We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Scottsdale Villa Mirage

Save Saved
You added Scottsdale Villa Mirage to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Scottsdale Villa Mirage
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   7887 East Princess Blvd, Scottsdale, AZ 85255   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #48 of 78 hotels in Scottsdale
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Excellent resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

We are just finishing up three days here in a 2 bedroom suite using Diamond Resort points. While not owners here we had no trouble getting a 2 bedroom. There are three of us two kids and me grandma. I knew it would be hot and it is but the pool is very cool and lovely.

From our arrival it has been excellent. Our room was not ready but Bill at the front desk suggested a great restaurant for lunch and then called when room was ready. A small glitch when keys did not work and had to return to front desk but it was handled quickly and with great apology. Even had a maintenance man meet me at room to ensure we got in

I specifically asked for 3rd floor knowing I would need to get bags upstairs. Not a big deal for me but obviously a problem for people with mobility issues.

Suite is terrific. 2 large bedrooms with baths. Walkin showers. Kids room has bed and pullout couch which has new very comfortable mattress. I have second bedroom with adjoining bath. Living room has pullout couch too although we don't need it. The place is very clean and nice furniture kitchen is large with everything you need. We only eat breakfast here but I'm sure you could cook almost anything. There is a washer and dryer. I like the room cool and the air conditioning gets it down to 65 nicely. I read that someone had trouble with thermostat but instructions are on inside of cover and very easy to use. Same thing with coffee maker.

Because we are Gold diamond owners I get free wifi and a daily paper delivered to room.

There are lots of activities at the pool including games and dive in movies. Good restaurants and movie theaters close by.

I was a little put off by some of the reviews but this was a good place to stop for a few days and it was a relatively small number
Of diamond points for what you get. I am very impressed with the customer service from all the staff and the facilities. I'm so glad we stayed here. Definitely a jewel in the desert!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Scottsdale Villa Mirage, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Thank you for sharing your thoughts about your recent stay here at Scottsdale Villa Mirage. We were extremely pleased to read that our accommodations, activities, amenities, customer service, and location met, if not exceeded your expectations. For those who request or require (due to accessibility) a 1st floor accommodation, we suggest contacting our front desk before hand, and they will do everything in their power to assist with your request/requirement. Please be advised that while we do accept requests, we cannot guarantee them. Your recommendation is greatly appreciated. We hope you come visit us again the next time your travels take you to Scottsdale!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    79
    95
    44
    14
    10
See reviews for
70
110
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
208 helpful votes 208 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

I stayed at the Village Mirage for a week with my family in July 2013, we all really enjoyed the resort.

The property is located at the Northern end of Scottsdale, about 2 miles off the 101 freeway. I was expecting to have a hard time finding it because of previous reviews, but it’s pretty straight forward. If you are coming of N. Scottsdale Road, just turn onto E. Princess, and go straight past the Fairmont and Zona hotels, past the traffic circle, E. Princess Blvd. ends at the Villa Mirage.

There are not any stores or restaurants walking distance from the resort, but a very short drive from the resort you’ll find grocery stores, Target store, Walmart, entertainment/attractions, anything you could want.

The resort consist of eight buildings, none of which are very far from the pool area. Buildings 7 & 8 are probably the farthest. The buildings are 3 floors, but there are no elevators, so if you have small children or are elderly I would request a ground unit. All of the units have been recently updated except for one building, but they are currently updating that and those units are not available for rent, so there is no chance of getting an outdated unit. There are ice machines for each building. You can park directly in front of your unit for free.

The grounds are well maintained with a desert design, not much greenery, but it looks nice. The resort has two tennis courts, a very large pool (open 8am - 10pm) with a water fall, a very large jacuzzi, a 1' toddler pool, and a small splash pad. They have a supervised kids activity center next to the pool, where the kids can play video games, ping pong, and they have craft projects that cost between $3-$10. There is also the Oasis café (open 11-7pm) which serves sandwiches, salads, pizzas, kids menus, softdrinks, beer, and cocktails. The drinks are good, and prices reasonable. They also have daily drink specials. Also in the Activity Center building are 24-hours free washer/dryers (Tide/Bounce $1 each), and a gym with cardio and weights. The Activity Center also has daily contests, on certain nights a Texas Hold’em tournament, and on certain nights movies by the pool, all for free. When you check in make sure to grab an activity schedule.

In the lobby they have a large HD television with couches, 2 computers stations and a printer, which are semi-private, a free coffee & tea area, and a DVD rental shelf. The customer service at the resort was excellent, everyone was very nice and professional.

After check-in they will direct you over to the concierge which is also the timeshare presentation representative. They will invite you to attend a presentation for a gift, they will also provide you with a very useful “vacation planner” which has a great, easy to read local map, and a list of local businesses and phone numbers. The resort is a timeshare, so they will invite you to a timeshare presentation.

We were not going to, but we ended up attending the timeshare presentation. The sales person was very nice, a little disappointed when we didn’t buy, but stayed nice. No hard sell, and the entire presentation took 90 minutes, which we were guaranteed it would not go past. They also gave us a free hot breakfast during the presentation.

The studio room was very nice, a little small for 2 adults and 2 children, but not too bad. It would be perfect for just 2 adults. The room was recently updated, and everything looked new. The room had everything you could want; a very comfortable sofa sleeper, an medium size HD televison with lots of cable channels and free HBO, but no PPV. It also has a DVD player and you can rent DVD’s in the lobby for $2 per night. There is an IPOD docking station, a safe, iron/board, and a small patio with chairs and a table. There is WIFI for a fee through AT&T, I think it was about $10 per night. The receptionist told me they are working on switching over to having that be a standard free amenity in the near future. The bed and pillows were very comfortable.

The bathroom was medium sized and a traditional set-up of the sink, shower and toilet all being in the same room. There is no tub, but the shower was very large. The bathroom was nicely decorated and well maintained.

The room also had a mini-kitchen with a full-size refrigerator, electric oven, microwave, dishwasher, cooking ware and utensils, and flatware, plates, bowls, glassware for 4. Anything you would want in a kitchen is provided.

Because this resort is a timeshare condominium style, housekeeping is only once midway through your stay. I believe for a fee you can have daily housekeeping. If you need anything, just call the front desk, and they will bring it to you with no problem.

One night we wanted to have pizza for dinner. The receptionist recommended the NYPD - New York Pizza Department. The food we ordered was excellent. They deliver and the prices were very reasonable. I would highly recommend this restaurant if you are in the mood for pizza.

I would not call this resort “Grand,” but I would call it very enjoyable and comfortable. I could see how the staff was really interested in making our vacation fun and carefree. The found the resort to be a very short drive to everything we wanted to do in the phoenix area. We loved the accommodations, the kids loved the pool, especially the pool movie nights. There was a lot to do at the resort for families with children. I would stay here again if ever in the area. I would recommend this resort to all my family and friends.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castro Valley, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

If you want to be treated like a celebrity, come to this place. Imagine yourself in Cancun or Cabo San Lucas without the ocean but plenty of art galleries and desert activities. Grand Canyon and Sedona are not too far away. The kids loved the swimming pool. Friendly atmosphere. The resort seem to be renovating their villas and we ended up in a recently renovated ADA compliant villa. It was a great experience. Kids want to go back.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Scottsdale Villa Mirage, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
We are looking forward to the next opportunity to offer you our great service and accommodation and we hope that you will pay us another visit soon. Thank you for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telluride, Colorado
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Insufficient parking, spotty a/c, no complimentary internet, dirty couch, no ice maker in fridge and a room less than 300 square feet make this a one time visit for us. Properties managed by Diamond Resorts seem to be getting worse each year and that's a shame.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Scottsdale Villa Mirage, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
We were very concerned to hear that your stay here did not meet your expectations. Our parking is configured to handle the parking needs for all guests, even when we are booked to capacity. Unfortunately, this may mean guests who arrive later in the evening may have to walk a little ways to get to their rooms. Our smallest room type: studio is actually 350 square feet. The Wi-Fi internet is managed and operated by a 3rd party vendor. We do not collect payments for this fee nor do we make any revenue off of these fees. We provide Wi-Fi as an option to our guests who select to use it. Costs for using Wi-Fi are provided beforehand on our website, and we try to make sure our 3rd party vendors notify their customers before booking. Our front desk staff would have been more than happy to look into your a/c, dirty couch, and ice maker issues if advised to them while you were here. Contrary to your statement, Diamond Resorts is constantly making improvements to our resorts, and we feel the majority of our guests are quite satisfied with the improvements that have been made to date. If you are willing to give us another chance, we are extremely confident that your next stay will be much more enjoyable and even exceed your expectations. We sincerely appreciate your business with us and wish you the best on all your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wildomar, California
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

The resort pool with the waterfall is a nice touch! Weston, the concierge, was very attentive to my grandson, as well as to me. The rooms are nice, and nicely appointed. There are many things to see and do nearby. I recommend Arcosanti and Deer Valley Rock Art Center. We plan to go back to this resort!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

This is a timeshare that also is open to the public. Since we were "swapping" time in our property, we expected the rooms to be well-appointed, spacious, and comfortable. I place this property on the low end of our expectations. We were entitled to a 1-bedroom suite. They gave us a studio. The studio was smaller than chain motel "suites," and there was no attempt to partition the sleeping area from the kitchen area. If someone opens the door, the bed is clearly visible.
These are just picky issues, however. The serious issue is that although their literature speaks about "our concern for special-needs guests," don't go if you have ANY kind of special-needs health issues. I had a knee injury that made staying in the room (and getting up and down from it) both scary and painful.

Here are some egregious special-needs oversights:
There are NO elevators or ramps to access upper-floor rooms (the buildings are 3-story). They would not promise to give us a 1st-floor room--and they didn't. There are no shower grip bars in the bathroom, and the entire bathroom tile floor is extra slippery. We had to hold onto the shower head, counters, and walls to move around in there after a shower. There also was no grip bar next to the toilet.
Other issues that should not have been issues: 1). They charge for use of their wi-fi. Even the most modest motel chains provide computer use without charge. They did waive the fee since they had not been able to give us the room class we were entitled to or the 1st-floor access. But they did so only after it was clear that they were already not meeting my needs during check-in. If I hadn't asked, they would have charged us. 2). There is no desk area for the computer. You have to use the kitchen table (risky). Again, chain motels usually have a desk for the computer. 3). The kitchen equipment is not intuitive, and you will go crazy in the morning if you try to use their coffee maker and haven't figured it out the night before (we even have the same type maker at home, but this one was so "fancy" that turning it on and pouring the coffee out took careful study and a pair of glasses). Ironically, on the morning that we left, we discovered a binder containing all the user manuals, stuck in the upper-most cupboard above the refrigerator--not on the counter where you might expect to find anything instructional. 4). The heater/air-conditioning system is so complicated that you'll need an engineering degree to figure it out (again no instructions)--and my husband formerly owned a system controls company! 5).They were miserly about everything: soap, shampoo, lotion; and did not make up the room or replace any of the usual items. We could have, however, "purchased" more soap, lotion, etc. (none of the items were worth purchasing). I guess you also could request fee-based maid service. I didn't ask. 6). Even though they knew we were "owners," they pushed hard for us to sit through their presentation. Really hard. Annoyingly hard. We declined, multiple times.
The grounds are okay, but there is only a small adults-only spa (for 6 buildings) that is hard to find and not particularly inviting, since it was some distance from our building, and Scottsdale temperatures in May do not invite long walks. They put a lot of effort into making the place look nice, but staying there was not a particularly special experience.
There is no restaurant, no complimentary breakfast; you are on your own at this no-frills place.
We won't be return guests.

Room Tip: If you need a first-floor room, ask them whether they can promise availability. Many rooms look out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Scottsdale Villa Mirage, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
We regret that you weren’t satisfied with your room assignment upon arrival at Scottsdale Villa Mirage. When you deposit into an exchange program, the exchange program determines the available room types for your deposit. The studio room was confirmed through the exchange company, and unfortunately, our team has no control over that determination.

Scottsdale Villa Mirage is adamant about ensuring that our property is up to ADA standards. If a special needs unit in required, it is important that our front desk is notified prior to arrival so that we can assure the necessary room type is available and our guest is accommodated. We have special needs equipment available for guests including, but not limited, to shower chairs, wheel chairs, toilet seat rises, and portable hand rails for showers. Additionally, rubber mats are available in every room and are stored under the vanity, below the sink. All Special Needs requests are fulfilled as a priority, subject to our availability to do so.

As our property is jointly owned, the decision to charge for wi-fi was made by our Owner’s Association. This is to ensure that only those who use this feature are charged for it.

While it is unfortunate that you had difficulties with the coffee maker, we do provide instructions in the room to ensure that this process is as simple as possible for all of our guests. While you are correct that instructions are not provided for the Heating/Air Conditioning, our front desk team would have been more than happy to assist upon being contacted. We selected this specific model due to common use in the industry and reported ease of use, and we regret that this was not the case in your experience.

We apologize for any miscommunication regarding the room amenities; however, we can assure you that these would be replaced when requested from our front desk team or during the mid-week cleaning. A complimentary mid-week cleaning is offered for stays of 7 days or more; however, towels and trash removal are complimentary and can be requested at any time.

The adult spa was intentionally placed away from the main area on property. Since the area is exclusive to adults, we wanted to ensure that those enjoying it could relax away from the noise of the main pool. We regret that this was a inconvenience to you, and we hope that you found usage of the other pools more accommodating.

We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

I stayed at the Scottsdale Villa Mirage at the end of 2012. Upon check-in, I was given a sales pitch to obtain a timeshare; and although I told the person behind the counter that I wasn't interested, they wouldn't take no for an answer and was quite pushy, and I had to walk away. The location was a little out of the way, being at the end of a long dead end street, so I had to travel a bit to get back to the resort each night. The use of the washer and dryer and complimentary laundry detergent was a big plus! The staff was very friendly and helpful. I enjoyed the all-night open lobby, where I used the internet, watched tv and had a cup of tea. I found my room clean and the bed extremely comfortable. The kitchen and bathroom in my unit were spacious. I enjoyed the heated pool and spa and took advantage of the free water aerobics class with an excellent instuctor. I would definitely recommend the Scottsdale Villa Mirage.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Scottsdale Villa Mirage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scottsdale Villa Mirage

Address: 7887 East Princess Blvd, Scottsdale, AZ 85255
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Top resorts Hotel in Scottsdale
#39 Romantic Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Scottsdale Villa Mirage 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Scottsdale Villa Mirage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scottsdale Villa Mirage Hotel Scottsdale
Scottsdale Hotel Mirage
Scottsdale Resort Mirage

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scottsdale Villa Mirage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.