We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The joyful part of life...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Saguaro, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added The Saguaro, a Joie de Vivre Hotel to your Saves list
The Saguaro, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4000 N. Drinkwater Blvd, Scottsdale, AZ 85251   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Stay 3 Nights and Save
Ranked #55 of 78 Hotels in Scottsdale
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The joyful part of life...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

I arrived in Arizona on June 19th in the middle of 117* weather...the best feeling ever! When I walked outside to catch my SUPERSHUTTLE to SAGUARO...I thought..."this is definitely where I belong." The shuttle was prompt ...driver was incredibly friendly and sexy (very Johnny Depp-esqe..but the hotel/motel was what really drew my attention! Caveat: I was not initially intending on going to Arizona...my destination was NEW MEXICO, but "landed" in ARIZONA!!!
The pictures on TRIPADVISOR are completely true and accurate in showing the overall appearance of The SAGUARO! My room was 604 w/ a double...and a patio! With the view from my patio, you have a clear oversite of several museums, eateries and the DISTRIO (main restaurant). I highly recommend going to the orange table...great breakfast and drinks! For ice cream/gelato go to the little shop next door...the gentleman that runs the place is from southern Italy and is really nice...and generous! However, if you are looking for a little adventure go to the scottsdale gelato/creamery...more of a selection! But back to the hotel...it is a hotel/motel!
The facilities are great...the rooms are spacious and very vibrant in color! If you browse through the pics on TRIPADVISOR the bathrooms are exactly how they are pictured. The decoration in each room is very southwest and native in culture...some will even have you "thinking"! I did not use any of the water bar as it was too expensive...went to the local CVS down the street and around the corner. The shower has great water pressure...and an incredible soothing feeling...nothing like at my house or state! But better yet, housekeeping was available if you needed anything extra...like my favorite...coffee...there is a KUERIG in every room!
Last, but not least the hotel is surrounded my tons and tons of restaurants. Since you are also in Old Town Scottsdale, you will see alot of tourist and bargain shops...be weary of the ones you go to! The fashion district is only 15mins by walk or 3mins by trolley (free of charge).
Thank you Greg D. and the wonderful staff of The SAGUARO for making my trip a worthwhile adventure...I do plan on revisiting sometime next year...same time, same place! Thank you!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKleinGM, General Manager at The Saguaro, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear Stephanie,

Thanks for trekking it to Scottsdale in the 117 degree weather to spend some time at the Saguaro. It was really great to hear about your stay with us, and we really appreciate you taking the time to write an extensive review about our hotel. The staff really enjoyed having you here and we look forward to you coming back again next year.

Best,
Alan Klein
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

517 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    166
    76
    38
    25
See reviews for
71
177
34
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Came for 4 days last year, in 2012. Loved it and look forward to returning! Very funky, modern, colourful interior, gorgeous design - fun and sophisticated. Our room was large, also cool decorations. Loved the black and white artsy cactus photos contrasted against all the very saturated bright colours, with white to balance. Bed was great, sheets super. Everything amazing. Loved the 2 pools outside as well. One is a bit larger, with more patio space and a bar there and louder hip music. The other is smaller, in a different courtyard, with a waterfall, more peaceful. We stayed near the more peaceful pool, which was nice, less noisy; our room faced the other hotel so we did not hear traffic on the surrounding roads. Air con was great. Hotel had great valet service, very polite and fast. Also loved the restaurants in the hotel. Within walking distance to the art gallery district in Scottsdale, and also walking distance to many nice restaurants. Easy to get in and out of hotel by car as well. Felt like a resort property in the middle of the city. Not a cookie cutter hotel by any means! Would absolutely come back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKleinGM, General Manager at The Saguaro, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear GinaZ41,

Thanks for sharing your great comments about our hotel and about your stay with from last Summer. It's time for you to come back! We hope you'll share with your friends family and come see us again soon.

Best,

Alan Klein
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellflower
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for a few days in the awful heat. My husband had to work and I lounged :) The pools were very nice - quiet during the week, but pleasant. The food at the restaurant was VERY good... had a delicious salad, chips and guacamole (on the house with our stay!) and breakfast one day. Reasonably priced and very good. Drinks were good - bar service, restaurant service, and pool service were all fine - timely and courteous. Rooms are fairly small as it's an older hotel that has been remodeled, but all amenities were present and everything was just so colorful! Fun :)) Walking distance to shops and restaurants!

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKleinGM, General Manager at The Saguaro, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Kendivallyn,

Thanks for sharing your review of our hotel after your recent visit. While I wish we could have "turned down the heat" a bit during your stay, I'm glad you were able to take advantage of our pools as well as the great food and beverages by Iron Chef Garces'. Next time join us in April for cooler temps and Culinary Fest - the Saguaro and Old Town Scottsdale are the place to be for this great festival.

Thanks again for sharing your thoughts.

Sincerely,
Alan Klein
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

I must say that I enjoy this hotel more each time. Most recently I had scheduled a manager's meeting over the course of three days. The breakfast was one worth remembering eggs, vegetables, bread, bacon done in a unique Southwestern style. The conference room was roomy and the climate control was optimal. Throughout the day, there was someone available to answer questions and address our specific needs.

The conference room had the right mix of ventilation and soft light. An ideal place for a dozen of us to meet.

The rooms are standard size with and LED TV, king size bed with comforter, alarm clock with MP3 connectivity and above average bathroom.

The staff is hospitable and friendly.

I highly recommend the Saguaro and be sure to check out the amazing cousine at the Distrito.

Room Tip: If you want quiet during the afternoon, avoid a poolside room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKleinGM, General Manager at The Saguaro, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Throtol,

How great it was to hear that you had a successful managers meeting with us recently. I agree, the cuisine of Iron Chef Garces puts a bit of spin on traditional foods with his Latin touch - so glad you were able to enjoy.

Thanks for taking the time to share your comments.

Come back soon!

Alan Klein
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marysville, Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

What a great hotel! The service was wonderful. The valets were exceptional. They were friendly, they greeted us with cold water, and took us to our room. Sitting at the pool, we were asked if we needed any ice, water, or a drink. I can't say enough about the service. The spa was an added pleasure. The hotel is steps from the Old Town Scottsdale and the Trolly that services Scottsdale. I look forward to going back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKleinGM, General Manager at The Saguaro, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Mouses-Shadow,

Thanks for the great comments about our hotel and especially the service you received. Our team works and trains diligently so that our guests have a warm and genuine experience each and every time. It's always a pleasure to pass on this feedback to the team, so thanks for taking the time to share your thoughts with us.

We look forward to your return.

Regards,
Alan Klein
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton Junction, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

I just loved this hotel! Completely out of the ordinary...lots of bright colors. The service was outstanding. Other hotels and airlines could learn a thing or two about the way this hotel is run. One block from Old town Scottsdale which is a treasure itself. Two pools, hot tub, loved the small spa. Message was the best. Free bikes and a short hop to the green belt where you can ride safely. I cannot wait to go back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKleinGM, General Manager at The Saguaro, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear 171Sue,

Sounds like the Saguaro was just the right place to stay on your last visit to Scottsdale. Having our cruiser bikes and our location to Old Town and the Indian Bend wash and greenbelt close by makes the Saguaro a perfect spot for those that want to explore. Thanks for the great comments - we will definitely pass your "Kudos" on to the team.

We can't wait to have you return!

Best,
Alan Klein
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park City, Utah
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for a National meeting and had a great experience. Service was fantastic, great amenities and terrific location. Bikes, great pools, all kinds of excellent recreational options. food at Distro is creative and fresh. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKleinGM, General Manager at The Saguaro, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Jjonesschenk,

Thanks for your feedback during your recent visit with us. As you mentioned, we do have great amenities such as our two sparkling pools and our complimentary Cruiser Bikes, and we were happy to hear that you were able to take advantage of those during your National meeting.

Thanks for sharing the positive comments. We look forward to having you visit us again soon.

Best,
Alan Klein
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Saguaro, a Joie de Vivre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Saguaro, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Address: 4000 N. Drinkwater Blvd, Scottsdale, AZ 85251
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 78 Hotels in Scottsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Saguaro, a Joie de Vivre Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scottsdale is the place to go for art, shopping and nightlife in the Valley of the Sun. Now there’s a hotel creating even more desire around the desert experience. The Saguaro has arrived, bringing with it a new look to where Old Town, the Arts district and Civic Center Mall meet. Bright, lush and vibrant, it’s a fresh face amid Scottsdale’s buzzing downtown scene.Guestrooms & Suites. The Saguaro experience begins, fittingly enough, outside amid the arid weather and brilliant sunlight of the Sonoran Desert. Each room exterior is accented by the color of a native desert flower, creating a visual spectrum throughout the resort grounds. Inside, your room’s primary color is joined by contemporary and natural furnishings in wood and leather, including hand-crafted pieces imported from Mexico. Services & Amenities: A stay here is about relaxation, nature and yes, our two famous pools. Both are easy walks from every room, heated and ringed by cabanas. The Saguaro Spa welcomes you to de-stress you even further. When it’s time to recharge, the comprehensive fitness center will get you looking your best for around the poolside bar. Guestroom Amenities• All rooms renovated October 2011• Flat screen, wall mounted 42" HDTVs• Authentic, traditional Mexican furniture • Views of Old Town and Civic Center park (select rooms)• Outdoor patios or step out balconies • Soaking tubs and separate shower (suites)• Work desks• Wireless Internet• Stereo with iPod docking station• On-demand movies and music. Meetings: It’s the weather. The golf courses. The deals closed over cocktails by the pool. Whatever the reason, Scottsdale is a top choice for corporate gatherings. The Saguaro provides over 10,000 square feet of flexible meeting and event space, indoors and out. We’re ready to make your event a strategic success. Scottsdale’s business climate is dynamic. Companies headquartered in Scottsdale include APL, Dial, Fender, Go Daddy, Kahala Corp, Kona Grill, Medicis, P.F. Chang’s, Rural Metro, iCrossing and Taser, to name a few. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Saguaro, a Joie de Vivre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Saguaro, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.