We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Best Suited for Business” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Saguaro, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added The Saguaro, a Joie de Vivre Hotel to your Saves list
The Saguaro, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4000 N. Drinkwater Blvd, Scottsdale, AZ 85251   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Stay 3 Nights and Save
Ranked #55 of 78 Hotels in Scottsdale
Omaha, Nebraska
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Not Best Suited for Business”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

Our firm hosted a conference here in October. The hotel is in downtown Scottsdale, and from there it is a pleasant walk to the art galleries and boutiques. At night, you can catch a golf cart cab ride to anywhere. The hotel pools are very attractive. The rooms are colorful, but some of our guests thought that they were outdated and dirty. Staff was attentive, but a few times they did not replenish food on the buffet line fast enough. This hotel only has one conference room . While I would enjoy staying here for a weekend of site seeing or relaxation, it isn’t suited for business conferences.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgan K, Manager at The Saguaro, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Hello Awenzl,

Thank you for taking some time out to review your stay with us in Scottsdale. We appreciate our guests’ feedback.

We host many business meetings and conferences here. Surprisingly we have about 10,000 square feet of indoor and outdoor meeting space; from large event spaces to smaller breakout rooms. If a guest is here on business, we hope they get some leisure time to enjoy some of our surroundings like the art galleries and boutiques you mentioned.

We hope to see you next time on a more relaxing weekend!

Sincerely,
Morgan K.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

517 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    166
    76
    38
    25
See reviews for
71
177
34
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay at the saguaro. Extremely gracious staff, nice pools and hot tub. Terrific location, easy to walk to downtown Scottsdale and great restaurants. Bikes are fun way to take advantage of the bike trail system in Scottsdale. We were unable to use the spa because they were booked up ( evildently popular with locals) and they didn't bother to return calls.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgan K, Manager at The Saguaro, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Hello Abqbruce,

We appreciate you writing a review about your stay!

I will have to agree with you, our team is amazing and like you said, “Extremely Gracious”! We strive to make sure each and every guest feels warm and welcomed during their stay with us. I will make sure to pass along your compliments to our team! On your next return to Scottsdale we will get in to experience our spa!

Sincerely,
Morgan K
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Absolutely awful time here. We got into town late and just wanted a nice quiet place to stay the Night in old town. This hotel is in an awesome location! Found a great deal on Expedia, so we booked it. To start, the sign to check in was pointed towards the opposite end of the hotel and we took almost half an hour trying to find the check in(petty I know, but when it's 2am this was not fun). Next, the check in process took forever! I've worked in resorts when I was younger and this is NO resort. A motel at best. The older lady at the check in desk was horrible and extremely unfriendly. Got to our room. Toilet stopped up when flushed for first time. Old gross room that just got painted bright orange. There was a party going on next door and the walls were paper thin. Not a good place to stay if you're looking to relax. Was almost 3am when finally got settled in so we were too exhausted to deal with the million issues that came up within our short amount of time there. Checked out first thing in the morning and ran out of there. Awful experience would never come back here and advise others to stay away.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgan K, Manager at The Saguaro, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Hello Ariroq,

Thank you for reviewing your latest stay with us in Scottsdale.

I apologize about your experience that you had. This is not a normal occurrence here at the Saguaro. Due to our proximity to the nightlife of Old Town, we cannot completely prevent those who like to enjoy themselves a little too much from making excessive noise. However, if given the knowledge, our security staff can be of use in quieting down the guests in question and will do so if notified.

I would like to hear more about you stay with us if you could contact me at your earliest convenience at mkunse@jdvhotels.com.

Sincerely,
Morgan K
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

My wife and I and several friends stayed at The Saguaro over New Years - we were in town for the Fiesta Bowl. Overall, our experience was great and we would stay here again on any return trips to Scottsdale.

-The staff was absolutely great. Very helpful.
-You could tell the hotel itself is old but had been given a recent face lift with a lot of bright paint.
-Overall, the rooms were very clean but a little small. No dressers or anywhere to put clothes.
-We ate dinner at the hotel's restaurant, Distrito, on NYE. Great food, OK drinks, OK service (a little slow despite not being that busy). Only real complaint about dinner was the music. They had some sort of live, authentic Mexican group that basically consisted of a guitar, a lady who clapped, a lady who danced, and (worst of all) a lady who banged wooden blocks together. We were all in a hurry to leave mostly because of the music.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgan K, Manager at The Saguaro, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Hello Steven W,

Happy New Year!

We appreciate your feedback on your recent stay here. I apologize you did not enjoy the music that night, I will be sure to take your review back to the team. Otherwise, we hope you and your friends return here soon! Will we see you all for Spring Training?

Sincerely,
Morgan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott, Arizona
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

Although there are obvious efforts to "update" this older hotel, the changes are primarily cosmetic. Without a major overhaul, new paint and fixtures can only do so much. However, dated as it might be, this property offers a friendly, comfortable stay in the heart of Old Town Scottsdale. The strong points are: 1) convenient walking proximity to Old Town shopping, dinning and art galleries; 2) adjoining Iron Chef Jose Garces' Districo Restaurant, featuring a delightful "Mexican nuveo" tasting menu; 3) attractive grounds and pool; 4) full-service boutique spa; 5) early-morning espresso bar; and 6) free use of cruiser bicycles. Drawbacks are: 1) no in-room minibar or microwave; 2) no screens on balcony doors; and 3) the added-on "resort fee."

Room Tip: As might be expected, rooms overlooking the pool area are somewhat noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgan K, Manager at The Saguaro, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Hello JerrycAZ!

We appreciate you writing a review about you stay with us at the Saguaro.

We do have many perks like you stated, location, Distrito, pools, spa and more. I am hoping you got enjoy at least a few of our amenities! I do apologize if you were caught off guard about the resort fee. The fee covers many features such as complimentary Wi-Fi in-room and throughout the hotel and pool areas, complimentary valet parking, complimentary in-room coffee, complimentary fitness center use, complimentary yoga classes, and complimentary local and long distance calls.

We hope you return soon to enjoy all our amenities!

Sincerely,
Morgan K
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

Before our stay here I tried to contact the hotel through their website to arrange for a car service to pick us up from the airport, I emailed three times including once to the manager after getting no response. Suffice to say I had to arrange this myself as no one contacted us, so I was a disappointed with them before I had actually checked in.
Glad to say this is no indicative of the service we got when we arrived which was excellent front the front desk onwards. The rooms were comfortable and the whole resort has a nice feel to it with bright colours everywhere. We were there in the Winter but I could certainly see that the pool area would be a great place to hang out during the day. One downside is that the hotel is surrounded by quite busy roads the noise of which was quite intrusive in our room.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgan K, Manager at The Saguaro, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Hi Islington70,

Thank you for your review. But, I do apologize that no one got in touch with you about your transportation. I want you to know this is not a normal occurrence.
On the other hand I am happy to read you enjoyed your stay, even in our “winter season”. We hope you get to return sooner than later to enjoy a stay during our warmer times; this way you can see what our pools are all about!

Sincerely,
Morgan K
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st louis
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

I wish that the guest rooms at The Saguaro lived up to the rest of the facility. The lobby, restaurants, pools, and grounds are beautiful. The location is great - walking distance to shopping, nightlife, and plenty of restaurants. For those reasons, we would consider staying at The Saguaro again. The downside - the rooms. I must give the hotel an "A" for effort but the rooms are still dreary, cold, and depressing. No amount of colorful paint is going to fix that. For an overnight or weekend, it would be okay, especially if you do not spend much time in your room. Note that the walls are very thin so the least little noise is noticeable. We were unfortunately in an end room right next to the stairwell. This hotel seems to attract a bit of a partying crowd and we were awakened several times by groups coming and going to their rooms during the night. I would recommend insisting on a unit away from the stairs/elevator if you're seeking peace and quiet. Also, beware of the legs on the bed. We resorted to placing chairs at the end of the bed after running into the ill placed legs several times.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the stairs or elevator. Lots of people coming and going late into the nigh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgan K, Manager at The Saguaro, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Hello cardsfan62!

Thank you for taking some time out to write a review about your recent stay.

With our location, being right in Old Town Scottsdale, we tend to bring in a younger crowd due to convenience. I do apologize about the noise, our security team is very adamant about keeping the noise levels down for the comfort of other guests.

As for the bright colors throughout the property, they represent the 12 wildflowers which, as you may know, are indigenous to the Arizona desert!

We do hope you return to enjoy our property again!

Sincerely,
Morgan K.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Saguaro, a Joie de Vivre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Saguaro, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Address: 4000 N. Drinkwater Blvd, Scottsdale, AZ 85251
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 78 Hotels in Scottsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Saguaro, a Joie de Vivre Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scottsdale is the place to go for art, shopping and nightlife in the Valley of the Sun. Now there’s a hotel creating even more desire around the desert experience. The Saguaro has arrived, bringing with it a new look to where Old Town, the Arts district and Civic Center Mall meet. Bright, lush and vibrant, it’s a fresh face amid Scottsdale’s buzzing downtown scene.Guestrooms & Suites. The Saguaro experience begins, fittingly enough, outside amid the arid weather and brilliant sunlight of the Sonoran Desert. Each room exterior is accented by the color of a native desert flower, creating a visual spectrum throughout the resort grounds. Inside, your room’s primary color is joined by contemporary and natural furnishings in wood and leather, including hand-crafted pieces imported from Mexico. Services & Amenities: A stay here is about relaxation, nature and yes, our two famous pools. Both are easy walks from every room, heated and ringed by cabanas. The Saguaro Spa welcomes you to de-stress you even further. When it’s time to recharge, the comprehensive fitness center will get you looking your best for around the poolside bar. Guestroom Amenities• All rooms renovated October 2011• Flat screen, wall mounted 42" HDTVs• Authentic, traditional Mexican furniture • Views of Old Town and Civic Center park (select rooms)• Outdoor patios or step out balconies • Soaking tubs and separate shower (suites)• Work desks• Wireless Internet• Stereo with iPod docking station• On-demand movies and music. Meetings: It’s the weather. The golf courses. The deals closed over cocktails by the pool. Whatever the reason, Scottsdale is a top choice for corporate gatherings. The Saguaro provides over 10,000 square feet of flexible meeting and event space, indoors and out. We’re ready to make your event a strategic success. Scottsdale’s business climate is dynamic. Companies headquartered in Scottsdale include APL, Dial, Fender, Go Daddy, Kahala Corp, Kona Grill, Medicis, P.F. Chang’s, Rural Metro, iCrossing and Taser, to name a few. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Saguaro, a Joie de Vivre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Saguaro, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.