian School arriving every half hour, Scottsdale Trolley, Ollie the Trolley.
Description: Distrito is a cool celebration of the culture and cuisine of Mexico City, with a menu focused on the cuisine of what is known by locals as the "Distrito Federal.” With a premium tequila bar and lounge seating, Distrito is an exciting backdrop for Chef Garces' modern Mexican small plates.Private Parties: Distrito welcomes groups of all sizes. Festive settings, service and menus are perfect for intimate dinners with friends, special occasions and holidays, corporate meetings and staff parties.
Cincinnati, Ohio, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The menu is limited but the service is beyond repoach. the staff is as friendly as any I have ever encountered

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niels V, Manager at Distrito, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Hi Ron,

We are so happy you enjoyed the service! We hope to see you again soon.

Best Regards,

Niels Vuijsters
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

75% Recommend
    69
    38
    18
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Convenient for Saguaro guests”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

I had dinner here when arriving late in to Scottsdale and staying at the hotel Saguaro which is part of the same place. It served good Mexican food, but no atmosphere, it was empty.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niels V, Manager at Distrito, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Hi RupertPaul,

We're glad you liked the food. We hope to see you again soon!

Best Regards,

Niels Vuijsters
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great views of Old town Scottsdale park”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

The ambience was average. The food was incredible. A plus!!! For the price...worth every penny. A surprise to have food that delicious in an average atmosphere. Waitstaff excellent.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niels V, Manager at Distrito, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Hi Margie P.,

We are so glad you had such a great experience! We can't wait to see you again!
Best Regards,

Niels Vuijsters
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Park, CA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Not your typical Mexican Restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

The best meal of our trip was here! It is located in the back of the Sagaro Hotel. There are no chips and salsa though, if that is what you are craving! We ordered smoked quail with a goat cheese crepe, with pistachio and sliced fig garnish--so flavorful and delicious--my husband kept raving about it! My fish tacos were the best I have had anywhere! The fish of the day was Mahi Mahi, looked to be marinated in a green sauce, grilled or baked, garnished with just the right amount of pickled red cabbage for crunch and achiote sauce for spice...yummm! Another treat were the corn cake bites served before dinner--bite sized morsels in a smokey habenero (or some pepper) honey drizzle, with maple butter on the side-- to die for and so great with the drinks! These were small plates, so if you are hungry, you will have to share a few. This is gourmet, Mexican influenced dining! They had a lot of interesting cocktails--including some with the smokey Mezcal Tequilla--definitely an acquired taste. Blood orange Margarita was delicious, not the typical sweet margarita. Regular margaritas were also available, as well as good wine and beer offerings. We had outdoor seating, with a view of a part of the Old Town walking area (no cars, no street noise)--restaurants, shops, grassy areas. Wish we had Distrito near LA--I would be there frequently!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niels V, Manager at Distrito, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Hi suntraveler222,

So glad that you enjoyed your experience! We can't wait to see you again!
Best Regards,

Niels Vuijsters
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe, AZ
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Ditto Distrito-Update - will not return”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

I loved Distrito so much that I organized a group of eight for tapas style dining. Once seated, we were informed that not ONE item from the former menu made it to the new menu. Now why would you ruin a good thing? The waiter informed me that it was because the local folks could not understand how to dine at a tapas restaurant. When I ordered the corn sopa, he was shocked and just stood there with his jaw open saying "Is that all?" The food is way over priced for the portion size and the service left much to be desired. The music was so loud that we could not even speak with the person sitting next to or across and turing the music down apparently was not an option.This is my first negative review on Trip Advisor but I fet Distritio really let me down. Distrito lost me (and my friends) and I will not be returning for a sixth dining experience.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Distrito also viewed

Scottsdale, Central Arizona
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 

Been to Distrito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Distrito, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.