We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“World class resort.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Scottsdale Villa Mirage

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Scottsdale Villa Mirage to your Saves list
Scottsdale Villa Mirage
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   7887 East Princess Blvd, Scottsdale, AZ 85255   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #49 of 78 Hotels in Scottsdale
Castro Valley, California
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“World class resort.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

If you want to be treated like a celebrity, come to this place. Imagine yourself in Cancun or Cabo San Lucas without the ocean but plenty of art galleries and desert activities. Grand Canyon and Sedona are not too far away. The kids loved the swimming pool. Friendly atmosphere. The resort seem to be renovating their villas and we ended up in a recently renovated ADA compliant villa. It was a great experience. Kids want to go back.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Scottsdale Villa Mirage, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
We are looking forward to the next opportunity to offer you our great service and accommodation and we hope that you will pay us another visit soon. Thank you for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    115
    53
    18
    11
See reviews for
86
132
9
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Telluride, Colorado
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

Insufficient parking, spotty a/c, no complimentary internet, dirty couch, no ice maker in fridge and a room less than 300 square feet make this a one time visit for us. Properties managed by Diamond Resorts seem to be getting worse each year and that's a shame.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Scottsdale Villa Mirage, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
We were very concerned to hear that your stay here did not meet your expectations. Our parking is configured to handle the parking needs for all guests, even when we are booked to capacity. Unfortunately, this may mean guests who arrive later in the evening may have to walk a little ways to get to their rooms. Our smallest room type: studio is actually 350 square feet. The Wi-Fi internet is managed and operated by a 3rd party vendor. We do not collect payments for this fee nor do we make any revenue off of these fees. We provide Wi-Fi as an option to our guests who select to use it. Costs for using Wi-Fi are provided beforehand on our website, and we try to make sure our 3rd party vendors notify their customers before booking. Our front desk staff would have been more than happy to look into your a/c, dirty couch, and ice maker issues if advised to them while you were here. Contrary to your statement, Diamond Resorts is constantly making improvements to our resorts, and we feel the majority of our guests are quite satisfied with the improvements that have been made to date. If you are willing to give us another chance, we are extremely confident that your next stay will be much more enjoyable and even exceed your expectations. We sincerely appreciate your business with us and wish you the best on all your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wildomar, California
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

The resort pool with the waterfall is a nice touch! Weston, the concierge, was very attentive to my grandson, as well as to me. The rooms are nice, and nicely appointed. There are many things to see and do nearby. I recommend Arcosanti and Deer Valley Rock Art Center. We plan to go back to this resort!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

This is a timeshare that also is open to the public. Since we were "swapping" time in our property, we expected the rooms to be well-appointed, spacious, and comfortable. I place this property on the low end of our expectations. We were entitled to a 1-bedroom suite. They gave us a studio. The studio was smaller than chain motel "suites," and there was no attempt to partition the sleeping area from the kitchen area. If someone opens the door, the bed is clearly visible.
These are just picky issues, however. The serious issue is that although their literature speaks about "our concern for special-needs guests," don't go if you have ANY kind of special-needs health issues. I had a knee injury that made staying in the room (and getting up and down from it) both scary and painful.

Here are some egregious special-needs oversights:
There are NO elevators or ramps to access upper-floor rooms (the buildings are 3-story). They would not promise to give us a 1st-floor room--and they didn't. There are no shower grip bars in the bathroom, and the entire bathroom tile floor is extra slippery. We had to hold onto the shower head, counters, and walls to move around in there after a shower. There also was no grip bar next to the toilet.
Other issues that should not have been issues: 1). They charge for use of their wi-fi. Even the most modest motel chains provide computer use without charge. They did waive the fee since they had not been able to give us the room class we were entitled to or the 1st-floor access. But they did so only after it was clear that they were already not meeting my needs during check-in. If I hadn't asked, they would have charged us. 2). There is no desk area for the computer. You have to use the kitchen table (risky). Again, chain motels usually have a desk for the computer. 3). The kitchen equipment is not intuitive, and you will go crazy in the morning if you try to use their coffee maker and haven't figured it out the night before (we even have the same type maker at home, but this one was so "fancy" that turning it on and pouring the coffee out took careful study and a pair of glasses). Ironically, on the morning that we left, we discovered a binder containing all the user manuals, stuck in the upper-most cupboard above the refrigerator--not on the counter where you might expect to find anything instructional. 4). The heater/air-conditioning system is so complicated that you'll need an engineering degree to figure it out (again no instructions)--and my husband formerly owned a system controls company! 5).They were miserly about everything: soap, shampoo, lotion; and did not make up the room or replace any of the usual items. We could have, however, "purchased" more soap, lotion, etc. (none of the items were worth purchasing). I guess you also could request fee-based maid service. I didn't ask. 6). Even though they knew we were "owners," they pushed hard for us to sit through their presentation. Really hard. Annoyingly hard. We declined, multiple times.
The grounds are okay, but there is only a small adults-only spa (for 6 buildings) that is hard to find and not particularly inviting, since it was some distance from our building, and Scottsdale temperatures in May do not invite long walks. They put a lot of effort into making the place look nice, but staying there was not a particularly special experience.
There is no restaurant, no complimentary breakfast; you are on your own at this no-frills place.
We won't be return guests.

Room Tip: If you need a first-floor room, ask them whether they can promise availability. Many rooms look out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Scottsdale Villa Mirage, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
We regret that you weren’t satisfied with your room assignment upon arrival at Scottsdale Villa Mirage. When you deposit into an exchange program, the exchange program determines the available room types for your deposit. The studio room was confirmed through the exchange company, and unfortunately, our team has no control over that determination.

Scottsdale Villa Mirage is adamant about ensuring that our property is up to ADA standards. If a special needs unit in required, it is important that our front desk is notified prior to arrival so that we can assure the necessary room type is available and our guest is accommodated. We have special needs equipment available for guests including, but not limited, to shower chairs, wheel chairs, toilet seat rises, and portable hand rails for showers. Additionally, rubber mats are available in every room and are stored under the vanity, below the sink. All Special Needs requests are fulfilled as a priority, subject to our availability to do so.

As our property is jointly owned, the decision to charge for wi-fi was made by our Owner’s Association. This is to ensure that only those who use this feature are charged for it.

While it is unfortunate that you had difficulties with the coffee maker, we do provide instructions in the room to ensure that this process is as simple as possible for all of our guests. While you are correct that instructions are not provided for the Heating/Air Conditioning, our front desk team would have been more than happy to assist upon being contacted. We selected this specific model due to common use in the industry and reported ease of use, and we regret that this was not the case in your experience.

We apologize for any miscommunication regarding the room amenities; however, we can assure you that these would be replaced when requested from our front desk team or during the mid-week cleaning. A complimentary mid-week cleaning is offered for stays of 7 days or more; however, towels and trash removal are complimentary and can be requested at any time.

The adult spa was intentionally placed away from the main area on property. Since the area is exclusive to adults, we wanted to ensure that those enjoying it could relax away from the noise of the main pool. We regret that this was a inconvenience to you, and we hope that you found usage of the other pools more accommodating.

We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, New York
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

I stayed at the Scottsdale Villa Mirage at the end of 2012. Upon check-in, I was given a sales pitch to obtain a timeshare; and although I told the person behind the counter that I wasn't interested, they wouldn't take no for an answer and was quite pushy, and I had to walk away. The location was a little out of the way, being at the end of a long dead end street, so I had to travel a bit to get back to the resort each night. The use of the washer and dryer and complimentary laundry detergent was a big plus! The staff was very friendly and helpful. I enjoyed the all-night open lobby, where I used the internet, watched tv and had a cup of tea. I found my room clean and the bed extremely comfortable. The kitchen and bathroom in my unit were spacious. I enjoyed the heated pool and spa and took advantage of the free water aerobics class with an excellent instuctor. I would definitely recommend the Scottsdale Villa Mirage.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centennial, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

We were able to get a good groupon deal to stay at this resort, and so the value was great. The studio room was a perfect size for us, and we enjoyed the large fridge, 2 burner stove top, microwave, and dishwasher that came with the kitchen. The pool area was nice with plenty of umbrellas for shade, and it was not too crowded in June when we were there (however the average temp was 110). The only disappointment was that wifi cost 6.95/day and we heard from other guests that neighboring resorts and hotels offered free wifi. We were able to use one of the 2 computers in the lobby, but had problems with their internet as well. Overall, we had a good experience and it was perfect for a quiet and relaxing vacation spot.

Room Tip: If you are a couple, the studio size is perfectly adequate, with a large bathroom and nice kitchen a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chadron, Nebraska
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We really enjoyed the Scottsdale location, as we were very near to great shopping and restaurants.

The room had a good kitchen and a large bathroom with a soaking tub and oversized shower stall. The bed was very comfortable and we slept very well all week.

However, the exteriors of the buildings were out of date and the outside areas were dirty. We saw lots of bird droppings, gum on the sidewalk, dirty building exteriors, and the pool area was not especially clean. The stairwells were particularly bad.

Our son enjoyed the splash pad, but there were bees there during the day and some of the water jets were not working. As mentioned in other reviews, the pool was very busy at all times.

Also, parking was tight in the evenings. Unless we came back early, we had to park quite a ways from our unit in the evenings.

Overall we had a good in-room experience but the outside of the property did not impress.

Room Tip: If you want to join Diamond, you can just get a membership on eBay for a few bucks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Scottsdale Villa Mirage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scottsdale Villa Mirage

Address: 7887 East Princess Blvd, Scottsdale, AZ 85255
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Top resorts Hotel in Scottsdale
#41 Romantic Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Scottsdale Villa Mirage 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Groupon and Hotels.com so you can book your Scottsdale Villa Mirage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scottsdale Villa Mirage Hotel Scottsdale
Scottsdale Hotel Mirage
Scottsdale Resort Mirage

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scottsdale Villa Mirage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.